We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience at a Historic Palace”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Ranked #233 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2007

Our family was in Rome for a confrence, and our original hotel, The Cavileri Hilton, was all sold out. We were able to get a distressed rate at the Excelsior, and I'm sure glad we did! This hotel has the LOCATION, SERVICE, and ROOMS that you would expect from a Westin, but so much more. The staff was always friendly, greeting us by name upon entering the hotel, and the rooms (we had a standard, about 400 sq ft). My one let down was that the view of our room was of all the other interior rooms, but who cares about that....its ROME. The restaurant on-site serves a spectacular breakfast arrangement, and the business center makes it quite easy to check e-mail. **Ask the concierge for: Santa Padre, this restaurant has no menu, but very affordable prices and FANTASTIC food. I highly reccomend this hotel to anyone travelling to Rome in the near future.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CMHTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,294)
There are newer reviews for The Westin Excelsior, Rome
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,828 - 1,834 of 2,294 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2007

Nice hotel, although the rooms are well over the top. Huge Chandelier dominates the room.
Good health club, small but ok pool. Steam room excellent.
Bar very nice, but well expensive. Beware prices of EVERYTHING at the hotel if you are on a modest budget.
We booked using starwood points, but friends stayed elsewhere nearly as nice but less than half for the room price with breakfast.
Irish rugby team and wives were at this hotel with us at the same time, which may tell you something!
Location very good, plenty of nice cafes and eating joints.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank GriffoBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2007

This hoteld is far past its prime and in terrible need of a facelift. We stayed here with our 9 year old for 5 days in March and I am sorry that I wasted our starpoints on this hotel. It is easy to imagine that it was once a gracious hotel, but that was sometime ago. I saw 3 rooms at the hotel and they all had dirty walls, faded and stained carpets, chipped and worn furniture, and old beds. Hardly a Westin heavenly bed. The service was also atrocious. On our first night we were put in on the first floor front side of the hotel where it was terribly noisy. When I complained, I was told my bags would be moved to a quieter room the next morning. We came back to find that we had been put in a similarly noisy room, just smaller. The hotel acknowledged this, but did nothing to improve the situation. For hundreds of Euros per room per night the hotel should invest in some quiet windows. During our stay we also had problems with a leaky tub in a bathroom that was otherwise lovely, but it took hours to get a repairman to come to the room. There appears to be quite a lot in disrepair at this hotel. Our room had numerous bulbs out and some sockets not working. The hotel spa has a steam bath and hot tub, but both were out of order during our visit. Overall, this is a terribly expensive hotel that is just not worth the price. I would rank it as a low 3 star. I have not stayed in a hotel as dingy as this since I was a college student.

Stayed: March 2007
4  Thank murphydoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2007

The Westin Excelsior in Rome is a beautiful hotel but definitely is showing signs of aging. Located in a more expensive district in Rome that is somewhat far from the major attractions (Forum, Pantheon, etc...) but very close to a taxi stop, the hotel is obviously a place that once was very grand, but chipping paint, loose floor tiles, and worn furniture didn't seem to make this hotel worth the prices that are typically charged here for a room.

The room itself, despite the obvious wear, was very nicely decorated and well appointed. The bathroom was large and was probably more recently renovated. The buffet breakfast in the Doney restuarant was very nice, although a bit "overpriced", which is typical from what I have seen in Westin hotels. The noise level outside of my room was a bit excessive though, especially considering the fact that the air conditioning was turned off due to the time of year, and windows had to be left open as the room was rather warm.

Overall, it was a very comfortable place to stay, but I'm not sure it was worth the price unless you're getting some type of discount on the room.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Paul71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2007

We stayed at this hotel for three nights using Starwood points. We would have never stayed there if not for the points. The room was beautiful, and the window opened onto the Via Vittorio Veneto. Great view of the area. We received a complimentary bottle of wine as part of the Starwood package.

The staff was friendly and spoke English well. The concierge was helpful in arranging a taxi for a very early trip to the airport. Housekeeping staff is very good, and the room was spotless.

The hotel has a very nice bar with evening entertainment. Like the hotel, it's not cheap. A martini was 15 euro, but the drink was a good size and well made.

There are many nice restaurants in the area, and if you get off the main street, they are reasonably priced.

The hotel is equidistant between two Metro stops, both just a short walk. This made access to the rest of Rome very easy,

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank WeTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2007

We stayed at this hotel one night on SPG Awards. This has to be one of the best hotels I've stayed at. The staff was wonderful, the location was excellent and the hotel was gorgeous. The bathroom and the room were HUGE! Guest can use the spa for free and you must try the Turkish Sauna. If you have points and you are in Rome you MUST STAY HERE!!! A+++++

  • Stayed: March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank BSV1823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2007

Fantastic. Redeemed a lifetime’s collection of Starwood points for 2 rooms in this extremely grandand oppulent 100 year old hotel. I felt a little miffed that Platinum membership only yielded the expected room upgrade and complementary gift for 1 of the 2 rooms, however, as the regular room was more than spacious and absolutely immaculate the case was put to rest.  Decor, fixtures and fittings, the large flat screen TV’s in both the suite and standard room were all of the highest standards and exceeded expectations. The double balconied living room of the 2nd floor 2 room suite could only be described as palatial. Front desk and concierge staff all spoke excellent English and proved to be exceedingly helpful. Nearest subway station, Spagna, adjacent to Spanish steps, is a 10 minute walk, but the adjacent taxi rank was always occupied, ready and waiting. We did not sample the hotel restaurant as there were many alternatives within a stones throw. Overall the hotel was superb.

Stayed: March 2007
5  Thank nic1047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The St. Regis Rome
The St. Regis Rome
#90 of 1,267 in Rome
1,991 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
#135 of 1,267 in Rome
937 reviews
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#111 of 1,267 in Rome
867 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#57 of 1,267 in Rome
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Excelsior, Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Excelsior, Rome

Address: 125, Via Vittorio Veneto, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Rome
#130 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#131 Business Hotel in Rome
#180 Family Hotel in Rome
#211 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $296 - $690 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Excelsior, Rome 5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restful and invigorating stay awaits you in one of our 281 rooms and 35 suites, few steps from Rome center and facing Via Veneto, hearth of DolceVita.Our rooms will welcome you with maximum comfort and technology and are equipped with the revitalizing Westin Heavenly Bed ®, high-speed Internet connection (surcharge), LCD flat screen televisions, pay-per-view movies and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Excelsior, Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Excelsior, Rome Hotel Rome
Westin Rome
Westin Excelsior Hotel
Rome Westin
Excelsior Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing