We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Inn, say no more”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Rome - Aurelia
Ranked #610 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed June 26, 2014

This is obviously a Holiday Inn. It could be anywhere in the world. The staff were nice, the bar was ok.

The room was clean and comfortable, no view, but it was somewhere to sleep. I didn't go for the hotel to be honest. It was almost equidistant from both airports, but cost quite a bit in taxi fare to St Peters (nearest point) as the hotel shuttle wasn't always reliable. The best thing was the staff ordering a taxi for you as you were given a receipt with the taxi identifier on it, so it wasn't an unsolicited pick up. Only problem was the taxis back, who wanted double the fare for it being so far out.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewcastleEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROMVA, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Rome - Aurelia, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Dear valueted guest, thank you very much for you review.You opinion is important to improuve our service.
We apologize for your negative experience with the taxi if you would have communicate the taxi code to our reception desk we would callled the taxi company explaining the situation.


Best regards
Anna d'alfonso

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (717)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

141 - 147 of 717 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2014

Hotel was clean and comfortable, but the location is not good. There is no hotel shuttle to the airport, you must take a taxi to the hotel. Hotel shuttle will drop off and pick up at 2 spots in Rome, St. Peter rail station or capital hill area. Cost is 5 euros round trip. Two trips in the morning to Rome, a third in the afternoon, and two trips back to hotel in evening. If you miss the last shuttle, you have to get a taxi to get back to the hotel. There is no easy way to travel from this hotel without a car. The hotel breakfast was over priced, and we ended up walking down to the McDonalds every day.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Rome - Aurelia, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2014

Dear Steve G,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I'm glad that we were able to provide you with a clean and comfortable hotel accommodation.

It is certainly not our intent to inconvenience our guests with the cost of our breakfast, but instead to offer options that make sense. Nevertheless, we always appreciate comments from our guests. We will be using your feedback, including your experience with transportation, to take the necessary improvements on our end.

Once again, thank you for staying and we hope we get another chance to host you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

My husband and I just stayed there end of May 2014 and I did not know what to expect after reading the reviews before our trip. Well, I was pleasantly surprised. Room, bed and pillows were very comfortable, our bathroom as well. We ate at the hotel on two occassions and the food was good and resonable priced not over priced as some other people stated. Apparently, they are not familiar with European prices or accommodations. The staff was friendly at all times. The hotel is not in the center of Rome but it has shuttle service to the center for €4 round trip which is very inexpensive. If you want to stay in the center of Rome in a 4 star hotel be prepared to pay minimum €450 per night. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nivia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Worst place to stay. Bathrooms have fungus. Management rip off. Bus service to town very poor and at inconvenient timings. Dusty place. Think twice before you book this place.taxi to station was another rip off 50 euros way too high. If coming with families beware or else the management will rip you off. We had a child and was bullied to take another room at an overinflated price whereas another place 3 adults and child could stay in a room. When questioned they said it is " hotel policy" which is a lie.

Room Tip: Be specific if you are coming with family or else they will rip you off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Jyothish3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Rome - Aurelia, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear aakaaruk,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us and for writing a review about our property. We always try our best to provide a comfortable environment and achieve guest satisfaction. However, it appears that the room condition during your stay and our hotel policy was a let down. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience.

I have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain more information about your stay. We hope to hear from you soon.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

a big hotel Too far from every where,too far from Rome if some body wants to use the public transportation.! the taxi need at least 35-50 euros!! to Pza Venezia.the rooms are ok, clean and good with coffee maker.The breakfast it was a good buffet.There is NOTHING around the hotel and they charge for the parking of bus.it was full of groups.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psychoAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Rome - Aurelia, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Dear psychoAthens,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re very sorry you were not satisfied with the location of the hotel and the additional charge in parking. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Stayed here as last night of Globus Italian Mosaic tour. The hotel is very large and a long way out of Rome so wouldn't be the best if you were planning to make this your base. We were in room 416. Very clean but tiny really, with a huge bed, we had trouble fitting our 2 medium and 2 small suitcases in the room so that we could get to them easily when needed and still walk around the room. Quite a small bathroom with a small corner shower (difficult to shave my legs). The hotel is on a major road so was a bit noisy with the window open - air con is available if you want it. There was actually tea and coffee making facility in the bedroom!!! - but there was only one UHT milk. It took a ridiculously long time for the staff to get the bags to the rooms (we were a large tour group, but we hadn't had this trouble on any other day). Eventually (after about 40 mins) my husband found the suitcases for our floor all outside the lift - but there had been no communication from reception etc. to tell us this - wouldn't have been an issue if we hadn't all needed to be able to get showered and changed to go to group farewell dinner. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. Breakfast was okay - but staff weren't very pleasant and getting a cup of tea was not easy. The staff were grumpy, not very friendly and not very helpful. There seemed to be no-one who spoke much English and our Italian is extremely limited so we didn't feel very comfortable enquiring about anything. Be very, very careful if you need to book a taxi from the hotel. We asked for a taxi to be ordered for 11am the morning after we arrived to take us to Fiumicino Airport and were told this would be arranged. It was, but oh my goodness!!! We didn't get a 'normal' taxi but a black Mercedes with a driver who looked like he should be in a mob, or who ran one well! He was on his mobile phone the entire trip to the airport - not on speaker, but holding it to his ear - and the other hand was also often not on the steering wheel as he grabbed papers etc from the front seat etc. He never used his indicators and drove up to 140km/hour for most of the trip - it was a bit harrowing to say the least. To really top it off it then cost us 60euros!!!!! Not at all happy about that . I really blame the hotel for ordering that service - why not just a taxi like we asked. I would never stay here again and would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pidge51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Rome - Aurelia, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Dear Debbi P,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. It is very nice to know that you have noticed the cleanliness of the room. Kindly accept our sincerest apologies for the unsatisfactory service you received from the staff. Your comments are being shared with the hotel management and appropriate action will be taken. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

one of the worst hotels i have ever visited. The staff really unkind. The cleaness very poor, everything was dirty and neglected, the shower gate, uffff!!! The room smelt badly! Too expensive, too poor!! Four stars??? Two would be more fair. I don´t recommend it at all.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank luarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Rome - Aurelia, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Dear luarth,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. We have sent you a private message addressing your concerns. I trust we can regain your confidence in our products and services.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Rome - Eur Parco Dei Medici
0.3 mi away
Hotel Midas
Hotel Midas
#598 of 1,271 in Rome
116 reviews
8.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Rome-east
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Black Hotel
Black Hotel
#713 of 1,271 in Rome
877 reviews
7.3 mi away
Mercure Roma West
Mercure Roma West
#380 of 1,271 in Rome
1,147 reviews
10.9 mi away
Novotel Roma Est Hotel
Novotel Roma Est Hotel
#403 of 1,271 in Rome
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Rome - Aurelia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rome - Aurelia

Address: Via Aurelia Km 8,400, 00163 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#290 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $67 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Rome - Aurelia 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let be the first to welcome you to Holiday Inn Rome Aurelia, a business and laisure hotel conviniently located between the main airports, Nuova Fiera di Roma and Vatican area. At 1.5 Kilometers you can find the Ring Road of Rome exit(G.R.A.)To reach Ciampino and Fiumicino Airports. At 4.0 Kilometers only you have Vatican and Saint Peter's Area. Stay with us, park your car or tourist bus in our 24 hours guarded and controlled parking, or use our free unguarded parking. Take our shuttle bus, leaving at prefixed schedule, to reach the heart of Rome with its beauties. At 500 meters you can find the public bus stops: nr. 246 To Cornelia; nr. 247 To Vatican Museums nr. 985 To Battistini where you can find the subway line A bringing to Spanish Steps; Vatican Area and Termini railway station. Our rooms are modern and comfortable with wi fi high speed internet connetion. Relax in our outdoor swimming pool or mini gym. Our room sercvice and 24 hours business center are at your disposal. Our restaurant and lobby bar offer a different kind of meals to respond to all guests' needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Rome - Aurelia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rome West
Rome Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing