We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Captitano”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Ranked #211 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Captitano”
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

A wonderful hotel, we had a great time, and although they were extremely busy with rugby teams, ambassador's and heads of state. The staff still found time to be helpful and warm towards us. The room was great, room service excellent, the standard of maid service excellent.
We ate breakfast every morning, in the hotel, and it was really good. Ate out most nights to enjoy Rome, however we did dine in the hotels restaurant "The Doney" This was the best meal of the trip. I can honestly say I could not fault it. A fantastic hotel I will stay in again

Helpful?
1 Thank lancergr
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
The_Westin_Excelsior, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience. It is such a pleasure to read positive feedback like yours!

We are pleased to learn that our team made your stay in Rome memorable and that you appreciated the culinary experience. Our goal is to provide our guests with the highest standard of services and there is nothing more rewarding than your recognition!

It would be an honor for us to welcome you again!
Warmest regards from the Eternal City!

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

2,241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    979
    680
    373
    139
    70
See reviews for
571
849
63
336
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This Hotel is Amazing ... The room is vintage and lovely!
Just as you can imagine a Westin in the heart of Rome! It is next door to the American Embassy. Within walking distance to so many wonderful places. The breakfast is absolutely amazing! I can not give this hotel enough stars, as it helped make our experience even better! All of the staff speaks English, and we had no language barrier at this hotel.

Room Tip: We were given the Standard 'Westin Workout Room' by mistake... it is completely decorated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GenesisPure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Excelsior, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review about our hotel and for taking the time to post your comments!!

We are so pleased to learn that you had a memorable experience at the Westin Excelsior Rome and truly look forward to welcome you back in the not too distant future!

Kindest regards,

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We were a group of four staying for a four night stay in The Westin Excelsior. We found the hotel to be very dated except for their restaurant which was located next door. The staff were pleasent but always seemed to be busy when you required help. This was a Rugby weekend so the hotel was extremely busy. Lobby was clean but old fashioned and more like a hallway, where you would not sit down with a book and relax. It was also used for corporate entertainment a lot and you felt like you were intruding. Public toilets were a disgrace. Our rooms were lovely and quaint facing the main street, very noisy in the morning and if the traffic did not wake you, housekeeping sure did at 8.30am, then 9am and then 9.30 am. Bathroom in the room was spacious with a great power shower. The bar is lovely but so are the prices, €11 for a bottle of Heineken and €19 for a gin and tonic. Via Venetto is a busy street and beware all the restaurants and bars along it as all food and drink is way overpriced.

Room Tip: Try and book a room that is not at the front of the hotel looking onto the main street Via Venetto.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank damian044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Excelsior, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments.

We sincerely regret for not having entirely met your expectations. Indeed, the hotel was running a very high occupancy and public areas, which usually represents a pleasant and relaxing place for our Guests, were extremely busy. Please accept our apologies for this.

We are grateful for your constructive comments and truly hope to have the chance to welcome you again in the future to regain your confidence in our services.

Warmest regards from Rome!
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

What a beautiful hotel right downtown in walking distance to so many of the great attractions in Rome. This was my first visit to Rome, and I was SO happy that we chose this hotel. It is exactly what I would expect in a city that is so old with so much history. What a lovely, old, but well kept hotel. The rooms were huge, full of character and the beds were comfortable. With all of the hustle bustle right outside, we didn't hear a thing until we opened the window. The staff was helpful and everyone spoke at least some English so there were no language barriers......this is one city that I cannot wait to get back to. And this hotel was worth the price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosieA428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Excelsior, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback about the Westin Excelsior Rome!

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us and that you enjoyed the very special atmosphere.

Once again, thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future!

Kindest regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Yes,the building is old.But old doesn't necessarily means bad.This hotel is full of character.
The rooms are big (especially for Rome standards). It includes all the amenities you'd expect from a 5star hotel (except for in-room coffee/tea making facilities).Staff is helpful.Location is superb. Minutes from the park and Spanish Steps,yet away from the "touristy" crowd.
Hotel bar is not-suprisingly expensive,but great selection of drinks and snacks. Hotel restaurant (Doney) has great food bur service could be improved.
Overall, it was a very pleasant stay.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Pelo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Excelsior, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving such a positive opinion about your stay at the Westin Excelsior Rome!.
We take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, as it will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service.

We are delighted to learn that the overall experience has met your expectations and truly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you very soon again!

Warmest regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This is about our 5th stay here over a decade or so, we alternate between here and the St Regis being loyal Starwood customers. The neighborhood is a little preferable as it is right in the heart of via Veneto, across from cafe de Paris the best place for cappuccino on the planet, and an array of great wine bars and restaurants. Welcoming staff, and just a beautiful building teeming with history. At varying times hosted both nazi and allied officers, the cast of Ben Hur and everything in between. We love the "American" bar...you feel like you will run into Marlene Dietrich any minute...and both the bar and lobby look nearly unchanged from its inaugural pictures in 1906.
The bar is a welcome respite in a city where English speaking visitors are often viewed as prey. My husband and I celebrating out first non working vacation in years asked the bartender for a wine recommendation, envisioning a 30 euro per glass barolo coming our way...instead he suggested a beautiful Sangiovese that was fabulous and a mere 11 euros...we have returned every night so far and if I have anything to say about it (and I'm pretty sure I do:) we will be back every night to start the evening and obtain reliable restaurant recommendations.... A lovely romantic experience overall. Starwood has treated us very well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KJDbiz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Excelsior, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your loyalty!
It is always a great pleasure to receive such a positive feedback from our guests!
We are so glad that you enjoyed the special atmosphere of our hotel.

The Eternal city and The Westin Excelsior Rome is waiting for you for another enjoyable stay!

Arrivederci,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Stayed there back in January. Overall it was a pleasant experience and we found the concierge extremely helpful. The architecture is appealing but the room we stayed in was a bit dated and considering that we paid for an upgrade, the room amenities do not impress. Still we would recommend the hotel

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louayac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Excelsior, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments.
We are glad to learn that you had a pleasant experience at The Westin Excelsior and that you enjoyed the friendliness of our staff.

Regrettably, due to the high occupancy we were unable to offer a renovated accommodation.
We hope to have again the pleasure to welcome you during your next trip to Rome, please do not hesitate to contact the executive office directly as we will be glad to handle your reservation and extend our best care and attention.

Warmest regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The St. Regis Rome
The St. Regis Rome
#82 of 1,258 in Rome
1,965 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
#124 of 1,258 in Rome
925 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#115 of 1,258 in Rome
852 reviews
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Excelsior, Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Excelsior, Rome

Property: The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Address: 125, Via Vittorio Veneto, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Rome
#120 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#131 Business Hotel in Rome
#180 Family Hotel in Rome
#211 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Excelsior, Rome 5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restful and invigorating stay awaits you in one of our 281 rooms and 35 suites, few steps from Rome center and facing Via Veneto, hearth of DolceVita.Our rooms will welcome you with maximum comfort and technology and are equipped with the revitalizing Westin Heavenly Bed ®, high-speed Internet connection (surcharge), LCD flat screen televisions, pay-per-view movies and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Excelsior, Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Excelsior, Rome Hotel Rome
Westin Rome
Westin Excelsior Hotel
Rome Westin
Excelsior Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing