We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely view of the Vatican!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Starhotels Michelangelo
Ranked #152 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely view of the Vatican!”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Rome is a terribly dirty & chaotic city now, but this hotel really made up for all things bad during our short visit around town. We had a room on the 4th floor with a lovely view of St.Peter's Basilica from the balcony, and the view is particularly beautiful at night! Don't bother looking for restaurants nearby, there were none that looked good enough to try. Be sure to check out the little pizzerias around the corner instead - really thin & crispy pizza and great value for money.

Room Tip: Insist for a room with a view! We stayed on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nuic44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerMiche, Direttore at Starhotels Michelangelo, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your review and expressing your opinion about Starhotels Michelangelo.
It’ a pleasure for us to read about the positive impressions received during your stay in Rome about our hotel service and Starhotels’ hospitality!
We sincerely hope to welcome you once again in the “Caput Mundi”.
Best regards

Mauro Polmonari
General Manager
Starhotels Michelangelo Roma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    432
    104
    24
    17
See reviews for
243
471
32
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We travelled by taxi minibus from the airport- if you share with other travellers it is much cheaper (20E) than getting a taxi (80E) and can be booked for return journey. Transfer time approx 30 mins.
Arrived at Michaelangelo mid morning. Reception quick, easy and helpful with bus timetables, maps and directions. Our room was at the back of the hotel but we still had a view of St Peters basilica. The rooms are fantastic with modern fixtures and fittings and well designed, the bathroom is lush with a lovely variety of toiletries. My friend and I were given a double room but each bed although pushed together was at least a 3/4 and these and the pillows were the comfiest I have ever slept in. The aircon' and mini-fridge (expensively stocked) were noiseless. There are tea/coffee facilities replenished daily, but no room service. The TV has only a couple of English channels but who wants telly when you're in Rome! Slippers/dressing gown provided but unsure if these were complimentary. We were B&B basis. Breakfast is continental with all the usual fair, there are scrambled eggs, bacon and 'hotdog' sausages too. The hotel is only a few minutes walk from The Vatican, beware the roads are busy so use the crossings. We only used the hop on/off bus (No 62) once as we waited 20 minutes for it to arrive and you can walk to the Emmanuel Monument in 25 mins. If you are fit and able all the sights (many are free and can be seen from the outside) are within walking distance and we found this the best way to get about. Plan your days well as there is much to see and do. The Vatican website will publish dates/times when the Pope is appearing in public.
The restaurant in Michaelangelo is very expensive. We found cafe's and pavement restaurants much cheaper and great for people watching. September was still busy but queueing times are greatly reduced for the main pay to enter attractions. Rome is awesome, we loved it and will definitely return-we threw two coins each in the Trevi Fountain to make sure!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shropshiregal17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerMiche, Direttore at Starhotels Michelangelo, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

It’s a great pleasure to read about your comment regarding your stay in Rome, and the positive impression received from our Starhotels Michelangelo.
Thanking you for the time dedicated to us, we hope to welcome you once more in a near future.

Mauro Polmonari
General Manager
Starhotels Michelangelo Roma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Only booked this because it had a 'Vatican View'. Looked everywhere couldn't see it. Asked reception and they explained that the hotel doesn't even face the vatican. Later I discovered that if I lean over the balcony and look to the left I can just make out the top of St. Peters Basilica. I suppose I wouldn't have been so upset if the staff didn't make me feel stupid for expecting a view of the vatican after paying extra for a 'Vatican View'. They also told me the hotel doesn't have double beds so my girlfriend and I had to push the twin beds together. It wasn't comfortable at all and I can't believe that a four star hotel doesn't even have double beds???

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank AnthonyLaing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerMiche, Direttore at Starhotels Michelangelo, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear AntonyLa,

Thanks for the time you dedicate to us, in reporting yours comments about Starhotels Michelangelo! We are sorry about the negative aspects indicated and we apologize if you were not completely satisfied.
Regarding the view as you can see from the picture our website the S. Peter's Basilica it's on the left side and into the description of the rooms we says: "some with a view of St. Peter's Dome". We never talk of front view.
Concerning the king size beds our choice belongs to the Italian tradition where the matrimonial bed is made with 2 separate beds joint together.

Starhotels Michelangelo Rome
Mauro Polmonari
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

My friend and I booked a single room each but were given a double each. It has been recently refurbished and the standard and quality of fittings is very high. Spotlessly cleaned each day and the staff are courteous and unobtrusive. That said, nothing was too much trouble if asked for. Each room had a noiseless mini bar fridge. The Vatican is just around the corner and the rest of Rome easy to get to. Lots of eating places nearby. Very comfortable bed, no noise, air conditioning. The breakfast had a wide selection of food. Cannot recommend this hotel too highly. Perfect!

Room Tip: Even the cheaper rooms are excellent, but paying extra will get you a little extra (eg bath and show...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elainelaurence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerMiche, Direttore at Starhotels Michelangelo, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your review and expressing your opinion about Starhotels Michelangelo.
It’ a pleasure for us to read about the positive impressions received during your stay in Rome about our hotel service and "Starhotels" hospitality!
We sincerely hope to welcome you once again in the “Eternal City”.
Best regards

Mauro Polmonari
General Manager
Starhotels Michelangelo Roma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed a night here and it is a very nice and clean hotel with a great staff just blocks from the Vatican. The rooms are modern and being our first time in Italy we really liked it. I would defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ticomex66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerMiche, Direttore at Starhotels Michelangelo, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

It’s such a pleasure to read your kind words regarding our hotel and its staff, but most importantly, for dedicating some of your personal time to us.
We are very happy to contribute to make your stay in Rome a memorable one, and we do hope to Welcome you in the near future!

Best regards,

Mauro Polmonari
General Manager
Starhotels Michelangelo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The hotel quality, service, location was outstanding. Our room with a view was impeccable, clean, bathroom updated. I was traveling with my sister, and we had to quickly change the originally booked hotel. Michelangelo was a surprising find, exceeded our expectations. I would definitely return. Breakfast was great, convenient location, very short walk to Vatican Museums. I am in hospitality industry myself, and would not hesitate to recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita_H_1917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerMiche, Direttore at Starhotels Michelangelo, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

It’s such a pleasure to read your kind words regarding our hotel and its staff, but most importantly, for dedicating some of your personal time to us.
We are very happy to contribute to make your stay in Rome a memorable one, and we do hope to welcome you in the next future!
Best regards,

Mauro Polmonari
General Manager
Starhotels Michelangelo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The proximity to St. Peter's and the Vatican was the first reason we selected this hotel for 6 nights. It was perfect! The newly renovated hotel provided clean and comfortable updated rooms, bathrooms and bedding. We had both a classic room and superior rooms and both were comfortable and sufficient for days of touring and evenings of quiet sleep. We didn't hear others in the rooms next door and even the hallway. The windows opened for fresh air and the room ventilation was very quiet and efficient. The breakfast was perfect and full of options. All staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. The front desk personnel were fiendly and helpful in directing us to the correct bus or metro for our outings that weren't within walking distance. Overall, a fantastic find and we had a great value the week before the holidays.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAMUparent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerMiche, Direttore at Starhotels Michelangelo, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for the review, about your stay in our Starhotels Michelangelo, and for the time dedicated to us. Every time we receive a positive impressions from our Guests, means that our mission, which is to give the best comfort and the best service have been reached!
Hoping to welcome you once more in Rome at the Starhotels Michelangelo we send you our best regards.

Mauro Polmonari
General Manager
Starhotels Michelangelo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel della Conciliazione
Hotel della Conciliazione
#59 of 1,257 in Rome
619 reviews
Esquilino
Starhotels Metropole
Starhotels Metropole
#163 of 1,257 in Rome
2,180 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Residenza Paolo VI
Residenza Paolo VI
#117 of 1,257 in Rome
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vatican / Borgo
Vatican View
Vatican View
#33 of 1,257 in Rome
726 reviews
Hotel Alimandi Vaticano
#57 of 1,257 in Rome
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starhotels Michelangelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels Michelangelo

Property: Starhotels Michelangelo
Address: Via della Stazione di San Pietro 14, 00165 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#91 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#136 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#160 Business Hotel in Rome
#172 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels Michelangelo 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 star design hotel in the heart of baroque Rome, is just moments from the Vatican and offers views across to St. Peter's Dome. Its style is inspired by the same Italian spirit, personal touch, and attention to detail of its namesake: the grandmaster of Renaissance art. The Sistine Chapel is just steps away and we're walking distance to many historic wonders such as Colosseum and Castel Saint Angelo. Our completely renovated hotel is a triumph of traditional design , with 179 rooms and suites. The Dome restaurant serves superb international and Roman cuisine. Come and stay in an incredible location and enjoy the very best of the eternal city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Starhotels Michelangelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Michelangelo Hotel Rome
Starhotel Michelangelo Rome
Starhotel Michelangelo Hotel Rome
Star Hotel Michelangelo Rome
Hotel Michelangelo Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing