We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the location and stay for the service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Ranked #212 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Go for the location and stay for the service”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We arrived in Rome to begin our Regent Cruise. We were booked in the Westin and were so pleased to discover the location was perfect for our plans. If you are visiting the Galleria Borghese, this hotel is a great choice. It is also close to the Spanish steps and the Trevi Fountain. By the way, buy your tickets online for the Galleria Borghese. They are usually sold out weeks in advance during the summer.
The service is very good, from the bellmen to the concierge. We also enjoyed the buffet breakfast, which is more of a brunch, and a great start to a long day of walking and exploring the sites of Rome. The room had been renovated with a new bathroom but the bedroom was a bit dated. I do recommend that you request an interior room if you want a good night's sleep. Our room was so quiet and restful.
But the highlight of our stay was dinner in the restaurant, Doney, at a table on the Via Veneto. The food was exceptional, especially the risotto, and the activity on the Via Veneto is so entertaining! We spent three hours over dinner and enjoyed every moment. Do reserve a table in advance since everyone wants to eat outside when the weather is nice.

Room Tip: The interior rooms are less noisy than those facing the Via Veneto.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelgirl563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Excelsior, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing with us your experience.
It is wonderful to learn that you enjoyed staying at our property during your Roman vacation and that our strategic location helped you to explore the beauties of the Eternal City.
Thank you for appreciating our rooms and staff, we take great pride in providing our valuable clients with the highest standards of accommodation and service.
Also we are delighted that we met your expectations with our large breakfast buffet and delicious menu at Doney restaurant.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back to the Westin Excelsior Rome and provide you another memorable experience!
Sincerely,
The Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    990
    692
    376
    143
    71
See reviews for
578
859
67
343
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Miami Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Great location and service, but the age of the hotel shows. Carpets need to be replaced as they must be 30 years old and tile and marble updated. The A/C in the room is loud making sleeping almost impossible.

Room Tip: Avoid until a complete renovation is done. Much better hotels to chose from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DanZ503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Excelsior, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your comments and appreciating our location and high-quality service.
We regret for the inconvenience with the A/C. We wish, we could have resolved the problem during your stay on your mentioning this inconvenience as we would have offered another accommodation with pleasure.
Kindly be informed that the renovation plan of our historical property is already in place. We do hope to welcome you back again at our property!
Best regards,
The Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nighs to end a great European holiday. This place is amazing. The rooms were huge, I can only guess they gave us a very good room as the king bed only took up one quarter of the length of the room and there is still the hall and bathroom!
It has old world charm in a stunning building which will only ever be found in a historic town like rome.
You can walk to most things if you're into exercise. We walked to the colosseum, sbut 2.5km and would have taken on the Vatican walk but for time. Nearby restaurants are good, but pricey, so head off the main road and into the side streets for better value.
The pool and gym is great for a holiday location.
The only complaint I have is they advertise a kids club, but there isn't one. They offer crayons on check in and free soft drink top ups, BT not a kids club. They did organise a lovely baby sitter for us when we went to the Vatican though...not the place for a 2 year old. He loved the babysitter and she was friendly and reliable.
I found the staff excellent, no rude staff at all.
Would return in a heartbeat....if you can secure a good rate. It can be pricey. It's a land mark hotel in Rome.
Thanks for the great memories!!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Excelsior, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience.
We are glad to know that you had a great vacation in Rome and enjoyed staying at our property.
Concerning the Kids Club, kindly be informed that The Westin Excelsior Rome does provide Kids Amenities for our little guests from 0-12 yrs and also offers Service Express® to ensure the most comfortable stay. The Kids Clubs are available only at the selected Westin resorts. For further information please visit our website.
Thank you again for posting your review. We do hope to welcome you back again on your next trip to Rome!
Sincerely,
The Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, CA
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed this hotel. This was located in an area just minutes away from the Spanish steps, so we were able to walk everywhere. In addition, the staff was very friendly and even upgraded our room for us. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Excelsior, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback.
It is great to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our property and its strategic location.
We were glad to provide you with the best possible accommodation and to make your stay even more memorable and pleasurable.
We look forward to welcome you back at Westin Excelsior Rome on you next trip to the Eternal City!
Sincerely,
The Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Hats off to the Manager on Duty , Pablo Uberti Sanz !
We arrived in our wonderful suite Friday afternoon( yesterday) only to find out that Saturday was a holiday and that all of the drycleaning I needed wouldn't be available until Monday night and we are to leave early Tuesday. We had been to Paris and had waited and expected to have the dry cleaning done on arrival in Rome.
After some misinformation about a local drycleaner i wandered around Rome looking for it no avail, the Manager, Pablo, heard about it and came up personally to send my clothes to a sister hotel who had on site dry cleaning and made sure it was delivered back to the Excelsio late last night.
Today it arrived in my room from a friendly and smiling concierge , folded in beautiful bags looking better than new.
On top of that he sent us Champagne and strawberries as well.
Pablo is a tribute to Hotel Management and Excelsior is very lucky to have him as we were.
Thanks Pablo for turning the negative into a positive.

It's a beautiful day here in Rome and we are off after we finish our room service coffee ( ten minutes!)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elliotandlindyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Excelsior, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to communicate your experience during your last stay with us.
The Westin Excelsior Rome continuously strives in providing impeccable customer service to its guests. It is always wonderful to know that we are shining examples of great service.
Thank you once again for your words of praise and we look forward to welcome you back!.
Sincerely,
The Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Level 6 Contributor
417 reviews
191 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 545 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Westin Excelsior is a grand dame of a hotel in a great location. In five minutes we are at the Spanish Steps and history is a walk from there. We stayed at the Intercontinental Hotel del Ville the last time and are just as pleased. Rooom is comfortable and clean. Staff are courteous and knowledgable. Breakfast is very good, better than expected.

I did not like that on check in, the desk clerk informed me that my secretary/travel agent reserved a deluxe king bedded single room for me and as we were two, the rate for the room was 70 Euros higher. I said fine and then was disappointed to get to room 670 and see it is one queen bed, not king. Fine, we are happy in a queen too, but why the jump in rate for a smaller room than reserved?

Room in good shape but no service until ater 4 pm even though we are out for breakfast and tours by 8 am.

Odd is the chandelier, a luxury in the room, one burnt out bulb (it is now day 3 of our 6 days here) since we arrived and others at angles. They need a taller ladder or taller light bulb changer. See photo.

Regardless, would stay here again in Rome. Nice location and very comfortable. Disappointed to have my bathing suit ready and to find out when I show up at the book that it is closed this entire week for renovations.

Room Tip: There is another elevator across the reading room that was closer to my room than the main elevators...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy_on_the_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Excelsior, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience.
It is wonderful to know that you enjoyed our historical property and its strategic location.
Thank you for the appreciation of our staff that works really hard to make every guest stay a memorable experience. Also we are glad to know that we were able to exceed your expectations with our large breakfast buffet.
However we are really sorry that you could not experience our swimming pool due to a complete unexpected maintenance works. A small piece of mosaic detached and in order to avoid any possible injuries, the area was restricted for two days. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience.
We look forward to welcome you back soon in order to extend our best care and attention.
Sincerely,
The Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I have read a lot of reviews of the Westin before I stayed there and found a pattern that most if not all negative reviews are from visitors in the US or Canada. Therefore I decided to write a review from a Europeans perspective. The hotel is old but grand and has existed much longer than probably 99% of hotels in North America. Therefore the structure has certain things which cannot be changed. However I think the Westin has really done a good job by creating a modern hotel in a traditional building. We had a corner suite (room 328) and it was lovely. No chipped paint or dust collection in the room and everything worked as it should (i.e. shower, toilet, sink, internet etc.). The suite was very large and had a comfortable bed. As others have noted the kind size bed are two single beds put together. Room service was prompt and there was no mix up in our orders and we ordered room service three times during our stay. Staff was polite in general but being typical Italian so do not expect the overly friendly and chatty American guy. This is Italy after all and people just behave differently and I found there English perfectly understandable and they understood me. Breakfast was good and had a nice and big selection which catered to everyone. The lifts were all very quick and one of them was brand new so I do not understand the comment by one reviewer who said they were from the seventies. I wonder which lift the reviewer used. Location is perfect and we did our sightseeing on foot and the Spanish steps are just five minutes away and everything else is absolutely doable on foot. Rome really is a lovely city.
I would certainly return to this hotel again and I was unnecessarily worried by all these negative reviews which did not reflect my stay at this great hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jetsetlife888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Excelsior, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the positive review of our property! Your comments are truly appreciated and give us a great sense of accomplishment!
We hope to have again the pleasure of your visit very soon!
Sincerely,
The Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The St. Regis Rome
The St. Regis Rome
#84 of 1,261 in Rome
1,976 reviews
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
#131 of 1,261 in Rome
929 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#116 of 1,261 in Rome
857 reviews
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Excelsior, Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Excelsior, Rome

Property: The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Address: 125, Via Vittorio Veneto, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Rome
#121 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#131 Business Hotel in Rome
#180 Family Hotel in Rome
#211 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Excelsior, Rome 5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restful and invigorating stay awaits you in one of our 281 rooms and 35 suites, few steps from Rome center and facing Via Veneto, hearth of DolceVita.Our rooms will welcome you with maximum comfort and technology and are equipped with the revitalizing Westin Heavenly Bed ®, high-speed Internet connection (surcharge), LCD flat screen televisions, pay-per-view movies and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Excelsior, Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Excelsior, Rome Hotel Rome
Westin Rome
Westin Excelsior Hotel
Rome Westin
Excelsior Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing