We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late 19th Century Luxury Mostly for American Tourists” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis Rome

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The St. Regis Rome
Ranked #64 of 1,284 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Late 19th Century Luxury Mostly for American Tourists”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Three days here for Christmas 2012 using cash and points, as a starwood platinum member with my brother.

They put us in a small designer room on the second floor. It was tastefully decorated and felt enormous. Modern, elegant, roomy, high ceilings, two oil paintings.

The concierge was excellent and incredibly helpful. The included breakfast buffet was enormous, and ensured that we didn't eat much for lunch.

My brother liked the workout room a lot, and I used the business center. The wifi was generally strong.

The hotel is a block from the metro, which makes life easy. It is also quite close to the train station. We ending up walking down into the centro historico a few times. The location isn't bad, but it's not amazing.

The hotel was full of American tourists, although I did notice Italians in the restaurant.

The cash and points deal felt worth it based on the room quality, service, breakfast, and location.

Room Tip: Try for a suite, of course. The small designer room is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Captain_Starwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,209
    337
    141
    54
    18
See reviews for
364
887
62
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was our second visit at the St. Regis in Rome, and if repeatability represents quality, this hotel sets the bar quite high. The St. Regis is located on Piazza della Republica, which by itself is an experience in Rome, representing a prime location packed with history and value. While some hotels use their location as an excuse to cut back (think the NY Hilton near Times Square), the St. Regis heads in the opposite direction. The staff is exceptional, from entry, to concierge, to restaurants, to butler service. The butler service is a fantastic experience that can tempt any soul to extend a stay. The lobby is everything the hotel advertises, rich in décor and Italian historical style. As a traditional European hotel, breakfast is included, and breakfast at the St. Regis is a treasured event. The buffet, while not overly large, features a wonderful selection of delights—cheeses, breads,. etc. We ordered room service, and received it timely, at the right temperature, and with above average presentation.
For a European facility, the fitness center is well equipped. It could be improved, but of course, that is an American thing. Other countries simply do not emphasize the fitness center that way we do. But there are enough machines with video to allow for a good cardio workout.
The beds are comfortable, with luxurious European linens and pillows. An especially welcome touch is the small sofa at the foot of the bed for watching tv or just relaxing. As an older property, the rooms are unique in various ways (we had two this time, and 4 last time). It’s a fun thing just to see the differences. At the back of the hotel there is a redone “old-fashioned” elevator that works. It has the iron door on the outside and the two wooden (which appear to be original) doors as well. It runs to all floors and the spa/fitness,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank warmweatherlovers4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Just returned from a Spring break vacation. Our is a family of 4, with two children, 10 and 12.

We reserved on the phone. Isabella was very helpful and accomodating. We were upgraded to a Junior suite, connected to a double bed room.

From the moment of our arrival, the personnel was outstanding.
Check in was flawless. Our luggage was delivered within minutes.
The rooms were adequate for our needs. Nice bathrooms, amenities, welcome fruit plate, candy, water, etc. The Junior suite had a Olaf TV and I still do not understand how it works.
The hotel is sparkling clean.
Has a Spa and Fitness Ctr.
The restaurant serves excellent food. Buffet or a la carte breakfast. The buffet is plentiful.
Lunch and dinner menus will satisfy any taste. VERY pricey. 24hs room service.
The concierge personnel are most helpful. Housekeeping comes early and the rooms are cleaned to perfection.
We took taxis to many locations (+- Euros 10.00) Also, the subway has a station a block away. It will deliver you to all the attractions(Euros 06.00 for a day pass).
Overall, a great stay. Best asset is the personnel who go out of their way to please.

Room Tip: Busy street. Choose inside rooms. Standard rooms are OK for a 6-7 day stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MOKHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashiya, Japan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at the St. Regis Rome for 7 nights using Starwood Points. Our room was old but extremely clean and comfortable. Separate shower and bathtub with a nice sitting room and a separate bedroom. Bang and Olufsen television ( that I could not figure out how to use). The room faced an inner courtyard that was also the roof of the lobby. Absolutely no road noise. At night , if we opened the windows, we could hear music drifting up from the piano downstairs. It was nice.
The breakfast buffet was splendid, we became fast friends with the guy who makes the omelettes. Turns out he was the most kind and approachable of any of the people we interacted with at the hotel by leaps and bounds. The hotel could do with a bit of more friendly staff, but I guess thats kind of normal for a big city at a hotel like this. What are you going to do? Stay here if you are looking for a great location that allows you to walk around the city, stop by the hotel for a change of clothes or to re-charge your cameras batteries before going back out on the town. I would stay here again. Don't forget to check out the still functioning old elevator at the end of the hall. Just like something out of a movie from 1894. Worth the walk.....

Room Tip: I have only been here once but based on the traffic outside the hotel I would probably ask for an &q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ashiyadudeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and for your valuable feedback. We especially appreciate that you have noticed the original 1894 lift, which was designed and built by Cesar Ritz and registered as the 13th modern elevator of the era in Rome. This unique heritage piece was motioned initially by a hydraulic pump system utilizing water of the adjacent 16th century Moses Fountain. Today the same shell - or “rising room” as the elevator was named at the time - equipped with the latest technology is still fully operating and we are glad that you mention it!
Thank you as well for highlighting the quality of our buffet breakfast and the Chef Cristiano expertise and friendliness. It is a great honor that you would stay at the St. Regis again in the future.
Best regards,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The hotel is very grand, the room was a nice size (especially for central Rome) and it was very nicely appointed (not sure of the thread count of those sheets but it was high). The service was also consistently responsive. However, if I had it to do over I just wouldn't stay there again.

This is obviously a high-end hotel, which is what one expects when booking at the St. Regis, but instead of feeling nice it felt overwrought. Instead of gracious, it seemed cold. The hotel was fairly large so the front desk was usually busy. This meant waiting around for a few minutes whenever you needed to interact with the front desk and that added to the impersonal feel. One last item to consider, the location. A few reviews have mentioned this and it is certainly manageable (any visit to Rome is going to include a lot of walking), but there are other hotels, just as nice or nicer that are more centrally located.

It is a very nice hotel and if you prefer the feel of an older hotel with an opulent aesthetic, its a good choice. If not, I'd consider one of Rome's other high-end hotels.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ItsaWideWideWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
We appreciate your honest feedback and we are very sorry for not having been able to transmit the true atmosphere of the St. Regis and for not perceiving your feelings about it. So we would be honored to welcome you back and share our pride for working in a truly legendary hotel, featuring many treasures, one of which is the hotel Di Vino cellar, located on the lower lobby level where a fragment of an original wall of the Tiepidarium from the ancient remains of the Diocletian Roman Thermal Baths can be admired, sipping a glass of good italian wine.
Best regards,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Greenwich, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The St. Regis in Rome was perfect for our needs. We were on a short anniversary trip in Rome and we didn't want to drive much or have any little annoyances impede our visit. That's exactly what we got. The staff were all very friendly and service-oriented. The lobby and lounge area near reception were perfectly decorated for a touch of elegance without too much pretension. Our room was spacious (for Europe), the bed comfortable and the bathroom very nice. The hotel was clean and obviously well managed. I can't disagree with some of the comments about it being older or in need of some updating, I suppose that's true but you're in Rome, not Las Vegas. I don't mind an antique feel in Europe, especially Rome (but I'd sleep in the Colosseum if I could!). The location is perfect. A short stroll to the Trevi Fountain (.7 miles), about the same to the Piazza di Spagna and a mile and a half to the Colosseum. Plus close to the bus station for easy airport access. Overall a very enjoyable stay and would return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jed F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed here for four days in February and was totally amazed by the hotel. Everything from the welcoming to the decoration was fabulous. We stayed in a deluxe room which was nicely decorated in "Roman style" and kept spotless throughout the stay.

The breakfast was plentiful and we especially liked that big parts of it was suited for vegetarians. Another nice thing is the spa on the fifth floor and we made use of the sauna several times during our stay.

The hotel is located in the business center of Rome so it is a brisk 20 minutes walk to get to the historic center. However, there is a metro stop just outside and the hop-on hop-off touristic buses also stops close-by.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Logge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
It is a true delight learning that you fully enjoyed your stay. A breakfast at the St. Regis with a wide selection of premium Italian and international products, a dedicated chef, cooking the best eggs in town, seating in a palatial ambience is a worthy experience and we are so pleased that you mentioned it. The same for Kami SPA, a moment of relax after a tiring day exploring the city.
We hope to have soon the pleasure of welcoming you back.
Kind regards,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Campo Marzio
Hotel Hassler
Hotel Hassler
#40 of 1,284 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 854 reviews
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#4 of 1,284 in Rome
5.0 of 5 stars 268 reviews
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Rome

Property: The St. Regis Rome
Address: 3, Via Vittorio Emanuele Orlando, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rome
#7 Spa Hotel in Rome
#35 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#43 Family Hotel in Rome
#57 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Rome 5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caesar Ritz proudly opened "The Grand" in 1894 as Rome's first luxury hotel and today it still maintains the prestigious status to be one of the world's finest hotels. Each guest room or suite features a unique identity and is exquisitely appointed in a combination of Empire, Regency and Louis XV styles. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access is available in the hotel lobby, at Le Grand Bar and at Vivendo Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The St. Regis Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Rome Hotel Rome
St Regis Rome
Rome St Regis Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing