We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel, ideal location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Napoleon

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Napoleon
Ranked #71 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, ideal location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

This hotel is ideal for walking to most of the sights and about 20mins from the Colosseum. The Metro entrance is directly outside, allowing very easy travel to the Vatican etc. The Hotel is a nice family run hotel with fresh decor inside. The staff were especially helpful, making our stay more enjoyable. breakfast was fab and if you have the opportunity the wine tasting evening is recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GerryBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,425
    850
    188
    42
    22
See reviews for
662
1,125
160
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
103 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Have stayed at Napoleon once a year over the last 6-7- years - we really enjoy it. The staff at the reception is SO helpfull. recommend, make reservations showing places on map etc. Also the breakfast is really great. Lot of bread, scrambled eggs and bacon and the best cold cuts we have ever had in Italy AND on top of that a nice glass of FRESH orange juice. If you stay on a Friday night do not miss the winetasting. Here you will meet other guests, the manager and other members of the staff and share a glass or more of wine and a snack. The location 20 meters to the entrance to the Metro is also very convienient. No, it is not in the middle of "old Rome" but the price allows you to take a taxi (appr. 10 - 12 EUR) to go home from Pantheon etc.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Well, you might not stay here if you were expecting a swank 5-star experience. There are other hotels that do that. But the Napoleon Hotel is an EXCELLENT choice if you are wanting to stay in a clean room, in a safe, busy area that allows for easy access to most of the city. My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights in May, and we were initially concerned about the reviews which mentioned "bad neighborhood". After getting there, I kept wondering what the heck those people were talking about. This hotel is located on a square near Termini, nestled in among restaurants and storefronts. The interior of the hotel is spacious, with a very nice common area on the second floor and the guest rooms above it. The room we stayed in was probably the largest of all our hotel rooms in Italy, and easily the most modern. We really weren't there to spend time in the room, but it absolutely served its purpose.

Breakfast every morning was satisfying, and the wait staff was friendly and functional. We never ate at the hotel restaurant but we did buy quite a bit of wine there, and the prices were reasonable. The hotel (and room) was always acceptably clean.

You are literally steps away from accessing the metro, which can take you pretty much anywhere in the city. You're also only about a 15 minute walk from the Colosseum. There are a lot of enjoyable restaurants within close walking distance of the hotel --- we ate at a different one every night and only had one experience less than what I would rate "very good". If you're not sure of where to eat, just ask the concierge - we got a couple of excellent recommendations during our time there.

Overall this is a solid 4/5 rating, and we will absolutely consider staying here again when we return to Rome.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thermocaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Don't get fooled by the front door, great hotel, gracious and attentive personnel, spacious and quiet rooms, good location, all things considered a little gem.

P.s. I had left my wallet in the room safe which was returned to Roberto (a great concierge) and kept in a safe place until it was returned...wow!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stayed two nights at this hotel in connection with a business trip. I selected the hotel to a very high degree based on the very good reviews on Tripadvisor. I have used reviews for many hotels around the world, but I must admit, that this is probably the first time that I have disagreed with the majority of the reviews. This is an average hotel, relatively small rooms, probably the smallest shower room that I have ever seen, relatively hard beds, an air-condition that did not work well and was noisy, and a neighborhood that is not very nice. One good thing to say about the hotel is the friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Writers_dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto C, Owner at Hotel Napoleon, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Writers_dk,
I am sorry that you did not enjoyed your stay at the hotel Napoleon.
Regarding the size of the room, for what I can understand you booked a single room, and even if I agree that they could be a little small, they are in the average of the other hotels in Rome. I would however underline that the hotel Napoleon offers the advantage of very comfortable and quiet lounges, also equipped with WI-FI, where our Guests can comfortably spend their time, work with their pc, or simply relax. And this is a feature not common in other hotels. Regarding the size of the shower, some of them are also small, but if you asked our staff we could offer you a room with a shower a little bit wider. The same for what concerns the bed. Our rooms are equipped with beds that usually are appreciated by our Guests, but, in case you would prefer a softer mattress, we could easily modify or change in a very short time, and we inform about this option also with a written message on the arrival. Recently we did not had encountered any problem with the air-conditioning, but, also in this case , if you asked our staff, we could probably fix the inconvenience in a short time, or at least change the room. We check the air-conditioning systems every day, and if we find something not well functioning or noisy, we fix it or substitute it immediately. Now we are going to check very carefully, particularly the single rooms, and we will immediately solve the inconvenience, if our maintenance had not done it already. We do our best efforts to make the stay of our Guests the most comfortable and we ask them to help us to reach our goal, asking for every requirement or preference or informing us of any inconvenience. I would be very pleased to have another chance of welcoming you at the hotel Napoleon, and I am confident you could fully enjoy your stay as the largest majority of our Guests. Thank you however for your review and remarks, we will increase our attention and efforts to do better in the future. Kind regards, Roberto Cioce, hotelier.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Well, I have just returned from a week in Rome, staying at the Napoleon Hotel, and what can I say but what an absolute delight. I booked mainly because of TripAdvisor Ratings - but also for some key features such as less crowded neighbourhood, proximity to the Metro, and free Wifi! I was not disappointed in any way! The most delightful aspect of the Hotel (and there are many) is the group of staff. From Franco and his team at the Concierge desk who are incredibly helpful, knowledgable, and speak fantastic English - right through to the breakfast staff, the housekeeping staff, and Roberto the Owner/Manager, everyone in the hotel was an absolute delight to meet and interact with. I thought the location was fantastic, about a 15 minute walk to the Colosseum, and just mere 15 paces to the Metro! Rome is an easily walkable city and this hotel was perfectly placed for making it the epicentre of several walkabouts! As with most European boutique hotels, the room was small (the shower even smaller) BUT was perfect for me as a solo traveller. The bed was ridiculously comfortable!! The service, food, and decor were all great, and I felt incredibly comfortable using the hotel as my home base for the week. Though I had one minor incident involving some banging in the room next door (on the one morning of the trip I decided to sleep in - there were some emergency repairs required in the washroom of the room next door) it was rectified immediately and the staff were incredibly apologetic! They stopped working immediately and waited until I was awake again to re-start. The cocktail hour was a surprise and great chance to meet Roberto, and although I was invited to the wine tasting on Friday (I could not attend due to a previous engagement) I was pleased with the invitation nonetheless. If you are used to travelling in Europe - this hotel will be a an absolute delight. If you are used to North American chain hotels, you need to adjust your expectations prior to going to Europe!! This hotel was an incredible value for Europe and provided me with everything I needed for a week in Rome - a clean room, comfortable bed, TV with CNN, free WiFi, close to the metro, quick and efficient service, VERY helpful staff, and above all a welcoming environment where everyone remembered my name!!! Franco (Concierge) even helped me out when I was lost in an area I did not know and managed to send me a taxi after calling him in the wee hours of the morning!!!! I cannot say enough about how great the Napoleon was, and I will absolutely stay there again and recommend it to others!!!

Room Tip: The back side of the hotel where there are rooms with patios, does face a courtyard and apartments...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Booked sight unseen from Australia. No unpleasant surprises. Friendly staff. Central to Rome's attractions and metro a stones throw fron central station interchange. Staff arranged some tour options at short notice with no problems.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mortsubites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#78 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,364 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,932 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#48 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,169 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#52 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,216 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#27 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Napoleon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Napoleon

Property: Hotel Napoleon
Address: Piazza Vittorio Emanuele II 105, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#45 Family Hotel in Rome
#81 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#140 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Napoleon 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, close to the Colosseum, Metro stop outside the hotel, direct connection with the Vatican. Family run, free high speed WI-FI throughout the hotel, 2 internet access, Concierge and Porterage 24H, Restaurant / Bar Bistro / Breakfast buffet, Gym. Very quiet rooms, all overlooking courtyards large and sunny, away from the noise of the city. Individual air-conditioned. Superior service, with professional and qualified staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Fastbooking so you can book your Hotel Napoleon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napoleon Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing