We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience in Rome!!!”
Review of The St. Regis Rome

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The St. Regis Rome
Ranked #87 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This hotel is like stepping back in time! The amazing chandelier hanging in the foyer the decor and furniture! We had a The Imperial Room with our personal butler experience! We arrive in the afternoon and have our butler escort us tonour room and complimentary pastries and afternoon tea was delivered ! Our choice of pillows and also Friazzante Water delivered at our request ! The room was very spacious and overlooked a courtyard so it was very quiet and peaceful!

Room Tip: Imperial Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julietse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your appreciation not only of the unique heritage of the St. Regis hotel, but for the true concern for customer service. We are especially pleased that you enjoyed the attention to details of our Butler team. Their discreet presence, their little, but meaningful touches aim to create memorable experiences.
We hope to have soon the pleasure of welcoming you back for new precious moments of delight and, once again, thank you for your warm support.
Kind regards,
The Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,002)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,139 - 1,145 of 2,002 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2012

Husband and I stayed 3 nights. Location looked a bit far on map from city center, but it was a very easy walk around town to all attractions, or could take the metro to the outer reaching ones. Metro station was only a few steps from property. We are mid 40's and had no problem walking to all sites. We arrived very early and staff made us feel comfortable while waiting for our room. However, overall, staff did not seem to go out of their way to assist or make us feel welcome; not rude, just indifferent. Our room was lovely, small, but decorated warmly, exactly the decor I was wanting for our trip to Italy. Furniture was a bit older. Bathroom was small, but nicely updated. Our room had a view of the inner small courtyard which was green and peacefull. We did not have the breakfast included plan, so breakfast at the hotel was a bit pricey for the fare offered, recommend bypassing and having the traditional croissant and espresso standing at a local "bar". We had hoped to take in the champagne social and on site restaruant however time always slipped away. Unfortunately, our time at this lovely hotel was spent sleeping. We would recommend this hotel for couples, singles, but not families with small children.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ymr4sum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you for your valuable and detailed feedback about your experience at the St. Regis Hotel last May. We are delighted that you overall enjoyed a peaceful stay in your inner view room and we are sorry that you could not take the time to participate to our signature champagne evening ritual. We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back and remain,
Truly yours,
The Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Recent travels to Italy included 4 nights at the St. Regis Rome. I have stayed a numerous St. Regis properties in the past. The hotel is very nice, typical St. Regis opulence, with a feel of old Rome. We were upgraded from the Imperial Room to a Junior suite, as a result of my SPG Gold status, and the Vacation Planner I had used.
The room was a corner with large living room, bedroom and large bathroom. At check-in I was told it was a renovated room, indeed it was...a minimum 5 to 7 years ago. Things did not work, the shade on the large windows operated via a wall switch, except it was not working. The lovely dark wood floors were scratched terribly and the marble tile in the bathroom was chipped in many places, and stained as well. The shower door did not close due to a needed door adjustment, leaking water on the floor. The air conditioner was great EXCEPT when it was on it literally rattled the wall where the unit must be housed. I have NEVER stayed in a noisier room EVER, not in NYC or even next to a highway. The room was from all appearances beautiful, but once we were there overnight, the sadness that we paid so much money to stay at St. Regis Rome set-in. Literally in excess of $900 US dollars per night and there were so many things that did not function, hard to believe. On day one the bell staff was so eager to assist...AFTER my wife and I had already lugged everything through the front doors. Then the bellman followed me around waiting for a tip, this was not what I expected from the St. Regis. The rate included the breakfast in the morning, we went to the lobby and with the addition of lovely smoked fish and cheeses, it was otherwise a Hampton Inn or Embassy Suites breakfast. On the final night my wife and I had a drink at the bar in the lobby before heading out to dinner. One drink each, a scotch and a vodka martini, bill total was 45 euro, approx. $59 USD. Ouch.
Loved Rome, spent some of the time looking for options for our next visit...it is not about the money it is about the experience and this was the worst part of the Rome visit. Sad.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ken A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear Guest,
Firstly we would like to thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor. We share your disappointment for the inadequate maintenance status of your suite; it is clear that there has been a lack of attention and supervision which is certainly not representative of our usual level of hospitality. Moreover, it is a pity that we did not sense your discomfort and that you did not express your concern, so that we could intervene and correct the situation right away.
We have now individuated your suite and an immediate follow up at an operational level has been arranged. Once again, thank you for your constructive criticism; in spite of this experience, we all hope that, as a loyal St. Regis Guest, you will allow us another opportunity in the future to display the type of hospitality you expect and deserve.
We kindly invite you to contact the Executive Office of the St. Regis Hotel, Rome if we can further assist you in any way.
Sincerely,
The Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We are Starwood prefered guests which means that we general frequent Starwood hotels, but have never stayed at a St. Regis property. We were blown away! We had told our booking agent that we were on our honeymoon, and the St. Regis took that very seriously! Within 5 minutes of getting up to our room, there was a knock on the door, and champagne was whisked in! They left us a beautiful note with warm wishes and an incredible bowl of fruit. The room was AMAZING, clean and just spectaular. We loved it, and will try to stay at as many St. Regis properties as we can in future travels.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ashleylevittovadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This an expensive hotel, but their excellent service made it more than worthwhile. I was upgraded to a very spacious suite without asking (living room, king bedroom, walk in closet, and huge bathroom). The room rate included a 50 Euro daily hotel credit. This allowed me to enjoy room service breakfast and drinks at the bar. The bar is a strong point for the hotel. I stopped by for a quick cocktail on my first night and was provided complimentary hot and cold snacks without asking (olives, nuts, crisps, spring rolls, and croquets were delivered to the table attractively plated.) The bartender was very knowledgeable and allowed to me to taste several local liqueurs that I was not familiar with. My only complaint would be that my scrambled eggs at breakfast one morning were delivered without salt and pepper shakers. The hotel is one metro stop away from Termini Station and a 10 to 15 walk to Trevi Fountain, The Parthenon or The Spanish Steps. When in Rome again I will stay here.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank FW_Traveler81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Our room had 2 balconies facing the fountain square and great turn down service. It was beautiful and service was great! The bathroom was out of a movie, awesome with only one drawback, the pebbles from the shower light would slip out. No big deal. This was my first time at a 5 star hotel and now I see why you would spend the money! Also ordered room service and were treated very nicely. My daughter and I loved it.

Room Tip: Balconies facing fountain square bright and cheery!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donnaleah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

My wife and were delighted by our stay at this grand hotel. Our experience was outstanding from our friendly, quick and accommodating checkin with Daniel at the front reception, through to the very capable assistance of Pasquale at the Concierge desk, the courteous and efficient housekeeping and room service staff - everyone and everything at this hotel works to make the stay comfortable and unencumbered. We have to make special mention, once again, regarding the front desk reception representative, Daniel. When we had arrived (early), our room wasn't yet ready, so Daniel offered to call us on our cell phone as soon as it was. We opted to wait in the fabulous lobby restaurant/lounge and after approximately 15 minutes, Daniel checked on us, offered us complimentary refreshments, then returned a short time later when a room became available. He checked us in, then escorted us to our room, ensured that our bags were delivered and took us through the features. It was a complete surprise to us to learn that not only had Daniel expedited our checkin, but he'd also provided us with an upgraded room. The accommodations were exquisite. The room was decorated with paintings, marble fixtures, ornate crown moldings and all of the charm you'd expect from a century old hotel with old world craftsmanship. In addition, the Starwood Heavenly Bed was just that...it was the perfect sleeper for world weary travelers and provided us with many excellent nights' sleep. The hotel is centrally located and within fairly easy walking distance to all of Rome's sites, of which there are so many. The room service was fantastic. the food was delicious and delivered still piping hot and in ample servings. To say that we highly recommend this hotel, would be an understatement. Not only does the St. Regis have a sterling reputation and location, but its also staffed by a team that exudes genuine warmth and sincerity and made our stay one that will rank at the top of our list. Awesome!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Dirk D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for recognizing our mission to provide the best service and personalized experience to our Guests. We are delighted that you took the time to detail your check-in process with Daniele, highlighting his professionalism and attention to details. We are also honored that you recommend our hotel to all the Tripadvisor community and that you will consider the St. Regis as “your address” for your future visits to the Eternal City. Please do not hesitate to contact the Executive office for any special requirements and it will be our pleasure to assist you in the best possible way.
Once again, thank you,
The Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Campo Marzio
Hotel Hassler
Hotel Hassler
#30 of 1,271 in Rome
1,094 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel De Russie
Hotel De Russie
#50 of 1,271 in Rome
1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#4 of 1,271 in Rome
452 reviews
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Rome

Address: 3, Via Vittorio Emanuele Orlando, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rome
#13 Spa Hotel in Rome
#43 Family Hotel in Rome
#57 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#57 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $474 - $1,158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Rome 5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caesar Ritz proudly opened "The Grand" in 1894 as Rome's first luxury hotel and today it still maintains the prestigious status to be one of the world's finest hotels. Each guest room or suite features a unique identity and is exquisitely appointed in a combination of Empire, Regency and Louis XV styles. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access is available in the hotel lobby, at Le Grand Bar and at Vivendo Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St. Regis Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Rome Hotel Rome
St Regis Rome
Rome St Regis Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing