We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glorious”
Review of The St. Regis Rome

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The St. Regis Rome
Ranked #83 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Glorious”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the St Regis for 4 nights. We only wish it could be longer because everything was exceptional from check in to departure. Beautiful food and wonderful cocktails not to mention the impeccably handsome waiters who were always attentive. The twin room we had was a little smaller than we expected but nonetheless luxuriously furnished and the most comfortable beds ever. An amazing rain shower glass enclosure with the option of normal shower head. Bathrobes and slippers just completed the comfort.
Getting around Rome was incredibly easy, taking a slow walk visiting several street cafes in glorious sunshine en route to Vatican city.
A word of warning to people visiting the Vatican - do not be taken in by the multitude of ticket touts promising quick entry for a mere 25 euros, The security line pass fairly quickly and entry to the Vatican is completely free. The Sistine Chapel / Vatican museum do charge 16 euros but that includes both and you don't have to have a guided tour. We were overwhelmed by the beautiful tapestries and multitudes of statues on display. You could easily spend a whole day there and still not see a fraction of the art and treasures - some dating back thousands of years so 16 euros is reasonably good value and no need to worry about food as there are restaurants and snack bars throughout the new Atrium addition. Rome can be very expensive as it was for us but that was because we wanted to push the boat out and have luxury all around so bearing in mind that this was our first 5* hotel in Rome, I can't praise it highly enough - you won't go wrong with the St Regis.

Room Tip: Our room seemed to be on the inside facing the inner quadrangle. It was on the second floor and was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying at the St. Regis; we are delighted to hear that you found rest and relaxation in our iconic landmark. We are also grateful that you highlighted the bathroom and separate rainfall shower, which we provide in all accommodations as a standard of true luxury. Your first-hand, precious advices about the Vatican Museums will surely help other guests.
We hope your future travel plans to the Eternal City will include a second stay at St. Regis Hotel. As you so rightly pointed out, this glorious city has so many souls that one visit is not enough!
Kind Regards,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,344
    365
    171
    65
    19
See reviews for
415
1,002
66
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We booked the break on the back of the fabulous reviews on trip advisor and we weren't disappointed! The hotel is typically italian in design and the rooms comfortable but it is the staff who truly set the hotel apart. We were made to feel incredibly welcome by everyone we encountered at every point. The service provided by the lobby manager Monika was superb. She voluntarily arranged complementary drinks whist our room was prepared on srrival and was incredibly informative about local attractions and the best way to get round the city. The service in the bar and restaurant was second to none and the breakfasts were to die for!!! The hotel is situated within a 5 min walk from the main train termini so a great location for those flying into Fiumicino airport (Leonardo express takes 30 mins and €14 each way). Vatican was the furthest attraction but only 10-15 mins in a taxi and €10 max. The hotel also organised a birthday cake and drinks in our room as I was celebrating a very special birthday and it just topped a perfect weekend off. In summary fabulous personal service from a global brand.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the square on the side of the hotel. Our room was so quiet even though it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahJL73187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are very pleased that Monica, together with her colleagues was able to create some happy memories for you to treasure. Thank you for also mentioning the quality of our bar and restaurant. We will share your rewarding comments with our Executive Chef, who surely will appreciate your compliments for the accurate selection and preparation of our breakfast Buffet. We look forward to your return visit and it will be our privilege to create another memorable experience, exclusively for you.
Sincerely yours,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

stayed over Easter holiday, 28-March to 1st April.
very central location. near Piazza de la Republica
easy to walk out and about and you SHOULD walk in Rome as it is the best way to explore the eternal city!
Staff=BRILLIANT, very engaging, smiley, always making eye contact and try to chat.
Buttler Service= waking up with a coffe, a juice and petit fours, for free!!! OH i wish i had this every day!!
gym is small but clean and has basic equipment.
the hotel has amazing decor and a very glamorous feeling, perfect for an Easter break!
amazing bed, one of the best ever.
standard remedie bathroom amenities but the staff did go the extra mile and brought me some Aqua Di Parma ones, when i asked and THANK YOU lovely lady for that!!

thank you all, and i cannot wait to come back

Room Tip: the hotel is on the old Grand Hotel building and has 4 floors. It is overlooking the fountain with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAZAROS_DD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bonneville, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This hotel was beautiful inside with a lot of character and added to my vacation experience. Extremely helpful staff- example- I needed the business center to print off my Vatican reservation. The person at the front desk didnt point me to the business center, he escorted me and explained my need to the staff in the center. Little gifts were nice- plate of fruit the night I checked in, bottle of wine one night, and the parting gift. Very convenient location. Very close to Termini but also almost everything is in walking distance. I stayed 12 days and they gave me a room facing the courtyard so very quiet.

Room Tip: Expedia was $2,000 cheaper than any of the other sites or even from the hotel directly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King of Prussia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We chose to end our Italy trip with two nights here at the St. Regis and I was very happy I made that choice.

After a quick cab ride from Tiburtina we pulled up to the St. Regis. Our bags were quickly taken and tagged to be ready to go up to our room. There was no wait at check in and thankfully it was just a couple minutes before we were inside our room.

I had booked us an Imperial Room and that's what we ended up in. The room was well furnished, had plenty of room and was very quiet throughout the whole day. I was a big fan of the sitting area with the great painting and lights. The bed was comfortable and again was beautifully decorated. One small thing I appreciated was easy to reach outlets on both sides of the bed. It's always amazing how many hotels don't make it easy to charge your phones at night bedside.

The bathroom was a bit small, but did have everything we wanted. Thankfully there was a separate shower and bath and two sinks. The towels, bedding and robes were all super comfortable and of course clean.

I think a few people have mentioned the rooms are a bit older and here and there I might agree. But considering how old some things seemed, everything was in great condition and all the important items were new and worked well.

All our interactions with staff were great here as well. The front desk was happy and eager to answer any of our questions. When we went to the gym the attendant was quick to sign us in and show us around the facilities. At breakfast all the staff were very attentive and made sure we had everything we needed.

To end our trip we had a quiet night and just got some room service. Everything came exactly how we ordered and the two servers that came up with our food were great. While they set up they were friendly and chatted about our stay. This was easily some of the best room service I can remember in the last few years and the price seemed totally reasonable, especially considering how much food we got and the great service.

If I were to come back to Rome in the near future, the St Regis would be an easy first choice. Overall the hotel was comfortable, clean and the service we received was great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is a grand but sterile hotel. The bedroom was OK, bed extremely comfortable, no extras like shower cap, body cream. Breakfast fantastic. Atmosphere poor poor poor. Piano and violinist playing 'lift' music - nothing remotely Italian. Concierges arrogant - only recommend their pricy 'corporate' restaurants - for which they get a 'fee' by the way - nothing off the beaten track which is really authentic and good value or family run. Shame, because with a bit of genuine passion and interest they could really rejuvenate the place and regain the panache which it once must have had.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are sorry that you experienced some inconsistency in attending your room; the missing bath amenities show a lack of attention and of supervision that it is certainly not representative of our usual standards and that has been addressed to the Director of Housekeeping for immediate follow up. We are also concerned by your disappointment with the Concierge restaurant suggestions. This is not an easy task as it involves personal tastes and expectations. For this reason, we have a list of formal and casual restaurants that is constantly updated based on our customers’ feedback and on our mystery shopping, to assist our guests to the best of our abilities. Of course we encourage our Guests to also experience our fine dining restaurant, Vivendo, to be seduced by the finest ingredients of the Italian cuisine in a contemporary and discreet atmosphere.
Once again, thank you for your constructive criticism, we hope we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back to show you the results of our improvements.
Best regards,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Exactly what you'd expect for a St Regis hotel - great service and comfort. Rooms are a good size and beds are so comfortable you almost hate to get up in the morning. The hotel is convenient to the train station which makes it easy to get to/from the airport. The walk is a bit longer to key attractions and most restaurants, but still in manageable distance.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DrewAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
On behalf of the entire team at The St. Regis Rome, we thank you for your gratifying comments; we are so pleased that we were able to meet your expectations and extend the bespoke and attentive service upon which we pride ourselves.
A very comfortable bed, attentively prepared by our experienced housekeeping team, is already waiting for your return visit to the Eternal City,
Arrivederci!
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel De Russie
Hotel De Russie
#52 of 1,257 in Rome
1,335 reviews
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#3 of 1,257 in Rome
407 reviews
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#116 of 1,257 in Rome
850 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#110 of 1,257 in Rome
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Rome

Property: The St. Regis Rome
Address: 3, Via Vittorio Emanuele Orlando, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rome
#10 Spa Hotel in Rome
#43 Family Hotel in Rome
#54 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#57 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Rome 5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caesar Ritz proudly opened "The Grand" in 1894 as Rome's first luxury hotel and today it still maintains the prestigious status to be one of the world's finest hotels. Each guest room or suite features a unique identity and is exquisitely appointed in a combination of Empire, Regency and Louis XV styles. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access is available in the hotel lobby, at Le Grand Bar and at Vivendo Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St. Regis Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Rome Hotel Rome
St Regis Rome
Rome St Regis Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing