We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“No Complaints - Everything was great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Relais Castrum Boccea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Relais Castrum Boccea
Ranked #419 of 1,287 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“No Complaints - Everything was great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We had a brilliant holiday here. We had read previous reviews about the hotel shuttle that would pick us up from the airport so I contacted them to enquire. They were so helpful and picked us up (it's cheaper than a normal taxi). Once arriving we were met with the fantastic location and lovely staff. We were then shown to our room which was amazing. Nice and big and the bed was very comfy. Also, we didn’t hear any noise from our room (101). We used the shuttle into the centre both days and it’s well worth it. It’s cheap and reliable. It takes you there about 9 and picks you up at 7 so you get a nice long day there - may sound like a long time but doesn’t feel it. Rome itself was great, made me glad that we weren’t staying in the centre though as it’s so busy and at the hotel it’s so peaceful. We ate at the hotel restaurant one night and it was lovely, not too much choice but it was good and not bad value. Much better than the pizza place down the road! We tried there as there were so many good reviews on here, after being unsure if it was open or not, we got a seat in this big empty restaurant with no one else there. The food was awful.... Frozen readymade starter and the pizzas were burnt and very salty, however it was very cheap. I would not recommend this place. Tip - the beer in the mini fridge in your room is cheaper than the beer from room service or at the bar.

Room Tip: Room 101 was lovely - no noise problems, our own space outside with a table and chairs and a view ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marshall500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    77
    29
    15
    14
See reviews for
59
162
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel when visiting Rome at Easter. The hotel itself is in a lovely spot, away from Rome (approx 40 mins via shuttle bus) in the peaceful countryside. Our room was adequate and clean. It was fairly quiet when we were there so we didn't experience any noise from other guests. The breakfasts were fantastic although the staff didn't understand much basic English if you asked for anything a little different. My husband wanted boiling water to make his own cup of tea (as they only serve coffee) but was given warm water. It was sorted eventually and put right the next day and subsequent days but was hard work initially.

We had one meal at the hotel restaurant in the evening which was so disappointing. There were a lot of local visitors that evening so it was very busy and sadly very understaffed. This resulted in poor service and wrong meals being served. The whole thing was so bad we ended up getting our money back and an offer of a free meal the next night - which I have to say was of much better quality but poor in terms of value for money.

Our inital complaint wasn't handled well and was left to be sorted out the following morning rather than on the evening the problems happened. Yes, we got a free meal so the hotel could show they can get it right but for this class of hotel it should be right first time!

My other gripe was when we paid our final bill on leaving. We had an email from the hotel with vouchers for our transport to and from the airport (a very good service). An extra 30 euros was added to the bill despite us being given vouchers and already quoted for this before we went on holiday. I was asked to refer this to the Manager but nothing was done about it.

These two incidents (for want of a better term) and the way they were mishandled in our opinion brought the hotel very much down in our estimation.

Rome itself was amazing and I would recommend it to anyone but I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DancerKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was the highlight of our trip. It was very very beautiful and definitely worth the money. I actually thought it was inexpensive for what we received. Every morning their was an ample breakfast. I can't say it was continental because EVERYTHING was available from fresh fruit salad to meats, cheeses, sweet rolls, croissants, cakes, eggs and CAPPECCINO or expresso to order. Loved it. The room was nice - VERY CLEAN! I am surprised at some of the things folks are saying because we were there seven nights and each was terrific. The food was delicious - we ate at the restaurant three of the seven nights. My favorite thing, however, was the black and white cat who lived on the property; Sweet and always a friendly greeting at dinner.

Room Tip: Relax and enjoy yourself!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valjalo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Me and my boyfriend recently spent a few weeks travelling around Europe and this was the hotel we were most looking forward to with its 4* rating, this was going to be our luxury for a couple of days! The Grounds really are beautiful and the first impression was very good. HOWEVER, We were not shown to our rooms, a key was thrust into our hands and a point indicated where our room was, the staff were blunt and quite unhelpful. The room itself was not 4* quality, it was in great need of decorating! Walls really were paper thin, and were situated right next to the restaurant so the quality of sleep was awful. Im sure if you've paid for the very best suites then you will get the luxury that this hotel boasts to have, it seems this hotel puts all their efforts into functions rather than the hotel side of things. All in all it was our worst stay and a huge disappointment.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stevie-Leigh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klosterneuburg, Austria
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Everything could have been sooo beautiful...

We had a really nice room (Number 115) right on top of the mountain. A Knight's Armor was placed next to the entrance of our room, the breakfast was delicious, a white horse was walking through the adjacent woods (literally!!!) and you could hear the birds singing the whole morning - as well as you could hear your neighbors snoring the whole night, or talking, or whatever they would do in their room. (if you don't care, just add an additional point to the rating)

Room Tip: If you stay there and want to get some sleep make sure that you get a quiet room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thel4mb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We're from UK and stayed here 3 nights and absolutely loved it.. it's really beautiful, you can see that it would be a great place to have weddings at - it's got real character. The shuttle bus (about 40 minutes or so depending on the traffic in Rome centre), which did a pick-up/drop off at the corner of Piazza del Risorgimento and Via de Porta Angelica, was great. We enjoyed the contrast of having days in the city and and peace and tranquility in the middle of the Italian countryside to look forward to in the evening. We booked a basic room and it was that but it was nice enough and had everything you'd want. There was a lovely breakfast buffet with fantastic fresh fruit salad everyday and pastries, yoghurt, cereal, cheese, meat etc. With this hotel at this price you make the choice between staying in the centre of Rome in a more basic hotel or staying in a nicer hotel with the disadvantage of being 30-40 minutes drive away. We didn't hear any barking dogs and we didn't stay at a weekend so probably missed out on any noise from wedding parties as previous reviews have mentioned. We found the staff helpful and we thought this hotel was really good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Littlemisshappy166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The place is wonderfull,room fantastic breakfast very rich with omelette and bacon and a lot of cake and ciliac corner. Restaurant was fantastic thank you Vincenzo the best maitre!!!!!
Shuttle bus perfect, everything was good! !!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank georgy1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
4.0 mi away
Hotel Selva Candida
Hotel Selva Candida
#351 of 1,287 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 353 reviews
4.9 mi away
Resort la Rocchetta
Resort la Rocchetta
#279 of 1,287 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 148 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hotel La Genziana
Hotel La Genziana
#393 of 1,287 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Piccolo Borgo
Piccolo Borgo
#276 of 1,287 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 737 reviews
12.1 mi away
Hotel Lodi
Hotel Lodi
#225 of 1,287 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 475 reviews
10.2 mi away
Hotel Castle
Hotel Castle
#96 of 1,287 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Castrum Boccea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Castrum Boccea

Property: Relais Castrum Boccea
Address: Via SS. Mario e Marta 27, 00166 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Gianicolense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#146 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#213 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#245 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Castrum Boccea 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the Roman countryside just 30 minutes from downtown is the "Castrum Boccea" a historic medieval relay turned into a hotel.Thanks to a restoration can have a look at history and relive the glories of bygone days. Surrounded by lush vegetation provides ample space inside and outside, ideal for weddings, business meetings and stay in complete relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Relais Castrum Boccea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Castrum Boccea Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing