We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Ranked #211 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Guwahati, India
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Warm hospitality”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We enjoyed our stay, the food was great, the staff very friendly and the location fantastic....... The housekeeping staff had an eye for details Overall it was a good stay and will like to stay there whenever we visit Rome again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Excelsior, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving us such a wonderful feedback, which is always greatly appreciated.

We hope that we may have again the pleasure of your company at The Westin Excelsior Rome very soon!

Best Wishes and Arrivederci a presto!

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    979
    680
    373
    139
    70
See reviews for
571
849
63
336
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

I paid a lot for this stay, but I do not regret it. Great location, close to Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain.

The Breakfast was amazing. I tried their buffet dinner. Very very good, but my wife is vegetarian and she did not have much choice. So beware if you are vegetarian.

The staff are OK. Some said they are rude, I did not see that, but what I noticed is that they do not acknowledge you when you go towards them to ask a question, had to stop their conversation by an "Excuse Me". Anyways, not a big deal, still they were very helpful and courteous.

Room Tip: Rooms reserved for Starwood preferred guests are well located with a view on Via Veneto.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexandrePSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Excelsior, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at The Westin Excelsior Rome.
We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated our central location close to major attractions of Rome.
We strive to provide the high standards of service that our guests expect, and it is always a joy to learn that we were able to meet your expectations. We deeply regret that our vegetarian choice did not entirely meet your wife’s expectation and we would have very much welcomed the opportunity to address the issue directly during your stay.
We would like to ensure that your comments have been forwarded to the F&B Manager for his best consideration and prompt action.
Thank you once again for you valuable feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the next future.

Sincerely,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

After traveling all over Italy in the middle of summer, I cannot describe how amazing it felt to go swimming.

It was a really nice hotel close to the trevi fountain and the Spanish steps. A lot of nice places to eat nearby and right across from the US embassy.

The guy at the front desk gave us the internet for free after we requested it.

I was wondering what the candy was called that they gave during the turndown service. They were like sugar covered gummies.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Excelsior, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words about The Westin Excelsior Rome!

We are extremely glad to read that you enjoyed our swimming pool and strategic location near all the main attractions of the Eternal City. We are really honored to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us!

We strive to provide the high standards of service that our guests expect, and it is always a joy to learn that this has been achieved.

The names of the candy we use to offer to our guests come from the most famous and ancient pastry “Baratti e Milano”. Please feel free to contact us should you need any further information on this regard.

We hope to have again the pleasure of you company in the next future!

Kind Regards,

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel in a very convenient location in Rome. Very romantic and lovely rooms. Great service and friendly yet professional staff. We could walk to so many locations from here. For example, the Borghese gallery was a short walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Excelsior, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your kind words!! We are very happy that you really enjoyed your experience with us and appreciated our strategic location.

Your comments were shared with the entire team and represent for us a great sense of accomplishment!
We look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Rome.

Arrivederci!
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Park, New Jersey, USA
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at this great hotel located on the via veneto.
Only a short distance from the greatest museum in the world "Villa Borghese"
We have been to the louvre, muse' de orsey,metropolitan,. Borghese is the best.
The hotel has some good concierge help but some are a bit pretentious.
This location is outstanding.walking distance the Trevi fountain, pantheon, Spanish steps. Rome itself needs a Mayor Guillini, to clean up the riff raff, umbrella , scarf and toy sellers on the street.
Great bar in the hotel. Did not get a chance to sample the restaurants as we were there on a convention. A great casual restaurant around the corner from the hotel was a pizza storefront call la Bruschetta.tiny dining room , very inexpensive, food was very good.
I highly recommend this hotel. Usually stay at Four Seasons, this westin in Roma , is very good.

Room Tip: 624 was a nice room on the back side of the hotel Recently updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drj0209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Excelsior, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your loyalty and for leaving your positive comments about The Westin Excelsior Rome.

We are glad to learn that we succeeded in providing another enjoyable experience at our Hotel and it makes us really proud to have been your choice for the second time. It is also nice to read that you appreciate our privileged location at walking distance from much attractions and services, in the heart of “la Dolce Vita”.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Best Wishes,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed here "on points" with our preferred airline and weren't sure what to expect. The restaurant was spectacular (excellent buffet lunch) and we were treated to a double suite (2 huge marble bathrooms, a full living room, full walk in closet, the works! The hotel was quiet despite being full and on a busy street. No regrets.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Excelsior, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words about The Westin Excelsior!

We are extremely glad to read that you enjoyed a pleasant stay at our Hotel.
Thank you very much for mentioning also our excellent Doney Restaurant.

We hope to have again the pleasure of you company in the next future.

Best Regards,

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We do not have one negative comment from our 5 day family vacation in late November at the Rome Excelsior. We traveled with our 19 yr old daughter so we needed two rooms or a suite. Matilde at the front desk greeted us with enthusiasm and is a true professional. She escorted us to our suite. Marinella from the reservation office made sure our room was exactly as requested. It was a recently refurbished room.
This is not a stuffy hotel. It is warm & friendly, but of course a bit pricy which is expected in this very upscale area across the street from the US Embassy. As mentioned, the breakfast buffet is a brunch with champagne, salmon, etc. and the staff will fill any reasonable request if you want something additional. The best quality & worth the price. Every member of the staff spoke very good English and provided excellent customer service every day. We are a bit hard to please as we are very observant of details that need attention, yet I can say that there was nothing that could be improved during our stay - Gratzi to all the staff - Bravo!

Room Tip: It always helps to send an email directly to the hotel after you have a reservation. About a week be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Excelsior, Director of Sales at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for such a positive feedback!! We are so happy that you enjoyed your family trip and that you had a great experience with us at the Westin Excelsior Rome!
We are so proud about Matilde and Marinella as they work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special. Your comments will surely give to them and to the entire team a great sense of accomplishment!

We truly look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Rome for another memorable stay with us!

Grazie e Arrivederci a presto,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The St. Regis Rome
The St. Regis Rome
#82 of 1,258 in Rome
1,965 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
#124 of 1,258 in Rome
925 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#115 of 1,258 in Rome
851 reviews
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Excelsior, Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Excelsior, Rome

Property: The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Address: 125, Via Vittorio Veneto, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Rome
#120 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#131 Business Hotel in Rome
#180 Family Hotel in Rome
#211 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Excelsior, Rome 5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restful and invigorating stay awaits you in one of our 281 rooms and 35 suites, few steps from Rome center and facing Via Veneto, hearth of DolceVita.Our rooms will welcome you with maximum comfort and technology and are equipped with the revitalizing Westin Heavenly Bed ®, high-speed Internet connection (surcharge), LCD flat screen televisions, pay-per-view movies and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Excelsior, Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Excelsior, Rome Hotel Rome
Westin Rome
Westin Excelsior Hotel
Rome Westin
Excelsior Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing