We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent Rome Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux
Ranked #130 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2012

My wife and I travel a lot in Europe and are drawn to Rome for many of the usual reasons - the historical, architectural and sensual splendours of the City. But, equally, we are now also drawn to Rome - especially when in need of rest and inspiration - by the remarkable and intimate little hotel where we've just completed our third wonderful stay in three years, the Hotel Raphael. The hotel is located near Piazza Navona in the fashionable and quiet "della Pace" neighbourhood and occupies an ancient building whose charmingly ivied facade sets the tone for what's to come inside. And that includes an unfailingly warm, knowledgeable and professional staff, superb food, elegant, comfortable and quiet rooms and suites, and a rooftop terrace affording a 360 degree view of Rome where coffee, drinks and dinners are served in good weather. This hotel is extremely well run by its attentive manager Robert Vannoni, which is apparent from the consistency in service and quality of amenities each visit, the long tenure and happy disposition of many of the staff whom we've come to know individually, including the inimitable Steven of the dining room, Richard, dining room manager, Viorica on reservations, Domenico, Anna and Nabila on the front desk, and Zsuanna who smilingly seems to pop up everywhere. After 35 years of international travel, including in top international chains, we feel we've found in this hotel a unique combination of elegance, personality and grace which will keep us coming back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fred c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

Dear Mr. Crooks,
me and all my staff would like to thank you so much for your beautiful comment.
You have been so nice to describe your stay with such magnificent words and we are so glad that you have appraciated your experience at the Raphael.
All the staff, especially Mr. steven, Mr. Riccardo, Mr. Domenico and Ms. Viorica, Ms. Anna, Ms. Nabila, Ms. Suzanna, are so thankful to have mentioned thei attitude towards you during your stay.

We really hope to welcome again at the Raphale Hotel, in the meantime, we remain at your entire disposal for any further information

Best Regards

Roberto Vannoni and the Raphael Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,444)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

703 - 709 of 1,444 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2012

This is a lovely boutique hotel in a great locale in Rome. I was in room 312 which was beautiful, quiet, luxurious and inviting. Just off the Piazza Navona, the hotel manages to be quite intimate in an area that bustles. A standout here is the staff, all consummate hospitality professionals as well as pleasant and enthusiastic. Every request was attended to promptly, correctly and with graciousness. I would stay here again and I would recommend to friends and family.

Room Tip: 312 would be ideal for a romantic stay as it faces away from the street and onto a lovely courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pgh_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto V, Direttore at Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2012

Dear Mr -Mrs,
We have read your kind comment on Tripadvisor on your last experience at the Raphael and we are so pleased toknow that you have appraciated the location of the hotel and the kindness of our staff.

We really hope to have soon the chance to welcome you again and offer you something special to drink on our Terrace or in the inside lobby bar.

At your disposal for everything

Best Regards

Roberto E. Vannoni and the Hotel Raphael Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

The staff was professional and service impeccable --- Hotel is centrally located, within walking distance to most major sites ---
also, recommend the little restaurant directly across from the entrance --- food was great and the pasta e figiol soup was the best I've had

Room Tip: upgrade from Standard - rooms can be small (which is not unusual for Italy)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto V, Direttore at Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2012

Dear Mr-Mrs,
We thank you so much for you very kind comment on your very last stay with us.
We are pleased to know that you have appreciated the location of the hotel and the most attractive places around the area.

We really hope to have soon the chance to welcome you again and offer you something special to drink on our Terrace or in the inside lobby bar.

At your disposal for everything

Best Regards

Roberto E. Vannoni and the Hotel Raphael Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Beautifully clean well appointed rooms,staff well trained and eager to help.location excellent.As soon as we arrived we new we chose the right hotel.The first person you may meet could be Desire,that's right Desire.She will jump at chance to help you.
The rooftop terrace could be the best view in town,again excellent service .Steven,the Italian speaking Englishman ,will keep you entertained .next time in Rome Raphael.
The Vails 408 5 May 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jmvMontclairNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights in mid-May 2012 during our 3 week vacation in Italy. It was our first trip to Rome and the hotel choices were mind boggling. We've had great luck with Relais & Chateaux properties in the past, so that was my resource for finding the hotel. We arrived around 9:00 AM and our room wasn't ready. While they were checking on the status they brought us drinks and a tray of pastries. The location off the Piazza Navona was ideal, we were within 10-20 minutes walking of most major attractions. We were in the Richard Meier Junior Suite - the room was nice and large, very modern, not decorated like the rest of the hotel. The bathroom was gigantic w/ a wonderfully deep tub and equally wonderful shower. The staff was very friendly and accommodating - the buffet breakfast was fantastic - wide variety of food, eggs, meats, fresh breads, fresh fruits and juices and champagne. The restaurant served one of our best meals in Italy - not only in Rome, but our entire trip - and we ate at all of the top rated Tripadvisor restaurants. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. We walked our way through Rome and there wasn't a single area that we thought topped this location.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KVM0716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto V, Direttore at Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2012

Dear Mr and Mrs,
We thank you so much for your wonderful comment on Tripadvisor.
You ahve been so kind to describe the service at the hotel with so much beautiful words. We are glad that you have appraciated the welcome drink , your room and all the staff.

We really hope to have soon the chance to welcome you again and offer you something special to drink on our Terrace or in the inside lobby bar.

At your disposal for everything

Best Regards

Roberto E. Vannoni and the Hotel Raphael Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

We were to be in Rome for a week and decided to splurge and stay at a nice hotel. We made a mistake with Hotel Raphael. This is a very expensive place and is supposed to be decorated with antiques and beautiful throughout. The pros: The location is excellent and the hotel outside is pretty, and there are pretty antiques in the lobby area. The view from our large room was nice. The cons: the room was not as expected. The furniture was completely square, laminated particle board and beat up - like old IKEA furniture. The small sofa and bench were covered with dull brown, ugly fabric. The very heavy orange drapes had mold on the back side in some places. The tub didn't drain and the hair dryer left out by the hotel did not work in the bathroom wall socket. The bathroom had almost no horizontal space - only a few square inches around the sink and I ended up putting my things on the closed toilet seat while getting ready. The terrace restaurant is pretty but the much touted food only average. The staff at the desk was sometimes helpful and other times terse and even rude depending on who we talked to about arranging tours of sites, and our lost camera.

Overall, this hotel is only average or below average(the furniture in our room) and not worth the $400 a night we paid!

Room Tip: We were in room 512 - perhaps other rooms are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank lynnkwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto V, Direttore at Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2012

Dear Mrs. and Mr. White,
we thank you to have posted this comment on Tripadvisor regarding your last stay at the hotel.
We are really sprry that you had some inconvenient in your room. We will check all problems you talked about and we are pleased to let you know that in any case we have provided you a free upgrade in an higher room category than the one originally reserved.

We really hope that you next stay will be more pleasant and will do our best to assist you in any sistuation.Furthermore, we will be to offer you something special to drinkl on our Terrace or in the inside lobby bar.

We remain at your entire disposal for any further information

Best Regards

Roberto E. Vannoni and the Raphael Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Hotel Raphael has a lot going for it. Location can't be beat. . We stayed in one of The Richard Meier Junior Suites and it was very nice. Staff is courteous and professional. Breakfast is impressive and the little deserts left in the room are a nice touch. As was the bottle of wine. So why did't I rate this higher.? The hotel is located in a very lively area. The windows when closed do a good job of keeping the noise to a minimum. However, the conditioning had not been turned on and the room could get warm and stuffy. When we opened the windows, the noise was loud enough we needed ear plugs at night. I would encourage management to rethink their policy on when to turn on the air. I really enjoyed the hotel but that one drawback would have me thinking seriously about not returning.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BeenaroundRj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto V, Direttore at Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2012

Dear Mr.-Mrs.
we thank you so mcuh to have had the time to write about your recent stay at the Raphael Hotel.
We are pleased for all your kind words about the room and the breakfast, and it is a pleasure to know that you have appraciated our services.
To the other hand, concerning the problem with air conditionning, we would liek to inform you that we are working about it and from November of this year, in all rooms will be provided the authomatic air controler, in order to have cold or hot air as guests prefer.

We really hope to have soon the chance to welcome you again and to offer you something special to drink you on our Terrace or in the lobby bar.

At your disposal for any kind of information

Best Regards

Roberto E. Vannoni and the Hotel Raphael Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#30 of 1,270 in Rome
838 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#10 of 1,270 in Rome
3,676 reviews
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux

Address: Piazza Navona Largo Febo 2 | Piazza Navona, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori , Ponte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#58 Family Hotel in Rome
#79 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#84 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#108 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $251 - $628 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raphael Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing