We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel in perfect part of Rome”
Review of The St. Regis Rome

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The St. Regis Rome
Ranked #86 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel in perfect part of Rome”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on points and got upgraded with a suite night award (SPG platinum). Our suite spacious with high ceilings and a large bathroom. We even had a small little balcony/doorway that opened up to the square/fountain next to the hotel. The shower was very relaxing after a long day of travel. The bed was the most comfortable bed out of all the places we stayed in Italy and I slept wonderfully. The staff was very helpful and provided excellent service. The location was perfect for us to walk around and we found a delicious restaurant just a couple blocks away called Moma and had a great dinner. There's also an excellent pizzeria called Pinsere nearby.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel without hesitation, but I cannot speak to it's value compared to other luxury hotels in Rome since I haven't stayed other places and didn't pay to stay here.

Room Tip: Our suite in the corner of the second floor was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are so pleased that we could recognize your loyalty to Starwood and to its over 1000 hotels & resorts in the world, by extending an exclusive suite upgrade, contributing to a memorable stay. Rome has so much to offer in every season and we trust we will have soon the opportunity to extend you another exceptional experience.
Kind regards,
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,320
    363
    170
    62
    19
See reviews for
409
984
66
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
146 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This hotel really is like staying in a museum. It is beautiful in an old world sort of way, very elegant. Beds are comfy, nice bathrooms. Breakfast in the lobby was delicious...especially the hot chocolate. We had guided tours, so can't speak to the closeness to the attractions. Had a massage in the spa, it was very nice also...I would highly recommend. The concierge was helpful, although I didn't think his restaurant choices were all that great.

My travel agent insisted that we stay here.....I didn't look at any other choices. It was very expensive, but my TA insisted it was the very best place to stay in Rome.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3tonkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you not only for recognizing the unique heritage of this historical hotel, created by the genius of Cesar Ritz, but also for highlighting our commitment to service excellence. We have taken good note of your comment about the restaurant suggestions; this is not an easy task as it involves personal tastes and expectations. For this reason, our list of formal and casual restaurants is constantly updated based on our guests’ feedback and on frequent “mystery shopping”.
Once again, thank you and we hope that you will consider the St. Regis as your personal address on your future visits to Rome.
Sincerely yours,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I stayed here on the 4th floor in a very large suite. The hotel staff was extremely helpful and were able to help us with all are requests from transfers to purchases. The hotel is located on a very large piazza that is in the center of the city. The gym is located on the 5th floor and is very large. It offers all the services of a great gym and has very advanced machinery. Additionally, the breakfast is one of the best I have ever had. It has a very large international variety and has great service. The dinner at the hotel is also very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sev8196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Grazie from all the St. Regis team for your recognition of our commitment to bespoke service. We are so pleased that you could start a new day in the Eternal city, by experiencing the wide choice of the buffet breakfast, rich of local and international specialties to please the palate of our distinguished Guests in a unique and relaxing environment.
Looking forward to your next visit,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed for one night in August. Check in process was efficient and polite. Walked to our room by the same staff member and bags arrived shortly later. Room was VERY small, though bathroom was nice size and well-appointed. Room cleanliness was fine. Room has a very Italian feel to it with art and decoration. TV is decent sized and had plenty of channels. ESPN didn't work, but that's been my experience for the last 2+ years for all Starwood hotels in Europe and Asia. No idea why they still list it as an option.

Downhill from there by luxury hotel standards.

We were not welcomed back either of the 2 times we came back by the members of staff (who were huddled around the bell desk chatting instead of opening the door). Is this the end of the world? No... obviously not; we're able bodied young adults. But it is service you expect at a St. Regis when the other half dozen or so I've stayed at have always not only opened doors, but welcomed me back by name.

Afternoon tea was not complimentary as it is at every other St. Regis I've ever been to.

No upgrade was offered as SPG elite even though it was clearly available on the website and we were only staying for 1 night.

The gym was closed and no alternative option was offered.

Basically... all the little touches that make a St. Regis stay special (and why you pay for the St. Regis instead of the Sheraton) were not present at this property.

Room Tip: Try hard for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SoundGuyDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are grateful for your feedback and we certainly agree that small gesture and attention to details can create a memorable experience. We are sorry if we missed this important goal in occasion of your visit. The welcoming standard at the entrance should be maintained at all times and we apologize if you have not received the communication distributed in all rooms offering the opportunity to utilize the fitness and pool facilities at the Westin Excelsior, our sister hotel, located five minutes from us.
Thank you for also mentioning ESPN channel, so that we can inform you that, starting from August 1st, it does not broadcast in Europe anymore and our channel list is currently under re-printing.
Please be assured that we will concentrate our attention on the areas you have outlined and we would be honored to improve your impression of us on your next visit to Rome.
Sincerely yours,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Beautiful hotel with an old Rome feel but all of the modern amenities. Incredible service from the entire staff. We also stayed at the Waldorf Astoria but preferred the St. Regis. Its proximity to Ancient Rome was perfect! The food at the restaurant was overpriced and not the greatest but there are tons of wonderful restaurants in Rome, so thats not a big deal for us (we only ate there because a thunderstorm popped up just as we were leaving for lunch)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ninaesp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guests,
we are truly pleased by your recognition of our daily efforts to provide our Guests with bespoke service in a unique and relaxing environment and we look forward to your return visit. Our F&B team will make sure to improve your impression about le Grand bar lunch and snack proposals!
Best regards and Arrivederci,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed at the St Regis in Rome for four nights. The butler service in our suite was fantastic, with complimentary afternoon tea every day. The room for the children was upgraded for free so that it could be next door which was terrific. The hotel is perfectly located in the Piazza della Republica, just walking distance from the Trevi Fountain and Spanish Steps. The dinner was lovely but over-priced so we decided to go out most nights. The doorman, Stefano, and the concierge were fantastic in recommending restaurants and with taxis. The only downside was the cost of parking- 60 euros per night. However, we had the most amazing time at the St Regis Rome and can't thank the staff enough!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank SMSarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
We cannot tell you how pleased we are that we were able to make your visit to Rome with your family a memorable experience and that you enjoyed the discreet touch of our signature butler service.
Thank you for your comment about the garage facilities, as it gives us the opportunity to inform you that the rate depends on the dimensions of the vehicle. Like many capitals in the world, the cost of parking is due the very limited space.
We all look forward to welcoming you back!
Kind regards,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed for 10 days at the end of May 2013 and I waited this long to write the review. Every other review I read was glowing and I thought perhaps I was just in a bad mood. But time has gone by and I look at the Starwoods experience with less aggravation. Booking was one hassle. At the end of May beginning of June you straddle the high season so there were 2 different prices so two different confirmation numbers, then I also used points for 2 nights so there was a third confirmation number. I tried to get them to put it all into one number but it didn't seem possible so I kept getting multiple email before we left, all asking the same thing.

The Hotel is lovely but a regular room is very small. I know regular rooms in Europe are small but at these prices I expected better. You could get a suite at another hotel and be just as well situated for the same price.

The food at the Hotel was only OK, again for the price it wasn't worth it. To be honest I was surprised that the food in Rome wasn't better, really get recommendations from friends on where to eat or you could find yourself spending a lot of money for very ordinary fare. The garden at Hotel de Russie was recommended to us by a friend and it was great.

The staff was very polite and helpful when asked but nothing special again. For instance, the WIFI, which is supposed to be free in the lobby, didn't work. When I asked for help I was given a code and told that normally there was a cost associated but that they would put a note on my file not to charge me. When it came time to leave I saw there were multiple charges for WIFI services on the bill. I told my story to the agent, different person obviously, he hesitate a little, said there was no note in the file then agreed to remove the charges. Didn't make me feel like a Starwoods preferred member.

I'm sorry to say I would not recommend the St-Regis Rome.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripljak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
We appreciate your honest feedback and we are truly sorry that nobody sensed your feelings during your long stay.
It is our aim to create memorable experiences for our Guests and it is clear that we have not succeed in occasion of your visit. Thank you for taking the time to bring your discomfort to our attention; your comments will not go unheard and we hope that you may reconsider your decision and allow us another opportunity to show the best of the St. Regis values of hospitality on your next visit to the Eternal City.
Sincerely yours,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#4 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel De Russie
Hotel De Russie
#52 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#107 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Rome

Property: The St. Regis Rome
Address: 3, Via Vittorio Emanuele Orlando, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rome
#11 Spa Hotel in Rome
#43 Family Hotel in Rome
#55 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#57 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Rome 5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caesar Ritz proudly opened "The Grand" in 1894 as Rome's first luxury hotel and today it still maintains the prestigious status to be one of the world's finest hotels. Each guest room or suite features a unique identity and is exquisitely appointed in a combination of Empire, Regency and Louis XV styles. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access is available in the hotel lobby, at Le Grand Bar and at Vivendo Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St. Regis Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Rome Hotel Rome
St Regis Rome
Rome St Regis Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing