We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Excelsior, Rome

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Ranked #210 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We booked our trip through Lastminute.com and the hotel was on special offer so we were expecting a tiny box room for the price we paid.....

Checking in was a little slow, more staff would have helped. We were both amazed at how beautiful the room was. The bed was very comfortable, just what was needed after a long day of walking around. The location is great. The Complimentary bottle of water in the fridge were a god send in the heat. We will definitely stay here again, fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyLulu28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Excelsior, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest,
What a wonderful appraisal from your stay with us!
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Westin Excelsior Rome and hope that we will indeed be able to live up to such high praise on your next visit.
A presto!
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    932
    646
    355
    131
    65
See reviews for
536
817
59
314
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Loved our stay at the Westin Excelsior in Rome :)

We arrived early, and they accommodated our request for an early check-in. The SPG membership always delivers!

The room and bathroom were bigger than we expected.

I got a cake in our room for my birthday! What a pleasant surprise :) Didn't think they would do anything when I randomly mentioned to a staff that it was my birthday the next day :)

Loved the food, staff were genuinely friendly.

Got engaged in this hotel as well, so it will have a special place in our hearts :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacq H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Excelsior, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting such a positive feedback!!!
It gives us enormous pleasure to read this sort of review as it describes exactly how we aim for every visitor to feel when they stay at The Westin Excelsior Rome. Thank you also for choosing to celebrate this birthday with us.
We hope you will be able to return every year to celebrate your wedding anniversary.
Arrivederci
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
286 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

I spent just one night in this hotel over a weekend with friends. The hotel was extremely busy and the lines at check in were very long. One woman in front of us missed her train due to the wait. That being said, we were happy with the service we received both from the front desk and the concierge.

We had a two room suite with one full bath and one half bath. Given the size of the room, I was surprised that the beds were singles as opposed to doubles. It was fine for this trip, but thinking about my typical travels with my family of five, this seemed a bit of a waste. Room amenities were plentiful and the room was clean. Nice, big fluffy towels. The breakfast, which was included in our room rate, had a wide, tasty variety.

The hotel was walking distance from the train station- about 20 minutes. It was also walking distance to the Spanish Steps. I did not notice a subway stop in the area which is my preferred method of transportation while travelling. It was easy to get a taxi from the hotel as there seemed to be a steady stream of people arriving.

I would recommend this hotel for a weekend away without kids, or for mature travellers looking to visit Rome in comfort.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5Travellers1263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Excelsior, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your nice feedback!
We are very pleased that you pushed through the initial barrier of the line upon the check in desk, and enjoyed your stay at The Westin Excelsior Rome.
Thank you also for mentioning the outstanding location, the comfort of our rooms, and the tasty breakfast selection.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Arrivederci!
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Below Expectations-Not 5 star hotel
October 8, 2012

Lobby and outside of hotel look good, good location-within walking distance to most major attractions. Concierge met our needs in booking tours, etc. Main problem is with attitude, surliness and aloofness of front desk staff. Very patronizing , no recognition of Gold status for room selection, no soap/shampoo tray in shower, explained I had major back issue and couldn't reach down to floor of shower each time to get the shampoo and soap. No one seemed to care. Just stared at blankly by front desk when my wife informed them of this and how unhappy we were with room.Said they couldn't do anything, that they forgot to install that and it's basically our tough luck. We prepaid for an GrandLuxe room, but our room was small (not GrandLuxe) and overlooked other buildings on back side of hotel.Very disappointed in hotel and staff, especially front desk. Buffet breakfast was outrageously expensive and just average in quality/selections, along with poor service. Definitely dissapointed in a major way





Met Expectations: Location

Below ExpectationsService, Food and Beverage, staff attitude, response to problems




The one thing everyone should know about this hotel:Not 5 Star - looks nicer than it really is, decent location

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJJR-48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Excelsior, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
We are glad that you appreciated the great location of our property and the helpful service of the concierge. At the same time we are concerned about the disappointment you expressed on the attitude of some of the front desk staff. Please accept our sincerest apologies.
We hope that you will allow us another opportunity to improve your impression of us on your next trip to Rome.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed at this hotel again in October 2012 after previous visits in 2007 and 2008 and several other times. Frankly, we used our points or would not likely have considered it after our previous stays, but we love the quiet location on Via Veneto so figured we would give it another shot. The hotel is in the type of quiet location we like, but still walking distance to most major attractions. The lobby has an old world beauty, but has lost some of its luster and needs some refining, but overall is nice. The issue with this hotel though is not its decor or the property details, but rather its deplorable level of service. We repeatedly had trouble getting anyone to help us with bags or directions, despite our conversant ability in Italian and business casual dress. When checking in the second time we had the manager stop mid-sentence to pick up the phone and then stood there while he had a 15 minute conversation on the phone, and did not speak another word to us during the entire time except to say "sign here". We witnessed the same manager (we found out he was the manager from another reservation desk employee) berate another guest loudly and publicly for asking whether he was getting the right room he reserved, and the guest was not loud or belligerent in any way. There is simply no excuse for a five star hotel to treat guests this way, even if they ask a stupid question. We found the concierge service depended entirely on who was manning the desk. Only one of four concierges we spoke with even attempted to be of assistance. The others either had no information or did not bother to take the time to discuss with us. There was a strike while we were there in late September (we stayed twice in two weeks) and the concierge told us there was nothing we could do about our paid for reservations at various museums, i.e. that our tickets were worthless. The waiter at the restaurant around the corner said just to take them on a day we could go and they would let us in, which they did. Unfortunately on our next trip to Rome we will have to try another hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maxxjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Excelsior, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for your feedback.
Your comments are invaluable in helping us identify opportunities for improvement while assisting us in creating the ideal customer service experience for the future. We appreciate you taking the time to share your concerns with us and for the opportunity to respond.
We were delighted that you appreciated the location of our property and at the same time we are very sorry for not having entirely met your expectations. We can’t apologize enough for what seems to be an improper attitude from some of our staff. Once again, please accept our apologies.
We sincerely hope that you will allow us to another opportunity to improve your impression of us on your next trip to Rome. Please feel free to contact the Executive Office directly to handle you future reservation.
Kindest regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Fl
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had an excellent experience at the Westin Excelsior in Rome. It is located on the Via Veneto, walking distance from the Spanish Steps, the Trevi Fountain and the Villa Borghese (and the USA Embassy in case of any problems as it was our case). We had a very spacious and comfortable room, and the service was great. Dinner was a little overpriced in my opinion, but the quality of the food was really good.The staff was very helpful and accomodated our multiple requests.

Rome is a beautiful city, and we did not have the opportunity to see it all, however when I do go back, I will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wvillegasv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Excelsior, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us!
We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay at the Westin Excelsior Rome and we truly look forward to have you as our guest very soon again.
Sincerely,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Although the design works in Rome the hotel is a little tired. Service from check in to the restaurants is pretty poor considering and very slow. Not typical of some of the restaurants I visited during my stay. If you want high end stay over the road as the Boscolo. If you like US TV channels, big rooms etc. it should be fine but don’t pay over the odds.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brown911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Excelsior, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We greatly appreciate your precious comments and constructive criticisms.
We hope that you will allow us to another opportunity to improve your impression of us on your next trip to Rome. Kindly, contact the Executive Office directly in order to personalize your request.
Sincerely yours,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The St. Regis Rome
The St. Regis Rome
#80 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,919 reviews
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
#172 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#112 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#107 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Excelsior, Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Excelsior, Rome

Property: The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Address: 125, Via Vittorio Veneto, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Rome
#120 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#131 Business Hotel in Rome
#180 Family Hotel in Rome
#211 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Excelsior, Rome 5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restful and invigorating stay awaits you in one of our 281 rooms and 35 suites, few steps from Rome center and facing Via Veneto, hearth of DolceVita.Our rooms will welcome you with maximum comfort and technology and are equipped with the revitalizing Westin Heavenly Bed ®, high-speed Internet connection (surcharge), LCD flat screen televisions, pay-per-view movies and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Jetsetter, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your The Westin Excelsior, Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Excelsior, Rome Hotel Rome
Westin Rome
Westin Excelsior Hotel
Rome Westin
Excelsior Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing