We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel which made the holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Relais Castrum Boccea
Ranked #418 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel which made the holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

We were initially a bit anxious about booking the hotel as it appeared to be a bit out of Roma. Although the initial taxi driver found it a bit tricky to find, the convenient shuttle service provided by the hotel meant that this was overcome. In fact the setting of the hotel in the countryside was lovely and very picturesque. The staff at the hotel were very helpful and went out of there way to ensure we were happy - this included a visit to us at 230am as I had changed the settings on the air con. The rooms were clean and had real character. We ate at the restaurant one evening and although it was relatively pricey, the food was delicious and we enjoyed picking the wine from the wine cellar. Afterwards the staff showed us the honeymoon suite because they thought we would like to see the other rooms. This friendly touch and the staff chatting to us and giving us the tour was very much appreciated. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eilidh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    85
    31
    15
    15
See reviews for
66
168
4
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

Stayed for one night recently in a classic room, would certainly stay again.
The hotel is away from the hustle of central Rome and only half an hour from Fiumicino airport.
Only slight negative was the prices in the restaurant, not cheap even by roman standards.
Stunning renovation of the medieval buildings to create a beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GM157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbaek, Denmark
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

We had booked a non refundable 2 night stay- over for my cousins wedding at this hotel and had looked very much forward to going. But our flying agency went bancrupt and we lost the rather expensive tickets and the chance of going.
Although the stay-over was already paid for and we signed that it was non-refundable, after a short correspondance with this hotel, they transferred the money back. We are very grateful for this as a good-hearted experience on top of a rather bad one.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DZHansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
odense, denmark
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Because of the bad weather in Denmark, we took a quick decition, a 5 dayes trip to Rome. We have been to Rome before, so we don't want to see all the tourist place again. We just want to strolled around the city, and relaxe in the evening, outside Rome. With help from Trip advisor we just found the perfect place: Relais Castrum Boccea. It was a marvellous place, quit and peacefull, very romantic and the staff was very, very polite and serviceminded. The restaurant was very good, a little bit expensive, not so many dishes, but worth every Euro. We got the best meal on our holiday in that restaurant. We love to wake up every morning with the sound of bird, instead of the sound of garbits men in Rome center. After two dayes in Rome we spent a day in the garden and we really relaxed. Of course it is a bit out of Rome, but the Hotel has a Shuttle bus every day, and it is a good service. The room was also vry nice and the bathroom was excellent. If we will visit Rome again, we will stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lise-FC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

I can't say enough good things about this place. It is an oasis a little out of Rome. It has a medieval feel about it due to the fact that it is. They bought the old place and completely renovated and worked with a lot of the original walls, just beautiful. Ask for a tour, it's great. If you have a rental it's excellent. No worries for parking, secure and plenty of parking. The rooms are beautiful and very clean. The shower drains and has amazing pressure, a miracle for Italy. For me, it would have been perfection if I could get internet from my room. The restaurant there is amazing. The food is excellent and the waitress is the sweetest and most attentive you could ask for. The chef's specialty ,eggplant, is best have ever had. Do have the Chef's menu , $30.00 or $40.00. Share it because it's way too much food for one. It includes 6 courses, and one bottle of wine and one bottle of water. For two, and believe me, you have too much food even if you take one for two people. The gardens and patios with a view of the Roman countryside is truely breathtaking. There are lots of places on the grounds to sit and relax and enjoy the fresh air and flowers. Next summer they will build a pool, this will make the place absolutely perfect. I highly recommend this hotel, for peace and quiet you just can't imagine possible so close to Rome. We were there at the beginning of our holiday with my sister and brother-in-law, and we had such a great time that we booked it for our last night in Rome since it's close to the airport, about 40 minutes.
I want to thank the wonderful staff for making us feel so welcome. Sonia from Canada

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank silviacafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here a few weeks ago and found this to be a lovely, peaceful hotel in the country side. Our room was clean and breakfast was plentiful. This is a perfect hotel for those who do not like the hustle and bustle of central Rome. There is a shuttle service for 5 euros that takes you into central Rome however it only drops you off at 9:30am and does not pick you up until 8:00pm that night. If you have an early or late flight this would not be the hotel to stay at unless you don't mind paying about 55 euros for the trip to the hotel. For those who do not mind being dropped off early and picked up later in the evening, this is the best hotel and option. The staff is also very helpful and speak excellent English. Absolutely beautiful!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marleemar18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

Stayed 30/04/12 to 02/05/12. Lovely hotel outside of central Rome, which was accessible daily by transport arranged by hotel @ 5 euro each way. Very friendly staff especially Maria - Reception - and Marco in bar & restaurant. Would definitely stay again and recommend to my friends.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mjanet1709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
15.7 mi away
All Ways Garden Hotel & Leisure
16.3 mi away
Piccolo Borgo
Piccolo Borgo
#305 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Selva Candida
Hotel Selva Candida
#398 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Domidea Hotel
Domidea Hotel
#213 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
4.9 mi away
Resort la Rocchetta
Resort la Rocchetta
#314 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
15.2 mi away
Hotel Artis
Hotel Artis
#358 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Castrum Boccea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Castrum Boccea

Property: Relais Castrum Boccea
Address: Via SS. Mario e Marta 27, 00166 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Gianicolense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#25 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#145 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#220 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#243 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Castrum Boccea 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the Roman countryside just 30 minutes from downtown is the "Castrum Boccea" a historic medieval relay turned into a hotel.Thanks to a restoration can have a look at history and relive the glories of bygone days. Surrounded by lush vegetation provides ample space inside and outside, ideal for weddings, business meetings and stay in complete relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Relais Castrum Boccea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Castrum Boccea Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing