We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our own Palace in Rome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Ranked #202 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Wheaton, Illinois
Level Contributor
87 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Our own Palace in Rome”
Reviewed October 9, 2009

My teenaged son and I stayed here during his spring break and it was impressive. The location was great for seeing the Via Veneto and Borghese Gallery but not for much else. That said, the spa is excellent, the service sublime, and if you want to impress someone, this place will fill the bill! We had 15 foot ceilings in our standard room with chandelier and were greeted with a bowl of rose petal water to refresh ourselves.

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CyberAynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    960
    661
    361
    135
    67
See reviews for
548
835
61
327
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
princeton, nj
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2009

My husband and I traveled to Rome on a company trip. The part of the hotel where we stayed had room keys that are the kind that swipe. Our room keys did not work on several different occasions. Each time that this happened, I was required to show photo ID and I was questioned. I was dressed professionally and treated badly. On no occasion did my husband ever have to show any type of ID. He was just handed a new key without responding to any questions or showing anything. The first few times it happened, I was annoyed, after that it got really old. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to a dog.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovestotravel321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Excelsior, Management at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review, October 12, 2009
Dear Guest,s

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.

We would like to express our sincere regret for the inconvenience experienced with the malfuctioning of the keys, due however, to an expected and isolated electrical issue in the house.

We very much value the security of all our guests, to this end, according to our safety & security procedures, a valid document is kindly required every time a new key is reissued. This is to avoid the unfortunate circumstance where a non-registered people ask for your room key.

Please accept our apologies if you sensed a different perception.

We truly look forward to have again the pleasure of your visit in the very near future.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to communicate your experience.

Kindest regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
275 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 630 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2009

We chose the Excelsior because the St. Regis was fully booked. We were told that the Excelsior was a sister hotel and since we had such a wonderful experience last year at the St. Regis, we decided to give it a go.

The problem with this hotel is not the lobby, the rooms, the facilities--it is the grumpy service. We had just arrived from 3 nights at the Four Seasons in Florence, so the juxtaposition was obvious. We pulled up to the Excelsior in our car and the hotel greeter couldn't muster a hello or welcome. The first words out of his mouth were "It will cost 70 euros to park the car here. Do you want to do it?"

Next we arrive at the front desk and the joyless lady gives us the key and asks, "Do you want me to accompany you to your room?" The worst offense was the concierge, Claudio, who sent us to one of his buddy's tourist traps. I'm truly sorry to be so negative. If you see my other reviews, you'll find that, in general, I really like where we stay--because I study various sources pretty well before choosing a hotel.

Final complaint is that the Via Veneto is simply an unappealing road in Rome. It is quite dirty and there is a bit of riff raff at night.

On the positive side, we thought our room was great. It was beautiful in an old world sense. While the decor was a tad bit too old-world-parloresque for my taste, it still was a very nice bedroom and bathroom. Additionally, we loved the breakfast which was comprehensive with every imaginable item.

For those of you who have traveled in Italy over the last couple of decades, the best way to describe this hotel is that it hasn't changed its service orientation from the 80s. It used to be that all the 5 star hotels in Italy were grumpy and most have changed out of necessity. This place still treats its customers the way the motor vehicle division treats the 16 year olds trying to get a driver's license for the first time.

Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank laabis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2009

Stayed at the Excelsior for three nights. Hotel is situated next to the U.S. Embassy on Via Veneto. Was able to walk to the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, Pantheon, and Colosseum from hotel. Nice high end shops surround hotel. Staff speaks english and is very helpful and friendly. Was upgraded to a Grand Luxe room. Movies are pricey at 18 Euro. Hotel is very quiet. Be sure to walk down the street and eat at Harrys Bar.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMShock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
62 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2009

Mostly stay at Westins when we travel. After looking thru tripadvisor it seemed that the Excelsior was a good option. Let's be honest - centrally placed roman hotels are never "great" - we can only hope for rooms that are more than 20m2 and no rodents. ;)

The Westin does indeed look very nice from the outside. The style is what it is. If you like it, great - if not - you have to cope as modern hotels are not really widespread in Rome. We stayed for 4 days 27-30th of sep. We hit several snags. First arriving, no one made any attempts at helping us with the bags. Reception was busy (all the time) and hardly welcoming. English skills above average for Rome. The room we were assigned on the 4th floor (Grand Luxe) overlooking the main street was old. I mean - really old. I don't mind the old world luxury hotel style if it's "crisp". This was not. Every corner on every piece of furniture had a chip in it. Carpets were ok, but torn in the hall. Closets stank OLD. Bathroom was worn (but im sure nicely done 30 years ago in marble), windows looked like they were past expiry, TV digital channels didn't work, I counted 4 lightbulbs not working etc etc. AC had a loud clicking noise... Had some (removeable) stains on atable, they stayed there thru the entire stay. The AC had clearly been fixed and refixed so the lowered ceiling plates were just barely covering the ceiling by the AC and all covered in dirt / oil.

Room service was above par. Cleaning was clearly below. Maintenance was way way below. The pool in the basement was great. Too cheap to offer comp. water though. (only a small water dispenser hidden in the fitness room).

It's a shame, the hotel location is great, theres a lot of posibilities in the property. None of which Hotel management chose to use.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MorganJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
82 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2009

Room:
my room was in a nice size. with a comfortable king size bed. plenty towls, cushions etc.

available. a desk, two chairs with a table. Futniture are "old fashioned-style" with a

baroc look. all in all the standard is maintaned and nice.
The bath was in a comfortable size with nice marble tiles.
very clean. beds are prepared for the night, curtains closed etc.

location.
the hotel is a nice area of Rome further to the north. bus service is close by. the subway

is about 500m (1/4 mile) away. the spanish steps are within walking distance. major

sightseeing attractions eg. Vatican are in reach by cab within a 10 Euro reach.

Service
Staff is friendly, speaks fluently English. Customer orientation could be a bit more

intense, considering 5 stars plus! I had a request going beyond just the talking, in the

need of having the staff to interact with other hotels / reservations within the Sheraton

group. Here I had to do intense convincing to help me on my request. So the hotel service

just receives a below average considering the 5 stars!

the hotel has a wellness area (massages, work-out area, steam bath and swimming pool). I

had a look, the work out area has plenty room, with free weights, cardio and some other

devides. Pool is small in size, enough to let one-self float in the water :) in general

the area had been clean with a nice warm atmosphere.


Overall:
The hotel is in a central location with good access to many sides in Rome (eg. Hard Rock Cafe and American Embassy in walking reach of 5 minutes; Termini (main train station) within reach of 15 minutes (taxi) etc.). And not to forget, a very beatiful and nice park for leisure, running etc just around the corner!

A nice Alternative in the area are the nh hotel, splendide royal.

Pricing:
At the time of my stay the rates varied among 300 up to 500 Euro / night in a double room exkl. breakfast. Breakfast is marked at 35 Euro.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dan_berlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2009

The lobby of the hotel grand if rather antiseptic. However the lifts, corridors etc are rather tired and could do with updating. Also, the public areas were not well maintained - cups and glasses were left around for long periods of time.

Our room was rather dark and dingy altougjh we had a lovely exrernal balcony (without this the room woudl have been a bit oppressive). It had a great bathroom and a typical high-qality Westin bed. The soundproofing was not good. A lot of noise leaked in from the corridors, nearby rooms and from outside.

All in all this didn't feel like a 5-star hotel and certainly not like a typical Westin. It was OK but I know that Rome has lots more to offer so I wouldn't come back here.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank cartesian200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The St. Regis Rome
The St. Regis Rome
#84 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,934 reviews
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
#127 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#114 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#103 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Excelsior, Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Excelsior, Rome

Property: The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Address: 125, Via Vittorio Veneto, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Rome
#119 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#131 Business Hotel in Rome
#180 Family Hotel in Rome
#211 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Excelsior, Rome 5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restful and invigorating stay awaits you in one of our 281 rooms and 35 suites, few steps from Rome center and facing Via Veneto, hearth of DolceVita.Our rooms will welcome you with maximum comfort and technology and are equipped with the revitalizing Westin Heavenly Bed ®, high-speed Internet connection (surcharge), LCD flat screen televisions, pay-per-view movies and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Excelsior, Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Excelsior, Rome Hotel Rome
Westin Rome
Westin Excelsior Hotel
Rome Westin
Excelsior Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing