We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Ranked #206 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
1 review
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Had a wonderful Breakfast and the room we had was a Suite which had a private balcony. It did seem like the front desk was a little understaffed at the beginning of the day when we were trying to check in. But they did the best they could with the amount of people they were dealing with.
The staff was great and very helpful when we had questions or just needed some help. The hotel is close to a Metro stop and very near the Spanish steps.

Room Tip: Be a Starwood Preferred Guest to get the great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldbyplane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Excelsior, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
We are glad that you enjoyed your accommodation and our restaurant service, thank you also for mentioning our strategic location, and the helpful service of our staff.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back again on your next trip to Rome.
Best regards
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    943
    653
    357
    132
    66
See reviews for
543
823
60
318
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Canada Flintridge, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This hotel continues to excede our expectations

This is the second time we have had the pleasure of staying at the Westin Excelsior in Rome. Our recent four day visit took place the week of September, 9, 2012. Once again, we viewed our stay at this grand hotel as nothing less than a pure pleasure. From the minute we exited our car the treatment we received from hotel staff was warm, friendly and helpful. Since I am Platinum level, we were upgraded to a beautiful suite which was elegant, roomy and very comfortable. Every request we made of staff was handled quickly and graciously. We would not consider staying anywhere else in Rome, and can without reservation endorse this marvelous Starwood property.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I just spent 5 nites at the Westin Excelsior and were thoroughly enchanted with it! We are befuddled by any unfavorabe reviews we have seen. Our room was huge and glamorous, the gorgeous marble bathroom was more than spacious,and the included breakfast was both elegant and plentiful. The hotel staff took care of our every need in a very 5 (or 6) star way - we were pampered. And we definitely understand top quality service because we have been to many 6-star properties. We must add that the location of the Excelsior could not be more perfect, as it is right on the high end Via Veneto street, and the views of the American Embassy next door are charming. It is a glamorous neighborhood, and what is most important, too, is that this hotel is very close to all the wonderful sights in Rome. For evening dinners, the side streets to the hotel contained many charming and delicious cafes to choose from, and all were such wonderful Italian experiences. We would never stay anywhere else in Rome! (The St. Regis is not well-located).

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room, and a room that had plenty of light. Both needs were graciously granted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Excelsior, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback!
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at our property. We are very pleased that you found our team friendly and our service attentive. We work very hard to guarantee the best service and to meet the expectations of our guests.
Thank you for mentioning the spaciousness of our rooms and the awesome location.
We hope to see you for another memorable experience!
Best regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

As far as I can remember, this is the worst experience I've had staying in a 5 star hotel anywhere in the world. The Westin in Rome is sub-par both on hardware and on software. I will start with the latter first:

- Upon arrival, there was nobody to take our luggage. There was a doorman outside the hotel as our car was pulling in, but I swear he deliberately walked inside the hotel just as we were getting out of the car. There was no help offered on the luggage, both before and after we checked in
- Whenever we came into and went out of the hotel, there was never any friendly faces at the lobby. All the servers looked like they hated their job. Never once did someone smile at us as we walked passed, let alone getting the door for us
- On our last day, I requested for a wake-up call at 7.30am so that we could get to the airport early to get our tax refund. I called their "Service Express" line to set it up but they messed up the time and called an hour early!! Already having some trouble sleeping due to jetlag, I ended up lying in the bed awake for an entire hour. I have never had any hotel mess up a simple wake up call before but based on the reviews before, it seems like that's quite common at this hotel

Now onto the hardware:
- This hotel is OLD. And when I say old, I don't mean it's old in a nice way where the look is classy yet you still get all your typical amenities you expect from a 5 star hotel. The Westin is just old and there's nothing nice about it. The room we stayed in had a small window (with no view) and very poor lighting. The carpet was not clean. The king sized bed was put together using two single beds. You can turn off lights from your bed... the list goes on
- The Internet is very slow
- They only give you ONE bottle of water for free (most hotels I stay at give you 4) and each additional bottle costs you 6 Euros

The hotel claims to have just spent 7mm Euro upgrading but I can't see where that money went to. For the poor service, given that there have been so many negative reviews on that, it's clear that they just don't care. Overall, my recommendation is to stay away from this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fuzzylogic2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Don't get me wrong, I stay in some nice spots wherever I travel but this place felt a little "cold." I understand it's a 100 year old hotel, but the marble and gold everywhere just isn't for me. It's "grand" for sure, but I almost felt bad sitting on a couch or chair in the main lobby. It wasn't quite inviting, or relaxed.

We had Amex points to use in almost any hotel in Rome but chose the Westin because we are very loyal Starwood people (Platinum) and knew we'd get a few free perks. Just as predicted, we got an upgrade, free WiFi, and free breakfast. The Room turned out to be pretty amazing - top floor, huge balcony, very nice bathroom, etc. After some really firm beds in other parts of Italy, the "heavenly bed" was just what the doctor ordered. My wife used the gym and said the facilities were very good for a hotel as well.

Breakfast was nothing to sneeze at either. It was valued at 29.00 Euro pp (free for platinum people) and offered a a great selection of everything. We ordered room service one night which was pretty good quality and came within 20 minutes. I have to give props for one thing as well. We ordered a half bottle of wine but they were out of the half so the brought us up a full size for the same price! Can't beat that at all.

As for location..... don't be be scared away. It's totally fine. It's about a 5 min walk to a Metro station that will take you to Vatican City or Termini train station, etc. You can also walk to the Spanish steps and Trevi Fountain within 15 minutes or so. The other sights are a little farther, but walking around is half the fun. The few times we used cabs it was never more then 10 or 15 euro anywhere. The area is upscale and there are some very good (and pricey) restaurants just seconds away by foot. If you want to be right in the heart of the action, this isn't the hotel for you. With that being said, the location worked fine for us and is close to the main train station as we were coming from Naples by rail anyway...

Overall, it's a good hotel. I just prefer something a little bit more modern or trendy. It's an older, richer crowd that frequents this hotel. We're in or early 30's and didn't see too many people our age.

Tip - Room service drinks and hotel bar drinks are very expensive. There is a little corner store/shop across the street that has beer, wine, and snacks if you want grab something and bring it up to your room for about a third of the price, He's open until 730pm and he's got cold beers for about 2-3 Euro and you'll pay 10+ at the bar or from your room fridge.

Room Tip: High floor might give you a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crumz32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Excelsior, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments which are greatly appreciated. Despite the style of the hotel is not you favorite one, we are happy to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for mentioning the comfort of our rooms, heavenly beds and the the strategic location.

It has been a pleasure to have you staying with us and we sincerely hope to welocme you again in the very near future.

Kindest Regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Hill, Virginia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

My family and inlaws stayed here the first week of September. We reserved two rooms and were suprised that we got two connecting rooms and a very large common room for no extra cost. The rooms were amazing and huge even by American standards. We tried room service several times and although expensive, it was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chad T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Excelsior, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your positive feedback! Your comments gives us a great sense of accomplishment!

if your travel plan will bring you again to Rome, please feel free to contact the Executive Office directly as we will be glad to handle your future reservation.

Thank you once again and warmest regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, NY
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

My family and I stayed at the Westin Excelsior and were very pleased with the location and the recently renovated hotel. Our king room was opulent with a view of the American Embassy, had a sitting area and a beautiful double sink bathroom. The common areas were equally lovely.
While the hotel is not in the hub of the tourist area, it is on a beautiful street with many upscale hotels and was only a 10 minute walk to the Spanish Steps and the Trevi Fountain. Within a block of the hotel are several quant cafes for breakfast, although for good dinner options you might want to walk to one of the more charming neighborhoods.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frequenttraveler9724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Excelsior, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback!

We all truly look forward to have again the pleasure of your return visit!

With our Best Wishes,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The St. Regis Rome
The St. Regis Rome
#78 of 1,291 in Rome
1,924 reviews
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
#142 of 1,291 in Rome
874 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#107 of 1,291 in Rome
820 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#105 of 1,291 in Rome
1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Excelsior, Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Excelsior, Rome

Property: The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Address: 125, Via Vittorio Veneto, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Rome
#118 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#131 Business Hotel in Rome
#180 Family Hotel in Rome
#211 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Excelsior, Rome 5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restful and invigorating stay awaits you in one of our 281 rooms and 35 suites, few steps from Rome center and facing Via Veneto, hearth of DolceVita.Our rooms will welcome you with maximum comfort and technology and are equipped with the revitalizing Westin Heavenly Bed ®, high-speed Internet connection (surcharge), LCD flat screen televisions, pay-per-view movies and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Excelsior, Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Excelsior, Rome Hotel Rome
Westin Rome
Westin Excelsior Hotel
Rome Westin
Excelsior Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing