We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,138)
Filter reviews
1,140 results
Traveler rating
291
474
212
103
60
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
291
474
212
103
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free airport vatican city jacuzzi bath rooftop garden st peters within walking distance the hotel staff enjoyed my stay sight seeing min walk public transportation on foot metro station trevi fountain euros sites buses
Filter
Updating list...
300 - 305 of 1,140 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This is a fine hotel just 5 minutes from the Vatican and the Sistine Chapel. They offer free pick up from Rome airport and when I contacted them to say we would be arriving too late for that (last pick up 22:00) they immediately came back and said they would give us a free return journey to the airport instead (would normally be 40 Euros). The staff were all very courteous, efficient and friendly and the room we had on the second floor was comfortable and pleasantly warm overlooking an inner courtyard so we got very little traffic noise. Breakfast was self serve with a good variety of cold meats, fruit, eggs, bread and cereal. There is also an offer to use their sister hotel Atlante Star's rooftop restaurant for a meal which apparently has a spectacular view over the rooftops and along the Tiber,
From the hotel front entrance you can see the wall of the Vatican and it literally is a 5 minute stroll to the Vatican museum and Sistine Chapel and there are local buses and the Metro just minutes in either direction. The Fonclea bar is next door to the hotel and is a good choice for a meal and a drink if you don't fancy staying in and has a happy hour and live music each night. They even gave us a free cocktail when we turned up the second night.
There are touts on every corner trying to sell tours of the Vatican or the Sistine Chapel and even the open top buses but they are all friendly and courteous if you explain you've already been and don't just ignore them. All in all Rome is a great city to visit with enough history, culture and entertainment to satisfy every taste, and staying in the Atlante Garden Hotel just put the icing on the cake.

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stewartc57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Very nice hotel in terrific location for most / all of Rome's tourist attractions. Room was very comfortable and quiet, apart from the odd noisy traffic passing by. Staff are friendly and helpful, especially one of the male receptionists, who was very flamboyant and a pleasure to deal with.
Breakfast is continental and there is always an excellent spread of delicious cuisine.
Only real gripe would be no kettle in room and price of drinks in the bar...better to drink in town in one of the many charming bar / cafe's.
Would / Will use this hotel again and would recommend to anyone.

Room tip: Ask for room off main street.
Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Felt like a three star not four but that was reflected in the price. loved the traditional Italian decor , room was clean , comfortable, and average size.
Staff were couteous and helpful..one used his mobile to find a weather forcast for us
Excellent copious breakfast, and pastries to die for ! Take advantage of the free shuttle service from the airport saved a lot of stress.
Perfect location for the Vatican..
Instead of papying 26 euros each for the tourist bus we caught the local bus from Place Risorgimento to the Colliseum for 1.50 euros. you can hop on and off for 100 mins(bought from newspaper kiosks.)..but avoid rush hour !
We loved the bar Fonclea near the hotel..Happy hour 6.30-7.30 half price drinks and aperitives..Fantasic live music nearly every night starting from 10pm..it was really nice to mix wth the locals

Room tip: By choosing breakfast for 9 euros we had a room upgrade.
Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

It might have once been a four star hotel but it needs of TLC the rooms need a lot of work and for people like me who likes to have drinks in the room (not the mini bar) its very disappointing no water or kettle in the room.I was a bit disappointed by the room service It was my boyfriends birthday and I had some ballons for him lad out on the bed but the maids stuck them all together and moved them and they rearranged all my make up and hair products,which I really didn't like.

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiki81uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

It's within walking distance to the Vatican and some little tourist shops and supermarkets if you need something. Plus the citysightseeing bus tour stop is 2.5 blocks away so it's easy to get around. The hotel was really old and mold in some rooms. BEDS ARE VERY, VERY, VERY, VERY UNCOMFORTABLE! Don't stay here if you that's important to you. The walls look like the haunted mansion ride at Disneyland. The rooms are kept clean by the cleaning ladies but the staff speaks broken english and don't always seem eager to assist.

Room tip: Look for other hotels in the area. One named nh guistitiano or something like that was better. (our friends stayed there and we were jealous.
Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gustavo c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews