We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice choice for the opulent traveller”
Review of The St. Regis Rome

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The St. Regis Rome
Ranked #88 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2010

We arrived at this hotel coming from our first accommodation, Lord Byron. They were amply staffed to handle the check-in process efficiently, so that made for a quick and pleasant first impression of The St. Regis.

From the moment you step foot into this historic building, that feeling of elegance one would expect to find at a St. Regis establishment is immediately brought to attention. 18th and early 19th century Italian and French influences make for authentic, urbane surroundings, perfect for a romantic Roman getaway. We happened to be on our anniversary trip (December), so the lobby was beautifully embellished with an enormous Christmas tree and lavish decorations.

Our standard room was spacious (for european standards) and pristine. Hand painted murals adorned the walls, set off by dramatic floor to ceiling draperies and period style furnishings. The bathroom was well lit, with separate bathtub and shower. High quality robes and slippers available for use.

Le Grand Bar (down in the lobby) features a notably overpriced menu for the food quality and portion size you receive. We did not try the other two restaurants in the hotel.

Overall worthy of a 5 star rating for a large city european hotel, the St. Regis is a nice choice for the opulent traveler. Close proximity to the Roma Termini (train station), and subway access is a plus.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank heatheratkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,004)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,509 - 1,515 of 2,004 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2010

Last week, my wife and I had the pleasure of staying at the St. Regis Grand Hotel Rome.
I am the General Partner of a successful venture capital firm and know luxury.
The purpose of our stay was to attend a friend's 4 day wedding. There were events held at the St. Regis and I must say, the service was outstanding across all fronts.

In particular, Monica Zanghirato, Events Sales Coordinator was amazing! Her eye for detail was spectacular, and each guests desires were attended to.

When staying in Rome on business or pleasure, The St. Regis is THE ONLY place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lchaityn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2010

This was our second stop in Italy for our honeymoon. from the train station, it was a quick 10 minute ride, the hotel is known to some cabbies under a different name (but now I forgot what he said), he found it after calling it in but it was no problem, I loved taking the ride. We immediately were impressed with the grandeur of the hotel & the staff. We were upgraded to a suite and greeted with a bottle of champagne, a really nice touch. Upon venturing, we were a little lost, hotel is huge and there were is much space we felt like royalty in a castle. The gym is hard to get to but most of our stay no one realy went there so we had a lot of privacy. Sometime we had to call for water but they came pretty fast.

I did have one problem, on our first day, there was a bald headed young guy at the concierge desk who had an attitude and sent us the wrong way when we asked how to get to the coliseum. We actually walked around Rome for hours only to find the train station a block away and the colisuem about a 20 minute walk. When we walked by the fountain, you can see it from the hotel, yuo make a right and follow the path. We actually saw the movie premiere of "Made of Honor"...lots of stars and that was really cool. they even did a press conference in our hotel!

The next time we spoke with him he had the "same chip" on shoulder and my husband wanted to talk to someone but I passed. Why let him ruin our trip so we knew not to go to him again and asked the doormen questions, they were just as informed and willing to help. Just be ready to tip.

Rome is awesome, its beautiful and bustling, just as we expected. We toured on foot most days and just got lost in the atmosphere, the steps are somehitng not to miss and afterwards go window shopping, you cant miss this. We also stopped at a deli, got lunch and sat on the steps and ate. There are so many people, be prepared but it was fun.

Enjoy, I would go back in a heartbeat, bring money it is not CHEAP.

Next time though I think I woud try the Westin, it was a better location with a park across the street.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jasmina26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2010

Stayed here using Starwood points in Dec-09 and found everything about the hotel luxurious, warm, friendly and ridiculously priced (of course)...especially with the bad US/Euro exchange rate. We had a beautiful room and the hotel seemed nearly empty which probably helped the service. It is in a great location with an easy 5-10 minute walk to subway, restaurants, train station and local sights. I would stay here again in a second, as long as I wasn't paying for it. If you don't buy anything inside the hotel, it works out great.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kmanct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2010

The husband and I stayed here on Starwood points+cash on our Honeymoon last May. As the reviewer below notes, it's a total steal if you can stay here on cash + points. This is a beautiful hotel from which we had absolutely no problem walking to and from all of the touristy sites in Rome. If you're lazy or unable to walk due to injury, I don't think a cab from this hotel would be too pricey.

We knew the minute we walked into the lobby that we were totally out of our league. We were the only guests not in business attire but hey, it was our honeymoon so we weren't bothered. Despite the fact that we were totally underdressed and paying via cash/points, we were still treated just as well as any other guest, which is a standard for Starwood. Their service is unmatched, no doubt.

Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
2  Thank sassathon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2010

I wrote a review of this place that was critical on Aug 5, 2007. I sent my review to the General Manager of the St. Regis, who promptly replied (regrettably, this review should have been written sooner.) But the GM wrote me back and offered me a complimentary stay in the hopes that I would give them another chance. My point is not to highlight the free stay but rather to acknowledge his efforts to rectify a poor situation. He did. We received stellar service upon our return, and while I'm sure we were the couple who had "made the complaint," we were treated with kindness and fairness and enjoyed a pleasant stay over the holidays.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Throbbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2010

We got this hotel for our Rome visit last minute when the cash and points option opened up- it sure was a steal. I think it sucks when people say "not sure if i would have stayed here full price" for one of these starwood reviews.

The location is central enough unless you are a lazy, lazy slob. I guess the obese and elderly might have a tough time but it's equidistant between spanish steps, trevi fountain and the colsseum/palantine/forum area- wife and I walked everywhere.

Concierge hooked us up with a boss Ethiopian restaurant in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripsnjunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Campo Marzio
Hotel De Russie
Hotel De Russie
#49 of 1,271 in Rome
1,397 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Hassler
Hotel Hassler
#29 of 1,271 in Rome
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#4 of 1,271 in Rome
457 reviews
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Rome

Address: 3, Via Vittorio Emanuele Orlando, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rome
#13 Spa Hotel in Rome
#43 Family Hotel in Rome
#57 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#57 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $477 - $1,133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Rome 5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caesar Ritz proudly opened "The Grand" in 1894 as Rome's first luxury hotel and today it still maintains the prestigious status to be one of the world's finest hotels. Each guest room or suite features a unique identity and is exquisitely appointed in a combination of Empire, Regency and Louis XV styles. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access is available in the hotel lobby, at Le Grand Bar and at Vivendo Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St. Regis Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Rome Hotel Rome
St Regis Rome
Rome St Regis Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing