We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels in the world”
Review of The St. Regis Rome

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The St. Regis Rome
Ranked #83 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels in the world”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This was my third time to stay at the St. Regis Rome. Its a throw back to when staying at a hotel was a cool event. This place is a trip from the time you enter the lobby to check in to your room you will be feeling like you just entered a trip within a trip. As you can see by the reviews the place is beautiful and opulant. I was fortunate enough to get upgrade to one of the remodeled suites and I must admit while their was probably some royalty staying there (as is common) I felt like a king. They have a small but very nice spa and work out facility with all new equipment.
But the real treat is in the level of service from all the staff. Whatever you need they will try to do it for you. The people at the front desk were great to me and I appreciate them very much. The concierge even got me a ticket for the next day to the Borghese gallery which in August is a three day waiting period at least. When you call room service they are quick to respond and I suggest getting a cheese plate and buying a bottle of wine and enjoying what might be one of the best rooms you will ever stay in. I did!
The hotel is near the train station and within walking distance or short cab ride to all of the sights of Rome. As one of the other reviewers wrote I am sorry that I did not write down the names of some of the people there as they were worth mentioning. Now how many hotels have you stayed at that you can say that about! I have stayed at the Westin Excelsior as well a few times, but given the opportunity I will return to the St. Regis.

Room Tip: Be starwood Platinum or Gold. Ask be nice and beg if you have to for one of the new suites. The othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank platinum4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you! There is nothing more motivating than your eloquent recognition. It is a great pleasure learning that you could enjoyed a most comfortable and relaxing stay in our iconic landmark for the third time, making the St. Regis your favorite hotel in Rome. All the team is at your disposal for another outstanding experience of first class service!
A presto,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,344
    365
    171
    65
    19
See reviews for
415
1,002
66
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel is beautiful and extremely elegant. Our room was a good sized and the bed was probably the most comfortable bed we stayed in during our trip to Italy. I would have liked the bathroom to have been a bit bigger (at least more counter space). The staff was good, but not nearly as warm and welcoming as the staff at the other hotels we stayed at in Italy. The people at the concierge desk were a little on the cold side. However, the people at the front desk were very helpful. The hotel itself is in a good location, easy walk to Spanish Steps, and the Trevi fountain. We did take a cab from the hotel to the Vatican and the Colosseum. However, I do agree with another reviewer who said there is not much to do around the hotel at night. We ate dinner once at the hotel, I wasn't impressed, but my husband seemed to enjoy his meal. The breakfast buffet was very large and they had a good variety.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Guest,
We welcome and truly appreciate your comments about your recent stay at the St. Regis Hotel with your husband and we are pleased that you overall enjoyed a comfortable experience. Please know that we take our Guests’ feedbacks very seriously and we will certainly work on the areas where you have noticed room for improvement, so that we may show you the result of our continuous efforts on your next visit to the Eternal City.
Sincerely yours,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Not only is the St. Regis well located, but it retains the elegance and opulence of when it was known as The Grand, but with all the modern amenities, and the MOST comfortable beds ever! In addition to this, instead of snooty and stuffy the entire staff was very warm and welcoming. They really do know the meaning of the word "hospitality" and go out of their way to provide you with whatever you want/need.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelyngal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Guest,
Grazie, Grazie, Grazie... for highlighting the uniqueness of this centenary institution, a roman palace, equipped with all the most modern technologies and personalized amenities... for mentioning its location, that is equidistant to the most important sites...for recognizing the daily efforts of the entire staff to extend a bespoke and discreet service to all our Guests, making them feel special and welcomed.
It will be our privilege to welcome you back on your next visit to Rome and to spoil you some more.
Truly yours,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We recently spent 3 nights at the St Regis Rome. Our room was absolutely wonderful, king size bed overlooking the center court (very quiet) with all the amenities and luxury you come to expect from this class hotel.
Service throughout the hotel was absolutely wonderful and I am sorry I didn't write a few names down because they deserve to be recognized but I also have to agree with one of the reviewer who said the concierge desk was not the friendliest.
The hotel is walking distance to everywhere in Rome (provided you enjoy walking), spanish steps, Trevi fountain, Colosseum...but would probably need a cab to the vatican.

Cons: Not much to do near the hotel in the evening. Need to walk at least 10 mn. Last year, we stayed at the Westin Excelsior (their sister property).
Rooms are nicer at the St Regis and service is better at the St Regis,
but location goes to the Westin

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the center court for a quiet sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Expat-in-Schweiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Guest,
On behalf of all the St. Regis team, we would like to thank you for your meaningful recognition. Although you do not recall the names, we are extremely grateful for your comments. We hope to have soon the pleasure of welcoming you back, so that we may have an opportunity to direct you to the hidden treasures that you may visit just stepping out of the hotel and to the wide choice of restaurants that are located in the area.
A nice, comfortable bed in the quietest section of the hotel, prepared in every detail by our floor attendants is already waiting for your return stay!.
Kindest regards,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

The St.Regis is an old hotel, where the word "old" deserves respect and admiration.

The staff suffers very little turnover, and this makes a good part of the difference: they care about their clients and it shows.

The location is confortable for tourism and business, public transport ok and taxis easily available.

Rooms are most in Imperial style; not my preferred but ok; rooms dimension good, bathrooms very nice (but I would like to speak to the architect who decided to put the TV into a piece of furniture which does not allow a full view from the bed, and even the bed-lamps are odd)

Food very good, buffet breakfast amazing.

A must in Rome, in my opinion.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ItalianDistinguished
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Guest,
We are truly honored by your comments.
The St. Regis Hotel, born by the genius of Cesar Ritz in 1894, today - as in the past - represents the most prestigious address in Rome, where distinguished Guests enjoy the luxury and style of a true roman palace and the discreet service of a dedicated and professional team of people, well aware of the privilege of working in such a unique environment.
We are most grateful for your recognition and we look forward to your return visit.
Very sincerely yours,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We recently spent three nights at the St Regis hotel in Rome. It was very nice, room was clean, service was good. They do have a good breakfast buffet which was included in the price of our room. The internet is not included and considering the prices of the room that seemed ridiculous. The location is an easy walk to the Spanish steps and a short cab ride to other sites you may want to see. The air conditioning works well which was important considering how hot it was in Rome. I really can't say it was an overwhelming experience but nice enough.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SalBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your impressions with the TripAdvisor community. Your comments about internet are also appreciated as they give us an opportunity to mention that free of charge WIFI connection is available in all the public areas and our Guests and Visitors may enjoy it at all times. We hope to have soon the pleasure of welcoming you back so that we may show you the result of our continuous efforts to improve and evolve our service and product.
Sincerely yours,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

The St. Regis is a very nice hotel with first class amenities, extremely comfortable rooms and a wonderful refuge from busy Rome. The rooms are well appointed and the marble bathrooms are spacious. Breakfast is a heart stopping 30+ Euros! Go down the street and save a lot. Definitely a stay again!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Drocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Guest,
We are so pleased that you voiced your impressions about your stay at the St. Regis, Rome; it is a true delight learning that you enjoyed your accommodation and the discreet and relaxing atmosphere of the common areas, away from the city crowd. Allow us to mention that many of our rate plans include the breakfast cost and we would suggest you to check on our website availability of the best promotions whenever you plan your next visit. A breakfast at the St. Regis, with a wide selection of premium Italian and International products, a dedicated chef cooking the best eggs in town, seating in a palatial ambience is an experience of true pleasure that you should not miss!
Kindest regards,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel De Russie
Hotel De Russie
#52 of 1,257 in Rome
1,335 reviews
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#3 of 1,257 in Rome
408 reviews
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#116 of 1,257 in Rome
850 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#110 of 1,257 in Rome
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Rome

Property: The St. Regis Rome
Address: 3, Via Vittorio Emanuele Orlando, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rome
#10 Spa Hotel in Rome
#43 Family Hotel in Rome
#54 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#57 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Rome 5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caesar Ritz proudly opened "The Grand" in 1894 as Rome's first luxury hotel and today it still maintains the prestigious status to be one of the world's finest hotels. Each guest room or suite features a unique identity and is exquisitely appointed in a combination of Empire, Regency and Louis XV styles. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access is available in the hotel lobby, at Le Grand Bar and at Vivendo Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood EMEA, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St. Regis Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Rome Hotel Rome
St Regis Rome
Rome St Regis Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing