We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel to stay in middle of rome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Starhotels Metropole
Ranked #168 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice hotel to stay in middle of rome”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We were a family of 2 adults, 2 kids ( 6 & 2 years old ) , the hotel is clean and the room is convenient. It gives you warm feeling . Not much variety in the breakfast but for us it was OK.
good cappuccino coffee in the morning !
Walking distance to the train station and to the hip on hip off buses ....
around the hotel many dine in restaurants which you can enjoy your dinner in.
Location wise it is probably one of the best ....
If you are looking to just stay in the hotel , i can say there is nothing much you can do inside the hotel , but if you are looking to end your day tour to comfortably sleep after long day walking it is the hotel you can choose . Enjoy ROME ....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Waleed80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    821
    991
    234
    59
    33
See reviews for
483
900
55
284
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed at the star hotels metropole for 6 nights. Hotel is ideally placed for gentle 5-10 minutes stroll down to the Forum and the Colosseum and even less to the Termini for lines A and B. Staff at the hotel are friendly and very helpful, the rooms are clean with comfortable beds. Breakfast is well stocked and there are more than enough restaurants in the surrounding area.
Would recommend the Shanti indiano & Pakistani restaurant in via Fabio Massimo, try to book since it is only small. Food was excellent but we were rushed to finish to accommodate other customers waiting for a table. Ordered a dessert which came with the bill..whilst locals are not rushed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikedio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I stayed there for 2 nights for my business trip in Rome. I booked it through the official website, so I got advance discount reta (maybe 20 % off with breakfast). The hotel is not so special nor beautiful, but good enough. Breakfast at the first floor was also good enough except for a lack of salad. They only served green salad with not so fresh one. But, other things were OK. Coffee.....it was bad. People who read my comment should ask the hotel waiter/waitress to serve espresso which was much more delicious. Hotel room was enough confortable and the front clerk helped me to send a gift box to my friend in the another country in Europe. I have no complainment about the hotel. I forgot the name of the restaurant, but the Pizzaria neaby was exellent tatse. The hotel ckerk recommended it to me. If I have to visit Rome again, I would come back to the hotel to enjoy the restaurant....I forgot the name......just one minute walking...at the corner.....find it and try it!!

Room Tip: Book a room as early as possible through the official web.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TabibitoMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

first impression..wow! Impressed!
Good points...
-sparkling clean
-modern
-helpful staff
-good size rooms
-impressive breakfast
-very quiet
-good location

bad points...
-rude cleaners
-expensive WiFi
-rooms were far too hot with no option to alter
-no milk sachets and only one coffee sachet for two people per day

Overall, clean, beautiful, modern but rooms are far too hot

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KirstyLouL93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
va
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Hotel is ok..deluxe room is large with king. Front desk staff is unfriendly. If u don't like travelers don't work at a hotel. Wifi access is painful..why..just turn it on and leave it on

Neighborhood is dumpy but near train and metro..rec staying closer to attractions in city. Breakfast is poor..runny eggs and hot dogs

Room was hot with no ac

Room Tip: Go closer in to city
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wtunick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

2 mins from Termini, on a quiet street, just round the corner from the Opera. Staff were very helpful & friendly; free upgrade on room was a nice anniversary treat from them.
No Aircon in April meant that room was rather too warm & the noise from Aircon units across the street was rather intrusive when we opened the window. Huge bed was very comfortable.
Breakfast was pretty good from 6.30 & after 7.30 they offered an excellent selection of fresh coffee rather than the urn of cheaper stuff.
Talking to others who had saunas & pools in their hotels, we realised this place hasn't got much in the way of facilities; free wifi in lobby was ok, but not v.rapid.
Dinner menu in restaurant was v. expensive & there were so many options elsewhere that we didn't eat there, so can't comment on quality of food.
At £150 a night, it was not cheap, but cheaper than lots of others.

Room Tip: whole hotel was v quiet & refined but relaxed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GBaggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prangins, Switzerland
Level Contributor
113 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I guess who does need internet on a week end in Rome.. well i do..
So free 30 mins in lobby is not a reasonable standard ourdays for a 4 stars hotels.
Then having to pay for internet, i guess there is only in Rome where this happend.
The rest was good. nice breakfast, but i must admit room need a bit of a refreshing.
Furnitures are a litle bit out of date...
But i must admit the hotel is in great location. close to central station and walking distance to center...so my real note would be a 3.5 not a 3..
but as it is not a 4...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
UNA Hotel Roma
UNA Hotel Roma
#105 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,970 reviews
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#122 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
Esquilino
Best Western Plus Hotel Universo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Augusta Lucilla Palace
Augusta Lucilla Palace
#178 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,643 reviews
Esquilino
The Britannia Hotel
The Britannia Hotel
#132 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#101 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starhotels Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels Metropole

Property: Starhotels Metropole
Address: Via Principe Amedeo 3, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#94 Business Hotel in Rome
#101 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#146 Family Hotel in Rome
#200 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Starhotels Metropole, one of the most beautiful modern hotels in central Rome, Italy. We're a few steps from Termini Station, the Opera House and close to Rome's historic wonders.Come and enjoy vibrant spaces and places to relax, dine and chat; the hotel was recently completely refurbished, to stunning effect.Our 4 stars hotel in Rome has 236 bedrooms and suites with every home comfort, our superb Apicio Restaurant, Rendezvous bar, a new fitness room open 24 hours a day and nine dynamic meeting rooms for up to 180 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Starhotels Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Metropole Hotel Rome
Rome Metropole
Starhotels Metropole Rome
Metropole Rome Starhotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing