We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Junior Suite, Great Service, and Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux
Ranked #129 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2011

We stayed here in September 2011. We were upgraded to a junior suite which was spacious and a great location (on the hotel corner, second floor which made it easy to use stairs). The room was fantastic - plenty of space - and the breakfast was a very nice European breakfast. The hotel staff are really attentive - they know your name, always asking if there is anything they can do, and treat you like it is a small boutique hotel. The restaurant recommendations were also really good.
Two potential improvements - at our time of staying there, they advertised that they had a modern exercise room. It was not up to even basic US multigym standards. They told me that they were in the process of upgrading it late in 2011 so this may have been changed. It was not a reliable option for any type of cardiovascular or weight workout so this was disappointing. The other note is that they arranged a tour guide for us to take us through the Vatican Museums and St. Peters. We did not learn much more from her than we could have with a guide book. We were there in September and it wasn't terribly crowded so we didn't even use her access pass to get us anywhere faster. For the 200 Euro price it was not worth it. One other thing we noted is that there are hundreds of tour guides taking people around the vatican -- you could almost just stand near a group at a major place of interest (say, the Sistine Chapel) and you would get the high points just be listening.
The hotel itself is in a fabulous location near Piazza Navona but it is not at all loud - it is actually a wonderful oasis in Rome. We will definitely stay here again. These guys have it figured out.

Room Tip: The corner suite was really phenomenal - it would have been worth it to pay for it - they provide ch...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravlChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,401)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

713 - 719 of 1,401 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2011

This is an excellent hotel and it well deserves its 5 star rating. The staff were friendly yet professional and we would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Rome.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PR R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

We describe the hotel as over and above because it is a unique place where the staff and ambience is truly 5 star combined with Italian character. We had the joy of staying in the special designer suite by Richard Meier. Besides impeccable design qualities/options, it has a cozy terrace with a lemon tree! We received treats everyday, too! The location is convenient to reaching other destinations. You can walk to the Vatican area, as well as the Pantheon, and there's a busline beyond the Piazza Novana where you can get buses to the Coloseo, etc. In this area, there's an information kiosk, so the person there will help you to know which buses to take. This hotel is expensive, but the world needs a few uncompromising spots! It is as good as any 5star+ in the Middle East, and it's a real historic experience. Neighborhood is charming.

Room Tip: Choose one of the Richard Meier suites!
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Directeur0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Location is convenient to all the major attractions. Nice, spacious rooms that are clean. Rooftop bar provides great view (at a price!)

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jorourke99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

This hotel is tucked away in a quiet street close to Piazza Navona and within walking distance to most tourist attractions .We were upgrade to a suite and the room was spacious with a good size bathroom with lots of amenities, the service is excellent, everyday we had a scrumptious afternoon tea of cakes left in our room for us, we received champagne and fruit on arrival not to mention chocolates every night. The breakfast buffet is plentiful and delicious. This is a true five star hotel and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JennyH116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

My husband & I recently returned from our first visit to Italy, two weeks divided between Rome, Florence and Tuscany. When everyone asks about our favorite spot, I immediately envision us drinking wine on the rooftop deck of the Hotel Raphael; oh my gosh, this has to be one of the loveliest spots in one of the most beautiful cities in the world. We cannot wait to go back! From the moment that our driver pulled up in front of this charming hotel, to the unfortunate moment our taxi pulled away three days later when everyone, including the general manager stood outside waving goodbye to us, we were enchanted.
Alitalia had broken my husband's suitcase, which made navigating the airport very difficult as there were also no trolleys; we mentioned this to Nadine, and after we returned from our first afternoon walk around the neighborhood, it was fixed! I should mention that Nadine had been exceedingly patient and helpful for several months of correspondence before we even landed in Rome, and the level of service during our stay from every member of the staff exceeded any of our expectations. It was truly magical.
Our room was I believe a standard, and it was beautiful; our windows opened on the front of the hotel overlooking the lovely homes and restaurants nearby. When we first walked up to the rooftop restaurant we were completely enchanted! The views of the rooftops, dome after dome, faraway mountains, even the tomb of the unknown soldier, was unforgettable. When we ordered wine, Stephen brought us lovely little hors d'vours that we hadn't even ordered; we had another glass and watched the sunset and thought, how could life be better?!
The next morning we walked to the Colliseum before sunrise; we were the only ones there, it was very beautiful; then back to the most delicious, expansive, wonderful breakfast you can imagine. They have everything you could dream of, and all absolutely perfectly prepared.
The level of service was beyond gracious, in every person we had the pleasure of meeting there; the head bellhop, each conceirge, every staff member left a lasting impression upon us. We cannot wait to return!
I have to add that the location is also perfect -- just off of the Piazza Navona, and much quieter. Many wonderful streets just to the west with great shops, fantastic restaurants -- my gosh, it seems that you can't walk more than 10 feet without seeing another restaurant!
The Pantheon is only a 5-10 minute walk, the Trevi fountain a bit beyond, then the Spanish Steps area another 10 beyond that. The Coliseum and Forum probably took us 20 minutes to walk to, and I would highly recommend seeing this at sunrise; we were the only ones there.
St Peters was only a 15 minute walk in the other direction. You really could not be more conveniently located.
Staying at the Hotel Raphael will remain one of our best memories of our life -- it was the perfect first impression of Rome!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I can't say enough about this extremely lovely hotel right in the heart of Rome, near the Piazza Navona. It looks charming and all tucked-away from the outside, but is highly upgraded and contemporary in the rooms themselves. The rooms aren't large (hey, it's Italy!) but very comfortable with large bathrooms (2 sinks, separate bath and shower).
Breakfast was really wonderful, and for me, a small basket of gluten-free breads (warm!) that I didn't even have to ask for. A real pleasure.
The staff is outstanding, and helped us book a wonderful guide (Denis) for a morning tour of the Forum and Coliseum. There is a taxi stand just half a block away, and a ton of great little trattorias just down the street. HIGHLY recommend Ponte & Parione, especially if you can't eat gluten or have celiac disease, but my husband had pizza/pasta that was wonderful as well. We went there twice!
Definintely upscale, definintely pricey, definitely worth it!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CCGetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#3 of 1,267 in Rome
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#105 of 1,267 in Rome
1,116 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#111 of 1,267 in Rome
867 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#24 of 1,267 in Rome
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux

Address: Piazza Navona Largo Febo 2 | Piazza Navona, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori , Ponte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#77 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#78 Family Hotel in Rome
#84 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#108 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $266 - $637 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raphael Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing