We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel ever!”
Review of The St. Regis Rome

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The St. Regis Rome
Ranked #96 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

We were only staying for two nights but yet it was amazing! From beginning to end we all felt like a VIP! The buffet breakfast had a vast selection of offerings which were cooked deliciously! The Staff were all so friendly and I am personally grateful to our personal butler! The beds were very comfy and service is fast. I really recommend the St. regis, Rome.... It is defiantly worth a visit :)

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Meg Fisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Dear Guests,
the title of your feedback says it all!
We are so proud to be at the top of your preferred hotels and we will keep working hard to surprise you even more on your next stay.
This city is so rich of unique treasures that deserves more than just one visit; so we all look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best regards,
The Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,036)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

891 - 897 of 2,036 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2014

The St. Regis Rome is a beautiful hotel, wonderfully staffed. The rooms are smaller than the rooms at the Westin Excelsior a few blocks away, but certainly much, much nicer, and with bigger bathrooms. It's also a smaller, more elegant hotel. Our room faced the courtyard, and we did not hear a thing, allowing us to sleep late in the extra comfortable beds. The decor of the hotel, including the rooms, is traditional and gracious. White glove all the way.

The only slight negative is its location near the Piazza Republica. On the one hand, the block is not touristy but that also means that on first observance, there isn't a lot there. However, what we did find just a few blocks away, thanks to a savvy concierge, were some wonderful restaurants that weren't touristy. Also close by is a shopping area down Via Nationale that leads to the center of Rome, the area that houses the Victor Emmanuel Monument and the ruins of Imperial Rome. A walk down the hill in another direction leaves you a few blocks from the Spanish Steps.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are quiet. Breakfast is pricey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank constablegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your precious and so punctual feedback about the St. Regis, Rome and its location. Celebrating 120 years in luxury hospitality this year, this extraordinary hotel has always been - and still is - synonymous of elegance, discretion and bespoke service.
We are proud to continue this tradition and to create unique experiences for our distinctive Guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back and to celebrate this milestone together,
Kind regards,
The Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Great to go back to my home away form home.
the service is slipping a little but I spoke up and had no problem.
Butlers a good.
Bar service is great. John Luca and Mauritizio are also great.
Vivendo restaurant was moved to the lobby for the holidays and it annoyed me.
the regular restaurant space is so beautiful I can not figure why management wanted us to eat the great food in the lobby area.
rooms are still nice but showing signs of age.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cchriscap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

As a frequent Guest, your comments and criticism are even more important.
We decided to exceptionally use the terrace area of the "grand" hall - created by the genius of Cesar Ritz - during the Christmas time so that everybody could enjoy the atmosphere of the huge Cristmas tree & decorations, the music and the sparkling lights, for a new, exclusive festive celebration.
We do appreciate your loyalty and we look forward to your next visit to Rome and to the St, Regis Hotel.
Sincerely yours,
The Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed here using my SPG points and were very pleased. Everyone was very gracious and helpful. Even when jet lag persisted the gym was kept open for us late to workout. The location was great for walking to several attractions, shopping and good restaurants.

Make sure to have a drink in the extensive lobby area. We stayed before Christmas and the tree and decorations were a nice touch.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank ROIofLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear Guest,
It is a pleasure learning that you appreciated the decorations and the initiatives we have prepared for the Guests who decided to spend the festivities at our iconic hotel. This is a special time of the year and we make every effort to create a warm and magic atmosphere in a unique environment. Taking the extra step and making dreams come true is our goal and we are so glad that you appreciated it and took the time share it with all the TripAdvisor community.
As a most valuable Starwood Preferred Guest member, we count on your continued support and loyalty.
Thank you and kind regards,
The Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Absolutely fantastic hotel. One of my favourite in Rome.
We stayed 3 nights in 2 Imperial Rooms next to each other. Hotel was kind enough to offer us a free upgrade to one of their suite but unfortunately my children wanted to have 2 separate rooms!
Regardless, rooms where spectacular, spotless clean with fresh fruits baskets. Room service- perfect. At the same time there was a Arab Prince staying on our floor, his personal security was always present outside his suite, but the hotel handled it perfectly so we actually felt better having them on the corridor than if they weren't there!

Breakfast fresh and full of choices.

I absolutely can't blame them at all, this is what I expect from 5 stars hotel - perfection.
Hope to visit again soon!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bellagio31061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear Guest,
"perfection" is what we aim to!
We are deligthed by your recognition of our efforts to create a safe and enjoyble experience for you and for your family.
Thank you for electing the St. Regis Hotel as your unique Address for any future visit to Rome. Indeed, it takes time to discover the Eternal city and breathe its true spirit.
Sincerely yours,
The Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We were here in December at the beginning of our 10 day stay in Italy. Spent 4 nights. It was perfect! The staff is amazing, so nice, so accommodating. Not a bad one in the bunch! The check in was an issue because I forgot our vouchers in the US. The staff was fine with the email and couldn't have been nicer about it! They put all my worries to ease! The concierge is so knowledgeable and helpful, great dinner recommendations! The bellman, maid staff, staff at breakfast, all perfect.

Each day they brought us a little gift as we were there at Christmas time. They made us feel at home. The breakfast was good and the food was delicious. We didn't eat any other meals at the hotel. The rooms were nice, we had 2 connecting rooms.

Overall I highly recommend! A very safe area, we got a lot of shopping done close by!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravellingFamily1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear Guest,
We cannot tell you how pleased we all are that we were able to make your visit to Rome a perfect experience.
Your recognition of the discrete and dedicated efficiency of our staff is very much appreciated. It is our hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon to the St. Regis Hotel for another moment of relax, good cuisine and shopping.
Best wishes for a wonderful 2014!
The Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

A beautiful hotel and beautiful historical room. Close by many places. Actually I loved the service in the hotel and the look of the room. i love the chocolates every day in the room a great way to put a smile on your face. The room service is good and very friendly service. The restaurant and bar in the main hall are very nice and the food of quality. I would go back. Few details to change the TV is in an old piece of furniture and sometimes not very convenient to watch. The choice of channels is very limited for a 5 stars hotel. For the Hotel not so many recommendations for the price you might check online on their web site. I booked my room more than two months in advance only to realize that they had better offer if I booked it a week before. So be aware. In any case a great place to relax or to conduct business. For once it is not a standard hotel it is unique. Also if you are looking for a coffee you have two cafe across the street to take the expresso like the Romans do

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pdnirc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Campo Marzio
Hotel Hassler
Hotel Hassler
#26 of 1,271 in Rome
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#4 of 1,271 in Rome
470 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel De Russie
Hotel De Russie
#54 of 1,271 in Rome
1,428 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Eden - Dorchester Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Rome

Address: 3, Via Vittorio Emanuele Orlando, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rome
#14 Spa Hotel in Rome
#35 Family Hotel in Rome
#57 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#62 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $630 - $1,547 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Rome 5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caesar Ritz proudly opened "The Grand" in 1894 as Rome's first luxury hotel and today it still maintains the prestigious status to be one of the world's finest hotels. Each guest room or suite features a unique identity and is exquisitely appointed in a combination of Empire, Regency and Louis XV styles. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access is available in the hotel lobby, at Le Grand Bar and at Vivendo Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The St. Regis Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Rome Hotel Rome
St Regis Rome
Rome St Regis Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing