We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average hotel with a great staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
NH Roma Leonardo da Vinci
Ranked #321 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
GreenLeadersGold level
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Average hotel with a great staff!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

NH hotels are supposedly business hotels and that's how it seemed to be. The rooms were comfortable but nothing fancy. They were quite average. But it is clean and comfortable so no issues there. The best part is the staff that they have. They go out of their way to help the guests which was delightful as my experience in Europe has almost always been otherwise. The hotel is very close to the Vatican. Since it is in a residential area... the walks around the hotel were very quiet with very few tourists around. All in all a good stay here and would recommend it !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pragati S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    673
    374
    135
    79
See reviews for
275
505
73
529
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Went with my mother, stayed for a week. The breakfast was good, the staff was helpfull. We managed to walk to many attractions including the spanish steps, the panthenon, the trevi fountain, the vatican.
We ate sandwhichs the first day we arrived and neither of us could eat more than a few bites, I guess our palates are not made for such strange flavours. They didn't make us pay for the food, but the waiter was rude to us every time we saw him afterwards. Mum wanted a diet coke from the bar and it cost us 5euro for the can. I went down the street a couple of blocks and bought a case of coke and water for almost the same price. There is no point in using the expensive items in the minibar either when you are so close to the supermarket.

There were tour groups arriving different times and different days, and we were unable to eat at the hotel restaurant as it was closed to the regular patrons of the hotel in order to service them. This seemed odd to us as we paid alot of money to stay for the week, and they were only there for the night. The restaurant didn't actually open for business until 7pm, and my mother didn't see anything she would have actually wanted to eat on the menu anyway. Plus all the food on the menu was really expensive.
One of the pilots that was at the hotel the day my mum freaked out on the staff for not letting her into the dining room because of the tour groups suggesteda great little place to eat called the grotto just a few blocks away. There is also a nice gilatto place less than a block away, and a great little walk in eatery around the corner that served delicious slices of pizza, and meats etc..

Okay, the room. When I first walked in I thought - - - Porno room!!!!! One giant mirror taking up the far wall, where you have a view of the entire room, and exactly opposite was the giant padded wall ---I want to call it a chair rail???? directly over the head of the bed and running from wall to wall. Red and overpadded, what was the function of this item??? To prevent severe trauma to the head in the event of intense mattress use???? Okay, the room was small, but when you are there long enough it grows on you and becomes cosy. If you are tired and had a busy day of walking, it is the perfect place to be. People always complain when things are not as "good" as the things in their own country, but you shouldn't really compare a place like canada (where I'm from) to a place like Rome.

All the staff was more than wonderful to me (with the exception above), and went out of their way to do whatever they could for me. They would even leave the desk to come outside and talk to me if they saw me out there, and asked me to spend time with them on quiet nights. When you are nice to people, and show them you actually appreciate the things they do for you, theyeturn all those positive feelings to you. Even the waiter warmed up to me after he saw me laughing with the other staff. Remember that the people working in a hotel see many people in a week, and the majority of them are not treated well, and usually only hear complaints for things thay are not responsible for. This would frustrate anyone I know, and may not make them seem that friendly. The italian people really are good people, you have to give them a chance to show you.

Would I stay here again? YES!!! Did I love it all? NO. But the pros outweigh the cons. The location can't be beat, the staff was really nice, there are tons of places to eat and shop, the metro is around the corner, it is in a much quieter and cleaner part of Rome, you feel safe walking around at night, you are not that far from the airport, and when the flight crew keeps you up at night with their layover parties,the staff is great at getting them to settle down so you can sleep.

The only thing I really was annoyed with was when I put the do not disturb sign on the door and I came back from breakfast to find my room cleaned, but I let that go. The next day I had the sign on the door again, and thought maybe they didn't notice yesterday. I was woken up by the maid standing beside my bed with the door open, asking to clean my room, then appologizing for waking me up. I say annoyed but it was more like really pissed off. I couldn't fiqure out why they gave me the sign to use if it was actually of no use at all. The other thing was the yellow stain on the sheets when I first arrived. Was this sheet changed and washed, or was this stain from the last patron of this room? I didn't notice it the first night we were there, but after a 9hour flight I don't think I would have cared that much anyway (I can't sleep on planes). then a few days later when I found the empty cigarette package under the bed, I decided the maid hadn't actually cleaned much of the room except for the toilet, shower, making the bed, refilling the bathroom stock. I tend to be a little bit of a germifobe, so I took sheets from the cleaning cart,and new towels, and "borrowed" the cleaner to wipe down toilet and door handles, sink taps and faucets etc - - -but could not bring myself to use or touch anything to do with the beday.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor facing back door of the hotel restaurant, decent room, good a/c, g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

This hotel was the first hotel that I stayed in on a European vacation. I was hesitant about it since I had heard that European hotels were small, air conditioning was not as cool, etc. I was pleasantly surprised with this hotel. The lobby area was very nice and they provided a great breakfast. It was located in a more residential area, so not a lot of tourists were around. It will still well within walking distance to major sites though. The room was decent as well, although the bed felt like it was on the floor. The only issue we had was that we couldnt check in until 5:00 after flying the entire night before and walking around Rome all day. Apprently the cleaning staff went on strike earlier in the day so they were behind on getting rooms ready. Other than that, I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Rome.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AshleyCady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed at the Leonardo da Vinci for three nights prior to going on a cruise. We were impressed with the hotel. The rooms, although small were nicely furnished and had lovely bathroom goodies.
The breakfast buffet was fabulous - a really healthy way to start the day!
My only gripe would be the lack of coffee. None in rooms and charges in bar for drinks were costly.
Nevertheless, we loved the fact that the hotel was so near the sights in Rome. We walked in each morning, returned late afternoon and then wandered out for dinner later. Definitely worth a visit - but take a travel kettle!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungría
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

The location of the hotel is very good. Close to the metro and the Vatican.
Breakfast was good, but more vegetables would have even been better.
Air condition was very useful in the room.

Technical equipment was not perfect: coffee machine did not work properly, we did not have TV chanels in the room, and the elevators lived their own lifes. :)

Staff was not customer-friendly enough: it took 25 minutes to check in and 3 different person dealt with us.

Overall opinion: NH Leonardo da Vinci is an average hotel with a great location. If You do not have **** expectations You will enjoy it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hoteles

Helpful?
2 Thank zsuzsanna_siposs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Good hotel with good services. Close to Lepanto Metro, but also within walking distance of the historic sights in the center of town, which made this a good launch point for walking days and also day trips via the train.

Wifi in the lobby was unreliable and guests were lined up at the front desk to get it fixed. Each individual was being connected with the customer service line to get through the issues- made it a long, slow process.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H3KB4Y2K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed at the NH Leonardo Da Vinci for two nights before leaving on an 11 day cruise. The hotel was very nice. The lobby was rather small compared to others but it was very clean. The people working there were very well versed in the English language which really helped us a lot as we do not speak Italian.
Our room was at the back of the hotel and rather small. It had the necessities, two single beds pushed together, a very small bathroom with a very small shower (I actually wondered how my husband was going to be able to shower in it but he managed). There was no where really to put our bags and when we put them down beside the bed we did not have much walking space. It was a challenge getting dressed. The room itself was very clean and had air conditioning and if you wanted to you could open the windows but we chose not to as it was very hot there From May 30 to June 1/12.
You get what they call a continental breakfast included. The breakfast was fantastic. It included everything, fruits, eggs, bacon, ham, toast, cold cuts, fresh juices, different coffees and teas. The eating area was also very large so a lot of people could be at breakfast and you would still find a table.
This hotel is very centrally located and you can walk to all of the tourist attractions and we did spend two days walking around in beautiful Rome.

Room Tip: If you book here ask for a room at the front of the hotel as we hear they are bigger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Summerpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
NH Collection Roma Giustiniano
NH Roma Villa Carpegna
#308 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Twentyone Hotel
Twentyone Hotel
#198 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,516 reviews
Esquilino
NH Collection Roma Palazzo Cinquecento
Prati
Le Meridien Visconti Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Roma Leonardo da Vinci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Roma Leonardo da Vinci

Property: NH Roma Leonardo da Vinci
Address: Via Dei Gracchi 324, 00192 Rome, Italy (Formerly NH Leonardo Da Vinci)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Rome
#172 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#187 Business Hotel in Rome
#278 Family Hotel in Rome
#283 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Roma Leonardo da Vinci 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Roma Leonardo da Vinci hotel is located in a quiet and elegant residential area in Rome, very close to the Vatican City and the magnificent Castel Sant’ Angelo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Roma Leonardo da Vinci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel Rome
Jolly Hotel Rome
Jolly Leonardo Da Vinci
Jolly Hotel Leonardo Da Vinci

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing