We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux
Nearby Hotels
Barocco Hotel(Rome)
$384
$288
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$213
$201
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$244
$189
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Artemide(Rome)
$311
$262
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$320
$242
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$193
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$474
$363
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Colosseum(Rome)
$181
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel des Artistes(Rome)(Great Value!)
$148
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Palazzo Naiadi(Rome)
$534
$381
Autograph
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,502)
Filter reviews
1,502 results
Traveler rating
928
340
140
53
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
928
340
140
53
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspiazza navonarichard meier roomrooftop terraceexecutive suiteexcellent locationbeautiful hotelour honeymoonfront desk staffquiet streetheart of romelarge bathroometernal citytrip to romeloved this hotelboutique hotelside streetwalked everywhere
Filter
Updating list...
632 - 637 of 1,502 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This was the first stop on our honeymoon and what a way to start things off. The staff were very friendly and even upgraded our room. The room ... exceptional! The bed was large and so very comfortable (not your typical hard-Italian hotel bed). The bathroom had a soaking tub, dual wash basins and a shower for two. Our room was on the front of the hotel, so the view was over the little street in front of the entrance. Not a panoramic expanse, but not a big deal to us.

We had a quick bite on the rooftop terrace when we checked in and took a bottle of wine up there at night to chill and take in the skyline. The next morning we found another treat waiting for us. Breakfast was a fine experience, with the buffet having everything from fruit, granola, yogurt, eggs, bacon, meats, cheeses and juices. That set us up for a great day of wandering around the Piazza Navona, Pantheon, and Campo de Fiori.The room, hotel, breakfast area, lobby, etc. was exceptionally clean.

Overall, we highly recommend this hotel. We certainly had a wonderful experience and if we ever go back to Rome we'll certainly be staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J2inBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I stayed here in early July for 3 nights with wife and two sons (11 and 14) in the Navona Suite. We had a slight booking snafu and the hotel staff was more than accommodating to help us out. Extremely professional and courteous – much needed after an all night flight! The suite was perfect for us – ample room for 2 beds for the kids and wife and I had a nice, separate bedroom. Everything was first class at the hotel – the service, staff, an excellent breakfast selection (something for everyone) included in the price, our room and the terrace restaurant. We had lunch at the restaurant our first day and the vegetarian menu was very well done. My wife and I also had a glass of wine there at sunset and late night as well. The view and setting could not be beat! My final comment is that you can’t beat the location. It’s one block off of Piazza Navona, yet quiet. The neighborhood around the hotel is dotted with restaurants, small shops – crafts, fashion and art that you can wander through. It’s also within easy walking distance of the Vatican and many other popular parts in Rome. In summary – we had a great stay and I’d recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: The Navona Suite is excellent, especially if traveling as a family.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rich G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto V, Direttore at Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Sir,
We really want to thank you for the time you spent in write such amazing review on TripAdvisor! We are glad to acknowledge your stay in Hotel Raphael – Relais et Chateaux was as exciting as you expected, and that all your family enjoy the Suite Terrazza where we upgrade you with pleasure. A special thanks from all the Staff who appreciated your kindness and generosity during your stay.
We really hope to welcome you back in the next future as our special return guest, where we will be honored to offer to you a glass of Spumante in our Terrazza Bramante.
With our kindest regards,
Roberto E. Vannoni
and the Raphael’s Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Rome is a busy and expensive city and it was fantastic having the Hotel Raphael to retreat back to when calm was required! I recently took my wife to Rome for a birthday treat and we chose to stay at the Raphael for a couple of nights flying in from Malta.
The location is perfect for everything that Rome offers - we walked everywhere! The decor of the Hotel was a blend of traditional and modern and very tastefully done. The fact that it is a small business also meant that the staff were remarkably friendly, civil and helpful in all ways.
We had a 'birthday' meal in the rooftop restaurant which was exquisite both in terms of food quality and views.
We genuinely can't find fault (other than the fact we should have had a longer stay!) and will stay here again when next in Rome. Looking forward to it already!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

No place like Rome for the celebration of our tenth wedding anniversary. Few hotels could match the Raphael. We stayed for three days and had a wonderful time. The service was excellent, the atmosphere unique and the location close to Piazza Navona nothing but perfect. Robert E. Vannoni and his staff made us want to return to The Raphael even before we had left the city.
Raphael Hotel’s Bremante Terrace deserves the top spot among the roof bars and restaurants in Rome. Steven and his colleagues at Bramante Terrace went out of their way to make our anniversary an unforgettable one.
We look forward to see you again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EspenBergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto V, Direttore at Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Guest,
We are really happy to acknowledge that you choose Hotel Raphael to celebrate your tenth wedding anniversary and that we all met your expectations. In particular, Steven wants to thank you for the kind words you wrote about him and his colleagues, that works hard to make our guest’s stay a unique experience. We really hope to welcome you back as our special guest in the next future, where we will be glad to offer to you an upgrade in one of our best available rooms.
With our kindest regards,
Roberto E. Vannoni
and the Raphael’s Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Just got back from a 3 night stay at the Hotel Raphael. What a terrific hotel with an extremely professional and courteous staff that were knowledgeable, helpful and willing to accommodate every request which is a rarity these days. The service was truly impeccable. Having been in the hotel and restaurant business it is a pleasure to encounter such a great team of employees.

Hotel Raphael is located right off the Piazza Navona and walking distances to shops, restaurants, popular tourist destinations but still is quiet and peaceful. The deluxe rooms are very spacious and had wonderful marbled bathrooms and extremely comfortable Tempur-Pedic beds.

We did not get a chance to try the rooftop restaurant. Since it is only vegetarian, it didn't really appeal to us. We wanted to go to restaurants that offer local Italian cuisine. My husband is a chef and likes to experience local foods and ingredients.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms with the king size Tempur-Pedic bed was truly a delight after some of the other hotels that offer more Italian type bedding.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rose L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto V, Direttore at Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Madame,
We really want to thank you for your kind review on TripAdvisor, we are honored to have met your expectations during your stay in the Eternal City! In particular, all our Staff want to thank you for the precious time you spent to compliment them: your words are their reason to improve their job, the energy to continue in the hard work to make our guest’s stay an unforgettable experience.
Concerning our Roof Terrace Restaurant, we are happy to inform you that from the month of April 2013, the Menu of our restaurant is now Vegetarian and Organic with some fish specialties. Our French Chef Jean Luc Fruneau can create for you some innovative Mediterranean and International specialities for a most delicious and unforgettable lunch or dinner. This choice embraces a philosophy of respecting the environment and nature, not lacking in our local and international menu genuine ingredients of the highest quality that with pleasure we invite you to try during your next stay.
For this reason, we hope to welcoming you back as our special return guest, where we will be pleased to offer you a glass of Spumante in our terrific Terrazza Bramante.
With our kindest regards,
Roberto E. Vannoni
and the Raphael Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews