We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable, friendly, and convenient hotel.”
Review of Hotel Napoleon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Napoleon
Ranked #79 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We had our doubts about the Napolean Hotel because it appeared that the location was 'out-of-the-way' - a trade-off with the lower price. However, the metro was at the front door, and the central terminal, key attractions, and several interesting local restaurants were about a 15 minute walk from the hotel. Our room was clean and comfortable, and the staff friendly and welcoming - notably, the staff went out of their way to make us feel at home.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FLD95120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,700)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,009 - 1,015 of 2,700 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2013

This hotel was an awesome blessing! Short walk to Termini train station, but was right on the Vittorio Emanuel stop on the A line. Perfect breakfast with cooked eggs, sausage, bacon, pastries, fruits, cereals, toast, yogurts, boiled eggs and fresh orange juice and hot croissants upon request. The service was spectacular and the rooms clean. The hotel had a Roman historical charm, and the restaurant had the best plated dinner for the cost and quantity - the Carnes Plate. The value was the best in the city (and we went to many other restaurants). The Roscioli bakery around the corner had the most wonderful fresh made breads. Local grocery store around the corner on Carlo Alberto provided bottled water and fresh fruit for our stay. There were also tons of affordable shopping and clothing close by in case you forget anything. Other notes around the city: Airport Teravision Shuttle Bus took us from FCO to Termini for 5 euros with a great ride. Our Discover credit cards did not work and the regional ATAC train machines only take cash and don't accept transactions where the change is more than 6 euros. Also be sure to carry euro coins to use the restrooms in the train stations, but the toilets at the "Bars" are free.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank honeymooners34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Must say I was very skeptical about this place when I first booked it. But turned out to be a very good choice. Colosseum within 15 mins (walking distance). Metro a feet away (though never ventured into one other than the main station - Roma Termini)

Rooms are pretty well kept. Small but neat. Area surrounding the hotel is a little off.

Very nice and helpful staff. Extended a very helping hand in every way. First impressions count, so booked another night on my way back.

A must mention are for the concierge - Franco, Roberto and Fabio, for making my stay in Rome pleasant.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LotusTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I would like to say a big thank you to the staff at this hotel. They made our stay so comfortable from the minute we arrived. The highlights were the wine tasting on the night of arrival, the fantastic advice from the concierge, complimentary breakfast and the champagne gifted on my birthday. Thank you all from Maurice and Laura and greetings from Ireland.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mauriceshanahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Hotel Napoleon is in a great location as it is near both a Metro station and the Roma Termini train station. The staff there are professional and very helpful. We were provided a taxi to the airport at 4:00 am. our last day in Rome (at no charge due to our lengthy stay there). We were also given two breakfast bags to take along with us to the airport. Good value and worth a return visit!

Room Tip: Rooms are the lower levels are better as you can avoid taking two separate elevators up to your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheWorldisMine59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

My partner and I have stayed at this hotel many times because we like the location, the well maintained rooms, the helpful and friendly staff which seems to be permanent as it is always the same group, and, above all, the breakfasts. The abundant breakfast is in a large, lovely room and consists of a large selection of juices, sliced meats, cereal, eggs, bacon, sausage, Italian baked goods like cakes and cornetti and crostata, and many other good things. The room is well staffed with friendly people who will often offer extras like hand squeezed orange juice, cappuccino. The common areas of the hotel are large and inviting with newspapers every day. There is a small bar and an intimate restaurant with a good menu for those who do not like to go out at night.

Room Tip: this year we took an upgrade for ourselves and choose a deluxe bedroom. It was worth it as it actua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sepaharos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

The Hotel is built in a 19th century palace and is like a tardis when you enter its small entrance and get past reception.

Throughout our stay the staff was friendly and helpful and we liked the added touch of the complimentary wine tasting on our first night.

Communal areas in the hotel are large, clean and spacious and the décor is in keeping with the building. These areas have comfortable sofas for guests to relax on after a long day of sightseeing.

The hotel is in a good location with a metro station virtually right outside and the Colosseum a short walk away.

It doesn’t seem too touristy around the hotel which may be a good thing for some travellers.
The breakfast room was a nice size and there was a nice selection from the buffet which must have met everyone’s tastes. Breakfast was included in the price.

We ate in the hotel every night of our stay and found the menu to be varied. The evening meals were delicious and very reasonably priced.

The bar area was relaxing and had a very nice atmosphere; again, prices were very reasonable. It was nice sitting there drinking a glass of wine after a long day of walking around Rome.

Our room was the only part of the stay that put a dampener on things. It was very small, made smaller by too much furniture and we could hear everything going on in the adjacent room.

Would stay here again? Probably not, we would rather try a new experience.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pecanpie2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#85 of 1,271 in Rome
2,529 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#36 of 1,271 in Rome
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#45 of 1,271 in Rome
2,288 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#110 of 1,271 in Rome
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Napoleon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Napoleon

Address: Piazza Vittorio Emanuele II 105, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Family Hotel in Rome
#51 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#81 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#140 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $101 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Napoleon 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Family run Hotel, equipped with most modern technologies. The staff are like a part of the family, always pleased to do their best for the Guests. Centrally located, close to the Colosseum, all the major attractions at an easy walkable distance. Metro stop outside the hotel offers direct connection with the Vatican. Rooms with classic style furniture, recently renovated, as well as bathrooms. Rooms are also very quiet , all overlooking courtyards large and sunny, away from the noise of the city. Individual air-conditioned. Some of the rooms have a little terrace . Spacious Lounges, enriched with precious antiques. Free Optic Fiber WI-FI high speed connection throughout the hotel, 2 internet accesses in the lounges. Expert and reliable Concierge, at disposal of the Guest to make their time in Rome the most enjoyable. Porterage 24H, Restaurant / Bar Bistro open every day. Breakfast buffet, with hot dishes including meat and vegetables dishes. Terrace. Free Gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Napoleon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napoleon Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing