We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel. Centrally Located.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Starhotels Metropole
Ranked #165 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel. Centrally Located.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2011

We stayed at the STARHOTEL METROPOLE ROME for four nights. We were a family of five and booked two rooms allocated on the seventh floor. This hotel is definitely value for money and the breakfast certainly provides a spread to keep you going for the day. The stafff were extremely friendly and both rooms were ready upon arrival. The hotel staff also provide you with a map when checking in, pointing out the location of the hotel, all the sites and the amenities and services located within the hotel area. It is a short walk to the Termini Station where you will find the GREEN LINE 'Hop on Hop off' bus service - the best way to tour all the sites in Rome during peak season and the Summer Heat. The room service menu is a bit pricey as is the mini bar but there are plenty of kiosks, gelaterias, snack shops and pastry shops within reach (less than 300m as you step out of the hotel, turn right and walk along the pavement). An excellent restaurant with good value for money, prompt service and fantastic food can be found on the same road as you come out of your hotel, turn right and walk two blocks up. The restaurant has large white umbrellas and we visited this restaurant three times during our stay.
All in all, it was a great stay, nice rooms, comfortable beds, excellent air-con throughout the hotel and in your room (adjustable) and lovely knock-out blinds in the bedrooms (work electronically) which ensures your stay is a comfortable one. Complimentary slippers and bath robes in all rooms as well as a pressure shower and bath system which offers a great winding down session after a long day walking in the heat. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would certainly visit this hotel when next in Rome.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulLambis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager08rm, Manager at Starhotels Metropole, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
Dear “ICONPafos”,

we are glad to receive your positive comments regarding your stay in our Starhotels Metropole. Believe us, if we say that any time our Guests are satisfied about our service and our hospitality is a great result for our daily mission which is to leave them a memorable stay.
Thanking you once more, for the time dedicated to us, and waiting for your next stay in Rome, we send you our
best regards

Mauro Polmonari
General Manager
Starhotels Metropole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    811
    982
    233
    58
    33
See reviews for
476
893
55
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2011

We really enjoyed this hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful. It was really well located - we were close to the Main Termini train station and also between two metro stations which made getting around Rome so easy. We also did A LOT of walking and this hotel was also well located from this point of view. Hotel room was small (we tripped over ourselves), but neat, tidy and well fitted out. Bathroom was spacious. To be fair we werent there to sit in the room, so really it made no difference to us. Window has electric sliding shutter things which provided complete darkness which was good. Gym (one of main reasons we booked) was great - well fitted out with good equipment bikes, treadmill, weights etc certainly did what we needed it to do. Breakfast was great - cereals, breads/pastries, yoghurts, fruit, juice, coffee/tea and the like. Good pricing, plenty of restaurants within walking distance. Overall this was a great start to our trip through Italy. Thank you to Star Hotels Metropole, we would recommend to others and would return if in Rome again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhettal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2011

definately a 4 star hotel, arguably even a 5 star. When you walk into the hotel you enter a huge, modern, luxorious reception. staff were welcoming and friendly.
The room we stayed in was a twin but it was huge. the room was neat, clean and very posh. Even had a TV in the bathroom!
Breakfast was plentiful and nice
would definately stay again

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maresca01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2011

This hotel is centrally located very close to the metro bus lines and tour bus lines which makes it very convienant for visiting all points in Rome. The full breakfeast was very excellent and our room was very spacious and clean. The king size bed was very comfortable. Our bathroom was very up scale.The shower is very nice except you tend to get a lot of water on the floor due to its configuration.
The lobby and bar are very comfortable place for visiting. There are a couple of resturants in the area. The one on the corner across the street was suggested by the front desk. At this resturant we found out at the end of our hour and a half dinner that they charge a cover charge .I guess for it being downstairs. This resturant is very noisy due to the kitchen being so close to the patrons. Dishes dropping,waiters shouting etc. The service was very poor and the food was below average. The one on the corner on the same side of the block of the hotel was much better. when we came back I told the front desk folks that the meal wasn't very good. They seemed surprised. Could have been an off night.....
The front desk folks were fairly fluent in english but there was some translation mix ups. If you are a business traveler this probably would not be user friendly if you have to use a computer. They have three in the lobby but none of them work. you can go across the street in an internet center. and pay for it. I was told they had wi-fi in the lobby and they gave me a password but using my apple computer i could not get it. I tried for about an hour to hook up to the internet but no luck. Finally gave up and used my phone. There is parking available through the valet. The street in front of the hotel is one way. This hotel I would consider a four star but with no internet service a three star hotel.
I would reccommend this hotel due to its proximity to the metro and its very comfortable beds. I got a good sleep for those three nights.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OLEBIGWAVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2011

I was looking for a nice hotel in Rome, close to Termini but also close to the historical city centre, and this one was indeed the perfect solution! There are so many crap hotels in Rome so I decided to spend a bit more and be sure to get value for money which we did!
Very friendly and polite staff, super rooms, fantastic huge bed, well stocked mini bar etc. There is even a small tv in the bathroom! The breakfast buffet is included in the price, and for being in Italy it is really decent and a good way to start the day.
I only have a few small things that drag down a bit, first and foremost that it is not super cheap even though it is good value for money. A few of the little shampoos etc were not changed since last guest and were half empty, but I presume oversight from the cleaning lady, and then I missed some real glasses for the wine bar instead of plastic cups (however in the bathroom there are real glasses so just use those)
Overall a great place to stay and would definitely love to stay here again.
There is a super restaurant just around the corner called Alessio, which I can really recommend, high quality Italian food at very reasonable prices, it is quite cosy sitting outside which is a closed side street and very private, which is rare to find in Rome where you are generally in the middle of everything,

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AVJ002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2011

When planning our trip to Rome we wanted a good quality hotel in a central location that was close to all the sights. Hotel is very close to Termini station (5 minutes walk from some exits, but not all). Reception areas and rooms were well decorated, clean and spacious. The staff were friendly and professional, including the occasion when my daughters managed to lock themselves out of their room!

Air conditioning was a bonus in the hot weather and there was not a problem with noise from the street, which we had read could be a problem in some hotels. However we kept windows closed.

Breakfast buffet was very good with lots of choice. Recommend asking for a cappuccino which is brought fresh to the table. Staff at breakfast friendly and attentive, which is always a good start for the day.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darthradar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2011

Located close to the main train station so a bit far from the sights. Decent and comfortable rooms- we were upgraded to Deluxe rooms. The BF was very good in the restaurant though the service could be a bit better.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSA1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
UNA Hotel Roma
UNA Hotel Roma
#103 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,935 reviews
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#124 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Esquilino
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Universo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Augusta Lucilla Palace
Augusta Lucilla Palace
#182 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
Esquilino
The Britannia Hotel
The Britannia Hotel
#131 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#97 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starhotels Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels Metropole

Property: Starhotels Metropole
Address: Via Principe Amedeo 3, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#94 Business Hotel in Rome
#99 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#146 Family Hotel in Rome
#200 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Starhotels Metropole, one of the most beautiful modern hotels in central Rome, Italy. We're a few steps from Termini Station, the Opera House and close to Rome's historic wonders.Come and enjoy vibrant spaces and places to relax, dine and chat; the hotel was recently completely refurbished, to stunning effect.Our 4 stars hotel in Rome has 236 bedrooms and suites with every home comfort, our superb Apicio Restaurant, Rendezvous bar, a new fitness room open 24 hours a day and nine dynamic meeting rooms for up to 180 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Starhotels Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Metropole Hotel Rome
Rome Metropole
Starhotels Metropole Rome
Metropole Rome Starhotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing