We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice time again”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The St. Regis Rome

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The St. Regis Rome
Ranked #78 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
new jersey
Level Contributor
200 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Very nice time again”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Great to go back to my home away form home.
the service is slipping a little but I spoke up and had no problem.
Butlers a good.
Bar service is great. John Luca and Mauritizio are also great.
Vivendo restaurant was moved to the lobby for the holidays and it annoyed me.
the regular restaurant space is so beautiful I can not figure why management wanted us to eat the great food in the lobby area.
rooms are still nice but showing signs of age.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cchriscap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
As a frequent Guest, your comments and criticism are even more important.
We decided to exceptionally use the terrace area of the "grand" hall - created by the genius of Cesar Ritz - during the Christmas time so that everybody could enjoy the atmosphere of the huge Cristmas tree & decorations, the music and the sparkling lights, for a new, exclusive festive celebration.
We do appreciate your loyalty and we look forward to your next visit to Rome and to the St, Regis Hotel.
Sincerely yours,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,314
    361
    169
    61
    19
See reviews for
405
980
66
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barrington, Illinois
Level Contributor
102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here using my SPG points and were very pleased. Everyone was very gracious and helpful. Even when jet lag persisted the gym was kept open for us late to workout. The location was great for walking to several attractions, shopping and good restaurants.

Make sure to have a drink in the extensive lobby area. We stayed before Christmas and the tree and decorations were a nice touch.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ROIofLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Guest,
It is a pleasure learning that you appreciated the decorations and the initiatives we have prepared for the Guests who decided to spend the festivities at our iconic hotel. This is a special time of the year and we make every effort to create a warm and magic atmosphere in a unique environment. Taking the extra step and making dreams come true is our goal and we are so glad that you appreciated it and took the time share it with all the TripAdvisor community.
As a most valuable Starwood Preferred Guest member, we count on your continued support and loyalty.
Thank you and kind regards,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Absolutely fantastic hotel. One of my favourite in Rome.
We stayed 3 nights in 2 Imperial Rooms next to each other. Hotel was kind enough to offer us a free upgrade to one of their suite but unfortunately my children wanted to have 2 separate rooms!
Regardless, rooms where spectacular, spotless clean with fresh fruits baskets. Room service- perfect. At the same time there was a Arab Prince staying on our floor, his personal security was always present outside his suite, but the hotel handled it perfectly so we actually felt better having them on the corridor than if they weren't there!

Breakfast fresh and full of choices.

I absolutely can't blame them at all, this is what I expect from 5 stars hotel - perfection.
Hope to visit again soon!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bellagio31061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Guest,
"perfection" is what we aim to!
We are deligthed by your recognition of our efforts to create a safe and enjoyble experience for you and for your family.
Thank you for electing the St. Regis Hotel as your unique Address for any future visit to Rome. Indeed, it takes time to discover the Eternal city and breathe its true spirit.
Sincerely yours,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
115 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We were here in December at the beginning of our 10 day stay in Italy. Spent 4 nights. It was perfect! The staff is amazing, so nice, so accommodating. Not a bad one in the bunch! The check in was an issue because I forgot our vouchers in the US. The staff was fine with the email and couldn't have been nicer about it! They put all my worries to ease! The concierge is so knowledgeable and helpful, great dinner recommendations! The bellman, maid staff, staff at breakfast, all perfect.

Each day they brought us a little gift as we were there at Christmas time. They made us feel at home. The breakfast was good and the food was delicious. We didn't eat any other meals at the hotel. The rooms were nice, we had 2 connecting rooms.

Overall I highly recommend! A very safe area, we got a lot of shopping done close by!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingFamily1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Guest,
We cannot tell you how pleased we all are that we were able to make your visit to Rome a perfect experience.
Your recognition of the discrete and dedicated efficiency of our staff is very much appreciated. It is our hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon to the St. Regis Hotel for another moment of relax, good cuisine and shopping.
Best wishes for a wonderful 2014!
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
230 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

A beautiful hotel and beautiful historical room. Close by many places. Actually I loved the service in the hotel and the look of the room. i love the chocolates every day in the room a great way to put a smile on your face. The room service is good and very friendly service. The restaurant and bar in the main hall are very nice and the food of quality. I would go back. Few details to change the TV is in an old piece of furniture and sometimes not very convenient to watch. The choice of channels is very limited for a 5 stars hotel. For the Hotel not so many recommendations for the price you might check online on their web site. I booked my room more than two months in advance only to realize that they had better offer if I booked it a week before. So be aware. In any case a great place to relax or to conduct business. For once it is not a standard hotel it is unique. Also if you are looking for a coffee you have two cafe across the street to take the expresso like the Romans do

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pdnirc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Actually ended up there because our reservation at another hotel in Rome was cancelled, did not know what to expect, and we were most pleasantly surprised, Beautiful room with king size bed and wonderful butler service. Great cappuccino servied in minutes after a phone call to the butler.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pelly333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the St. Regis and appreciated the little, exclusive touches of our distinctive Butler service.
It is our hope to become your first choice when travelling to the Eternal City next time!
Best wishes for a Healthy and wonderful New Year,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

We started our Italy vacation with the first four nights in St Regis Rome and this hotel stay set a high bar of excellence for the next two parts of our trip.

From the minute we stepped foot into this historic hotel to the time we departed, we experienced fairly good service.

Check-in process & check-out:
- Smooth and efficient with early check-in.
- Although we arrived 3.5 hours before check in time, we were offered a complimentary upgrade to the next class room available with the option of free Internet access as SPG gold members. After such a long flight, I was quite relieved that we could check-in so early.

Room:
- During the booking, I had previously mentioned that we are celebrating our wedding anniversary and babymoon, so I had requested for a quiet room.
- We were pleased to step into a bright and spacious room with high ceilings, that faces the quiet courtyard. The first thing my husband noted that the room looked like the promo pics.
- Loved the king size comfortable soft bed, as well as the adequate closet to store both luggages.
- Appreciated the well-appointed bathroom which included separate shower stall, bath-tub and bidet. The stool at the vanity table was a nice touch.

Location:
- Near the Rome central terminal.
- Initially had some reservations as I read about the hotel's distance to key attraction sights.
- It was a mix of cab rides and slow strolls. Cab fare (average 6-11 Euros per trip) to key sights including Vatican City, Colosseum/Roman Column, Pantheon, Trevi fountain, Spanish steps etc.

Overall service in general:
More hits than misses.
- Appreciate the little things (complimentary champagne, sweets and fruits) to congratulate us on the wedding anniversary. Thoughtful gestures and when we told them that I can't drink in view of my pregnancy, a service staff came up immediately to check if we preferred other celebratory drinks or treats instead. We just politely thanked him, though we didn't need anything.
- Good intro tour of the hotel and the facilities at check-in, including the gorgeous bar/lounge area at check-in, with (Nicholas?) recommending their concierge services to book any tours or dining.
- Kudos to hospitable breakfast manger and service staff too.
- The misses (if one were to nitpick): not all concierges and doormen were as helpful or friendly. It really depends on who was on duty that day. There were certainly times where they seem more preoccupied chit-chatting amongst themselves than helping the guests.
- Dining recommendations are always personal. As food lovers, we appreciate the prompt assistance with the dining reservations and recommendations, but it was also the first time that we felt letdown by the food at the recommended establishments.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at this hotel and worth a revisit for future trips.





Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank adelme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for sharing your detailed feedback with all the Trip Advisor community.
Your recognition of our efforts to make our Guests feel welcome and special is very much appreciated. We are also grateful about your comment related to the concierge desk and we will concentrate our efforts so that it remains an isolated case and you may rely on the professionalism and experience of each team member on your next visit to Rome.
Next year will be super special for you, so please accept our warmest wishes for a wonderful 2014!
Sincerely yours,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#5 of 1,291 in Rome
383 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel De Russie
Hotel De Russie
#54 of 1,291 in Rome
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#105 of 1,291 in Rome
1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Rome

Property: The St. Regis Rome
Address: 3, Via Vittorio Emanuele Orlando, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rome
#10 Spa Hotel in Rome
#43 Family Hotel in Rome
#47 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#57 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Rome 5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caesar Ritz proudly opened "The Grand" in 1894 as Rome's first luxury hotel and today it still maintains the prestigious status to be one of the world's finest hotels. Each guest room or suite features a unique identity and is exquisitely appointed in a combination of Empire, Regency and Louis XV styles. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access is available in the hotel lobby, at Le Grand Bar and at Vivendo Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood EMEA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St. Regis Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Rome Hotel Rome
St Regis Rome
Rome St Regis Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing