We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a classic room again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux
Ranked #134 of 1,273 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We booked a classic room. It was very small but we could have lived with it for 2 nights except for the fact that the oversize bathroom was a huge white room with no separation for a large shower area big enough to enter directly with a wheelchair. We had not reserved an accessible room. Even for people who need an accessible room, It was completely out of taste and located in front of the elevators. We said we were not staying but they found a renovated room for us which was acceptable, although noisy at times. The common areas should be kept cleaner as well. A dated old carpet in the stairs going up to the rooftop restaurant is not acceptable. But.. we were told that major renovations are coming soon. Good to hear..
That restaurant (on the rooftop..) is very nice, the food is good, and the service was impeccable. With an incredible view of the Vatican and other lit churches and monuments at night. You have to reserve a table.
I would stay there again because of the good location but I would make sure we book a renovated room.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MoniqueVG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,454)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

669 - 675 of 1,454 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Hotel Raphael is like a little oasis hidden behind the Piazza Navona. Romantically set on a quiet triangular plaza, the ivy covered hotel is picture perfect. We were upgraded to a suite that is basically two rooms and it overlooked the dome of a church next door. The suite was in good condition and the hotel provided a fruit basket. Overall, the hotel had great service and the breakfast buffet was extensive. The most special part of the hotel is it's intimate and private feel despite being minutes off the PIazza Navona as well as the wonderful roof top garden which serves cocktails and/or dinner. Dining al fresco while over looking Rome is really an insider's perspective that should not be missed.

Room Tip: We had a suite on the sixth floor facing the dome of the church next door. The view was like movie.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGL324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto V, Direttore at Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Dear Mr or Mrs,

Thank you for posting your opinion on Hotel Raphael, Relais & Chateaux, on Tripadvisor.

We are glad you appreciated the service, the breakfast and the intimate atmosphere. We always to our best to make our hosts feel at home during their stay.

We thank you for having chosen Hotel Raphael and we hope to welcome you again during your next visit to the Eternal City of Rome. Furthermore, we will be glad to offer you something special to drink on our Terrace or in the inside lobby bar.

Best regards

Roberto E. Vannoni and the team of Hotel Raphael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Just got back from 3 nights at the Raphael, a great location that allows easy access to all the major tourist sights. The hotel itself is of a good standard - We stayed in a classic room on the first floor and to echo other reviewers comments the rooms are small (very small) and are feeling their age - The rooms on the other floors have been renovated so I would recommend staying in one of these - We paid just over £280 per night so would have expected a better standard for the money and would have upgraded if possible (the hotel was full so we were unable) but I'll put that down to poor research on my behalf and Rome city prices.
The breakfast was only adequate but the real joy of this hotel is the service you receive from all the staff who do make you feel very welcome. The terrace is a great place to enjoy a bottle / glass of wine after a long day sightseeing - Do that if you can
Overall was this a 5 star hotel? I'm not so sure compared to others I have stayed in but the service certainly goes a long way making up for the building shortfalls

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Just got back from 6 nights at the hotel Raphael. Great hotel. Service is top notch, location is perfect to walk to all major sites and walking around the area at night seemed very safe. We had breakfast included in our stay. Although the breakfast Is the same everyday It is quite varied and therefore not repetitive. The wait staff at breakfast is very attentive and professional. We did not eat on the terrace but we did go up a couple of times for some sunset drinks. Beautiful views but somewhat pricey drinks.. Well worth the price to relax after a long day of walking. Overall a great time. if I had to make a negative comment it would be about the noise. It can be somewhat loud in the early morning as our room was in the front of hotel. My husband did seem to sleep right through it but I have to say that it woke me up a couple of times. Having said that I would most definitely return to this hotel when in Rome again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4-2tokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

There was a problem with the reservation at this hotel even before we got there! Two days before leaving home we had a phone call from the hotel saying we had reserved 4 rooms and were liable to be charged for one night on each of the 2 rooms we hadn't booked (and didn't want!) It took numerous phone calls and a lot of stress before this was sorted - not a good start! Then we were initally given a very poor room on the first floor with virtually no daylight, due to looking out on a brick wall. It was also a rather small room - not what I was expecting of a 5 star hotel.
After complaining and saying how disappointed we were , we were moved after the first night and were given the Bramante suite! which obviously made up for the previous distress.
We chose this hotel for it's position - literally a few steps from Piazza Navona and for the fabulous roof terrace. Because we arrived earlier than the designated check-in time we were actually given complimentary drinks on the terrace while we were waiting - a nice touch. I have never stayed in a 5 star hotel before so wasn't sure what to expect but I have to say I do not feel this gives value for money over any 4 star hotel I have stayed in for roughly half the price. Yes, the suite was beautiful and had it's own terrace but I really cannot recommend the "comfort rooms" which cost almost £300 a night. The breakfast was also fairly average - just the usual fruit juices, cereals etc. and cooked items in food warmers - all help-yourself, and again I have had just as good in 4 star accommodation. If you can afford a suite, or a superior room with terrace then I would say stay here but I really would not recommend a basic room!

Room Tip: Ensure you book a room on a higher floor or pay extra for a superior room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrsAholidaymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Everything is topnotch from the start to finish, service is great, got a welcome beverage and some refreshment complimentary of the house.
Breakfast is awesome, and the bar great too (though price ranks high).
The place looks amazing from outside and inside.
The room is not very big but it's understandable when you consider the location.
My only reproach is about the soundproofing of the room with the corridor which is really bad for a hotel of this status.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loic B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

This is a small, charming hotel directly behind Piazza Narvona in the heart of Rome. Great personal service from the entire staff. Quiet, beautiful modern rooms with big bathrooms. All the main tourist sites in Rome, with the exception of the Vatican, are within walking distance. Once you have checked in, everyone working the front desk knows you by name. Its a real gem.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wineandfoodfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#31 of 1,273 in Rome
851 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#9 of 1,273 in Rome
3,701 reviews
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux

Address: Piazza Navona Largo Febo 2 | Piazza Navona, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori , Ponte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#58 Family Hotel in Rome
#82 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#84 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#108 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $255 - $627 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raphael Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing