We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel & Incredible Staff”
Review of Hotel Napoleon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Napoleon
Ranked #74 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Glen Allen, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel & Incredible Staff”
Reviewed June 27, 2010

My wife and I recently (June 2010) traveled to Europe, and this was our first time in Paris & Rome.

We flew from Paris to Rome last Tuesday morning (June 22, 2010) and arrived at the Napoleon Hotel around 10am. The cab ride cost about 45 euro's, plus tip. My wife and I both noticed the graffiti on the buildings as we began to enter Rome. It seemed very rough and run down, and was this way for most of the ride to the Napoleon after we entered Rome (about 10 minutes). Both my wife and I were concerned that we were in a bad part of town, but felt better once we entered the Napoleon.

We were greeted by Franco (Concierge), and he helped us check in. We asked if we could check in early, and he had us in our room in 10 minutes. We noticed that the hotel is old, but what isn't in Rome?! The room was about the same size as our room at the Hilton in Paris. The Napoleon has more of a Bed & Breakfast feel than a chain hotel. There was a TV, but there was only a few English Channels just like Paris. That wasn't that important to us since we didn't plan to spend a lot of time in our room. The bed was comfortable, but the pillows were just ok. In fact, I bought a new pillow from the furniture store down the street for 15 euros. However, after opening it, it was about the same as the ones at the hotel. I guess they just have thinner pillows than we do in the States.

I opened our window to see our view and found it wasn't great, as it was a view of the back of an apartment building about 20 ft away. I went down to the front desk and asked if we could get a room with a better view and was told that all of the rooms had the same view, and that none of the rooms overlooked the square in the front of the building. Franco also added that this helps keep each room very quiet and we would sleep better. It really wasn't that big of a deal since we really weren't going to be there much, and he was right, it was always very quiet.

The room was very clean and had a remote controlled air conditioning that worked great. The hotel offered free wireless internet, and even had computers available at no charge in the reception area. The Napoleon also offered complimentary breakfast every day, which included eggs, toast, assorted pastries and more. It was better than the breakfast at the Hilton, and was free. The Hilton in Paris charged us 22 euros per day for internet access, and 25 euros per day / per person for a lesser continental breakfast.

We asked Franco if he could recommend some tours for us while in Rome. He not only helped us, but booked them for us with the Tour company via telephone while we waited. He was extremely helpful and professional, and even gave us a recommendation for dinner that evening that was just a couple blocks away. We decided to walk around the area near the Hotel that evening, and found tons of locals (men, women, children, old & young) walking around too. We never felt uneasy or threatened as this area appears to be mostly inhabited by locals who live and work there. We found the area to be very pleasant, and noticed an outside Theater playing a movie in the park across the street from the Hotel.

We took a cab into "City Center" each day, and it cost us around 8 - 10 euro per trip. The restaurants were all really good around the hotel, and were actually better than some we ate at that were in City Center. There is a great restaurant just a couple blocks from the hotel, and was next door to a fresh pastry shop. Again, we noticed mostly locals that were patronizing these places. The prices were better than in City Center, and the food and service was better.

We were invited to attend a complimentary wine and cheese tasting at the Hotel, which happened to be our last evening there. We attended this and met other guests from all over the world. Everyone seemed very satisfied with their stay, and were enjoying themselves. My wife and I were both raised near Napa, CA. I would say that we are a wine snobs, and the wine that the hotel was serving was excellent. The cheese and appetizers were also very good. We met the Owner (Roberto), and he made a real effort to greet each one of the guests and shared the history of the wine and cheese that he was serving (He was actually behind the bar serving). We visited with many hotel staff members that evening, and we found them to be very conscientious and proud of their hotel. They were all focused on how they can improve each guests stay. Again, it felt very "Family Owned & Operated" because it is. I was surprised to find out that Franco was not part of the family that owned the hotel because he really acts like it is his own, and will got to great lengths to ensure your comfort and happiness.

In closing, we saw a ton of hotels closer to "City Center", and had the option to move closer to downtown Rome. We had the opportunity to inquire about other hotels from other travelers who attending the same tours as us. All of them said that their hotels seemed dated, and most didn't feel their hotel was very clean or safe. Others said that they found it hard to sleep as their hotel had thin walls and was noisy. The Napoleon is extremely clean, and well kept, and the staff will do everything possible to make your stay enjoyable.

One last thing that we found to be very important. It appeared that each hotel has their own set of Tour Companies that they recommend. We ended up doing two tours (Coliseum / Ruins & Vatican City), and we definitely had the best tour guides (both local Roman female guides). You will notice the other guides while you are on your tours, and you can't help but watch & listen and the quality isn't even close.

I believe and trust in the Napoleon enough that I recommended their hotel to my parents, who will now be staying there later this year.

Thanks again to the Ownership and Staff for a great stay!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,448
    866
    192
    43
    22
See reviews for
675
1,138
168
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2010

i would agree with most reviews here that recommend Hotel Napoleon as a reasonable choice in Rome, where hotel costs are astronomical. If you are prepared for a little walking, Hotel Napoleon is well-located for visiting a lot of the sites -- the little park on the way to the Colosseum is lovely. I didn't ever get very comfortable here, though. Some of the furniture is a little shabby (antique doesn't have to mean dilapidated) and a lot of the walls had marks on them from suitcases/furniture. And I know Rome is an old city with old plumbing, but it was impossible to take a shower without getting alternately scalded or frozen. Nothing major, but these things do draw your attention away fromt he positives. Breakfast and service were good.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daniellescm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2010

Free fast wireless internet and the staff are the best in the world. They will do ANYTHING to help you during your stay and are very kind and interested in you. The bar food is fantastic. Wine great. Bed very comfortable and bathroom high standard and well appointed. Very clean. Even the maids are extremely helpful and kind. Big advantage are the many lounge areas with comfy couches and armchairs where guests sit and chat. The decor may be a little "used" but its better than a 5 star Sheraton or Sofitel because the staff really care. The concierge is better than any hotel I have ever stayed in anywhere in the world and I have stayed in lots. One night I arrived back at midnight and had had no dinner and the barman made me a delicious toasted ham and cheese sandwich. You cannot go wrong. I had a big problem with a flight cancellation and the concierge went out of his way to help me until it was fully handled!!! They will also arrange a nice car to pick you up or take you to the airport.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Discerningtravel09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2010

The Napoleon is a great hotel. We stayed there for 4 nights in June and would happily stay at this hotel again. The location is good - 15 minute walk to the train termini and 10 minute walk to the Colloseum but still in a quiet area. The hotel restaurant is good and the breakfast outstanding. The staff are all very professional and very helpful. The hotel provides all of the services you would expect and all the facilities are excellent.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jparker65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Napoleon for 4 nights from 25 April 2010. From the moment the driver -arranged by the hotel - picked us up at the airport everything was great. Arriving at the hotel at 7.00 am we were told our room "would be ready in a few minutes so please have some breakfast and it will be ready "- normal check in time was still 7 hours away!
The staff at reception, the restaurant, the breakfast room and especially at the concierge desk went above the call to help us at anytime with any thing we wanted to know. Concierge Roberto even booked our Vatican tickets on his computer to save us time and money. The desk also had the Metro tickets (which can also be used on the buses)ready for guests.
The breakfast is included and is tasty and plentiful although unchanging. The rooms are large by European standards and the bathrooms also sizable. The location gives easy access to the Metro, the Termini for all the buses and trains is only a pleasant 5-8 minute walk . Plenty of nice restaurants and a few little bars in which to watch the people go by. Only 15 minutes walk to the Colosseum and Palantine Hill. Highly recommended

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Downunderone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrionWashington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2010

This is one of the best. Spacious room, lovely and large sitting area outside bar and restaurant, Friday night wine tastings with great food all at no cost, and the hotel is in a good location with easy metro access, just steps from the front door. A family owned establishment that really cares about serving customers.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OrionWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2010

The rooms were old and so its furniture. Maybe that was part of the theme(?), but I didn't expect it given the fours stars. The room itself (classic double) is really big, like a suit. The breakfast (which was included on the price) was not good at all, learning that the second day, I stick to jam and butter only.
We also got free dinner for two, which was a great treat, the food was great, specially the spaghetti with meat sauce. Yum!

The service was excellent. People were always smiling everywhere and very attentive and welcoming.

BTW, the metro system in Rome are virtually useless, don't count much on the metro in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinohe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#78 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,410 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#22 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,040 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#44 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,273 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#47 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#97 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Napoleon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Napoleon

Property: Hotel Napoleon
Address: Piazza Vittorio Emanuele II 105, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Family Hotel in Rome
#46 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#81 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#140 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Napoleon 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, close to the Colosseum, Metro stop outside the hotel, direct connection with the Vatican. Family run, free high speed WI-FI throughout the hotel, 2 internet access, Concierge and Porterage 24H, Restaurant / Bar Bistro / Breakfast buffet, Gym. Very quiet rooms, all overlooking courtyards large and sunny, away from the noise of the city. Individual air-conditioned. Superior service, with professional and qualified staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Fastbooking, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Napoleon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napoleon Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing