We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Starhotel Michelangelo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Starhotels Michelangelo
Ranked #147 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Starhotel Michelangelo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

The Starhotel Michelangelo is four blocks from the Vatican. So if this is your main interest in Rome this is the perfect location. Because the major highlights of Rome are close together it is all walkable. We walked all the meager highlights of Rome on slow enjoyable pace in a little oven a half day.
The hotel in addition to being in a good location had a good variety of restaurants with in blocks.. The breakfast that comes with the hotel was good, on par with most large hotel buffet breakfasts, The front desk staff was helpful and friendly . The wifi was free and OK..

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerMiche, Direttore at Starhotels Michelangelo, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

we thank you for the time dedicated to us in writing your review about our Starhotels Michelangelo, and hoping to welcome you again in our hotel for your next roman stay, we send you our best regards.

Mauro Polmonari
General Manager
Starhotels Michelangelo Roma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    413
    100
    22
    15
See reviews for
227
449
29
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Just come back from a fabulous stay at this hotel which is a stones throw away from the Vatican yet in a quiet laid back neighbourhood.

Had read some reviews that said don't pay for a Vatican view as there was no such room - not true and I have uploaded the picture of the view from my balcony to show. We were in room 122.

The hotel is quiet and stylish and clean to the point of perfection. The beds are the most comfortable I have ever stayed in and the bathroom was modern and luxurious.

Only eat breakfast which was adequate being hot food and cereal etc fresh fruit and unlimited tea, coffee and juice. Nothing for an English girl matches up to a full English but it was fine.

The staff were helpful but just a little snooty but hey for 3 days who cares. The reception area was cool and quiet and the bar was nice - not very comfortable seats but we only stayed for one drink anyway.

All in all a great stay. If you would rather be out of the hustle and bustle of 'downtown' and want to get up early to avoid the Vatican queues this is the place to be.

We flew to Campino airport and got the coach into Rome for Euros 4 each on the way in (tickets at arrivals as you come out of the airport). We then got a cab to the hotel from the drop off point and the cab was Euros 14.

If you want some good cheap eateries come out of the hotel and down to the main road, turn right and the street on the right has lots of pizza places (all you will get in Rome is pizza and pasta as far as we could see). We paid Euros 9 for a pizza and Euros 8 for pasta and the drinks were UK prices - this, although across a busy road, looked into St Peters square and we sat and listened to the Vatican bells while sipping a G&T and eating delicious pizza. Perfect in the evening sun!!

Got the hotel's car back to the airport which was extravagant at Euros 50 but I spent less than a third of what I thought I would so splashed out to be chauffeur driven.

Words of caution, not about the hotel, be on your guard. I had read about the pick pockets and I have never had any problems. We visited Villa Borghese which is a laid back beautiful park and walking back down the stairs by the obalisque my bag was opened and my purse taken. I didn't feel a thing. Luckily I knew my account number and phone number of my bank to cancel my cards straight away but you would be in trouble if not. I had some cash but kept most in the hotel safe so got away lightly. They do not exaggerate about the pickpockets they are world class! If I wasn't so p'd off I would have admired them. We stood at the bottom of the stairs shocked and there was a man sitting half way up watching the bags of people coming down like a hawk and sat there for ages. I didn't even notice him but please be on your guard as thieves don't look like thieves!

My advice would be keep your money in a different place in your bag. Put a dummy purse with some heavy coins in the top of your bag. Never take your passport out and be aware where your phone is at all times. Only take the money out you need for that day and keep a bit of paper with your bank's phone number and your account details on just in case. I had cancelled my cards within 10 minutes so that put my mind at rest.

The Vatican ticketing system is crazy. We were totally confused with the staff at the ticket desk they are hopeless. Either buy in advance or go with one of the many guides outside. We went to the Vatican museum (Euros 25) which is different to St Peter's basilica which is free to visit. We had skip the line tickets and the staff asked us what time we wanted to go into the Sistine chapel. Goodness knows why they do this as it's crazy! You have to walk 1km to the museum around the back of the Vatican. We did skip the line but as our time to visit the Sistine was 10.45am we rushed in and around and saw nothing to make our way there. We hit a massive amount of people and were almost carried along with the crowd and saw nothing!! You get to the Sistine chapel assuming there will be a guide to show the 10.45am people around but there is nothing and no-one. You just enter the chapel and as my friend and I are quite small, we were just claustraphobic in a tiny chapel of 1000 people. It's very strange. You can't go backwards so the whole time thing was a waste of time. Take no notice of it whatsoever (please feel free to comment and contradict me if this is wrong) just enjoy looking a whatever you want to and be prepared for a horrible squash at the Sistine. We went on Friday however, the Saturday queues were 10 fold to Friday so I can't imagine how horrible it is in there at the weekend. Maybe they take the time thing seriously then I don't know.

The bus tour is OK - there are no people now to guide you which is a real shame as the commentary which is heard through plug in headphones on the side of the bus it's slightly out so it says now here is the castel St'Angelo and you passed it two minutes ago. It's still lovely to see everything but take your guide book and just have a look what things are on your map too.

All in all a fabulous trip despite the theft. Would not hesitate to visit Rome again or stay at the Starhotels Michaelangelo.

Room Tip: Ask for room 122 it's great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JulesJones2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerMiche, Direttore at Starhotels Michelangelo, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

we thank you for the time dedicated to us in writing your review about our Starhotels Michelangelo, and hoping to welcome you again in our hotel for your next roman stay, we send you our best regards.

Mauro Polmonari
General Manager
Starhotels Michelangelo Roma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

Easter in Rome is busy. So we were glad to escape back to the Michelangelo. It's a 10 minute walk from the Vatican, you can see the dome of St Peter's if you lean out and look to the left of the balcony. The rooms have been refurbished and they are superb value for money.
Our little group had two twin rooms. The unusual open access wardrobes are actually really good.
The bathrooms are very large and immaculate. The bidet confused my teenage son.
Breakfast was excellent, certainly enough to keep the aforementioned teenager filled until early afternoon. If you ask the waiters or waitresses , of which there are plenty, they will bring you a freshly made cappuccino or latte, much nicer than the coffee on the buffet itself.
Reception is very light and airy, the staff were very helpful, and welcoming, even to the dumb tourist questions they must have heard a thousand times.
First night we had room service, out of necessity rather that choice, it was OK, could have been
quicker, warmer, but it was fine. Other than breakfast we did n't eat in the restaurant at the hotel, because we were usually out in the city. Just before leaving we did find a really good , family run restaurant just 3 mins walk away called 'Pausa' . Highly recommended. Really good food and really cheap, a rare combination in Rome.
Wifi was limited in the rooms, but adequate to download emails. We used the PC in reception to book museums and tours etc, which was ideal, they even printed off tickets and passes for free.
If you want to be close to the Vatican the hotel is ideal, we would definitely stay there again and I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We emailed the hotel direct to ensure we got twin beds. They emailed back and confirmed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerMiche, Direttore at Starhotels Michelangelo, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Dear Gill228,

We thank you very much for the review, about your stay in our Starhotels Michelangelo, and for the time dedicated to us. Every time we receive a positive impressions from our Guests, means that our mission, which is to give the best comfort and the best service have been reached!
Hoping to welcome you once more in Rome at the Starhotels Michelangelo we send you our best regards.

Starhotels Michelangelo Rome
Mauro Polmonari
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

Very good hotel, although very noisy at night. Breakfast is very average as the quality is not so good for a 4 stars. Frozen croissants, fruits from tins and so on. Eatable anyway. The location is convenient, and the room was fine. It is more than a 3 stars plus than 4.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexisDelimoge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerMiche, Direttore at Starhotels Michelangelo, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the time you dedicate to us, in reporting yours comments about Starhotels Michelangelo! We are sorry about the negative aspects indicated and we apologize if you were not completely satisfied. We assure anyway that we are working on it.
Hoping to welcome once again during your future stay in Rome, in the meantime we send you our best regards.

Mauro Polmonari
GM - Starhotels Michelangelo Roma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

This hotel provides everything you need and is located right next to the vatican. Minuses are the facts it is quite noisy and the wifi is very slow and complicated in set up. Price quality ratio is good and breakfast (for Italian standards) is fine.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rubenamsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerMiche, Direttore at Starhotels Michelangelo, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Rubenamst,

It’s such a pleasure to read your kind words regarding Starhotels Michelangelo.
Precious feedback and what guests might want to recommend is the key to improvement.
We regret if some aspects were not achieved and we will definitely work on what you’ve kindly pointed out in your comment to improve ourselves and our service.                               
We sincerely thank you for your time and hope to have the possibility of welcoming you and once again in Starhotels.

Best regards,
Mr Mauro Polmonari
General Manager
Starhotels Michelangelo Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairns
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Recently stayed at this beautifully refurbished hotel right at the doorstep of st peters clean, comfortable quiet and wonderful service highly recommend this hotel the dinning room offers big breakfast and lunch we had a special Spanish night what fun with the staff one young man has a wonderful voice I will always remember him

Room Tip: Our room was on first floor at back very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caseyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerMiche, Direttore at Starhotels Michelangelo, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Caseyp,

It’s such a pleasure to read your kind words regarding Starhotels Michelangelo and its staff, but most importantly,for dedicating some of your personal time to us. We are very happy to have contributed to making your stay in Rome a very nice one.
Your thoughts will be conveyed to my staff in a way of awarding such great service and dedication towards our guests.

We sincerely thank you for your time and hope to have the possibility of welcoming you and once again in Starhotels.

Best regards,
Mr Mauro Polmonari
General Manager
Starhotels Michelangelo Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe Woods, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

On a recent group (12) tour of Rome we stayed at the Michelangelo. Let me just say that the housekeeping staff and our room was great. The front desk staff was a problem from check in until their apology on Day 4. We also used the bar and found it to be so unfriendly that we walked over to another hotel to enjoy their services.
The hotel kept charging our credit cards random large amounts of money and our rooms were prepaid. When our leader tried to talk to management they were rude. Later my card was charged 3 x and I asked for help...again no help. Forget trying to use the internet for getting your boarding pass....hours! Very disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4400bishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerMiche, Direttore at Starhotels Michelangelo, responded to this review, April 2, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.
We strive to adhere to our guests every need above and beyond their expectations, and it is clear that we failed to achieve this aim on this occasion.
Please believe this is not the usual standard as we focus highly on great service and experience and we really apologize that we did not meet your expectations.
We appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention, and we sincerely hope this apology has gone someway to restoring your faith in the Starhotels Michelangelo, and we will be able to welcome you back to our property in the near future.

With our best regards

Andrea Trabace
General Manager
Starhotels Michelangelo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Starhotels Metropole
Starhotels Metropole
#167 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Residenza Paolo VI
Residenza Paolo VI
#118 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel della Conciliazione
Hotel della Conciliazione
#60 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vatican / Borgo
Vatican View
Vatican View
#34 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Hotel Alimandi Vaticano
#56 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Prati
NH Collection Roma Giustiniano
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starhotels Michelangelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels Michelangelo

Property: Starhotels Michelangelo
Address: Via della Stazione di San Pietro 14, 00165 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#87 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#136 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#160 Business Hotel in Rome
#172 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels Michelangelo 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 star design hotel in the heart of baroque Rome, is just moments from the Vatican and offers views across to St. Peter's Dome. Its style is inspired by the same Italian spirit, personal touch, and attention to detail of its namesake: the grandmaster of Renaissance art. The Sistine Chapel is just steps away and we're walking distance to many historic wonders such as Colosseum and Castel Saint Angelo. Our completely renovated hotel is a triumph of traditional design , with 179 rooms and suites. The Dome restaurant serves superb international and Roman cuisine. Come and stay in an incredible location and enjoy the very best of the eternal city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Starhotels Michelangelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Michelangelo Hotel Rome
Starhotel Michelangelo Rome
Starhotel Michelangelo Hotel Rome
Star Hotel Michelangelo Rome
Hotel Michelangelo Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing