We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Park Hotel dei Massimi
Ranked #384 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed February 14, 2013

- very basic and dated hotel which is situated out side of the city. Hotel provide a shuttle bus to take residents to the Vatican City or the Metro.
- room was clean and tidy but very basic (no tea/coffee)
- wall were covered in material! I presume this was to assist in the reduction of noise for neighbouring rooms. 3 night stay only managed to sleep one of the nights. The patrician between the rooms was so thin you could hear the conversation of the occupants on either side.
- all the staff bar one were very friendly.
-breakfast was a good spread ( But if your a vegetarian you limited to toast and pastries).
- hotel menu was also limited on the veggie front, on two of our 3 night stay there was only one waiter who was rushed off his feet, so you could be waiting up to 15-20 mins to order your drink and about 40-45 min wait for your food after you've placed your order.

Room Tip: Ask for one without noisy neighbours!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brannetti, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Park Hotel dei Massimi, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Ruby M,
Thank you for appreciating the room’s cleanliness and tidiness .
Thanks for pointing out the availability of our staff.
We are very sorry for the wait complained in the bar / restaurant service and the lack of vegetarian options but to drive down prices without sacrificing quality in the low season, we decreased the staff ( so, service is a tiny bit slow ) and we’ve deleted products consumed less (which in this off-season and should be thrown a few customers), such as vegetarian dishes . But let us learn from what our customers tell us, we will inform the chef to offer, while still, vegetarian dishes .
Best regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (625)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

150 - 156 of 625 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed at Park Hotel dei Massimi for 3 night at the end of January 2013/beginning of February 2013.

Having never visited Rome before we were slightly unsure of the whereabouts of the hotel but understood it was slightly out of the city centre behind Vatican City. The main reason we booked the hotel is because the reviews were great and the hotel offered a free shuttle service in to the city centre.

Upon arriving at the hotel we were shown straight to our room (ahead of normal check in time) which was located on the 3rd floor of the hotel. We were also given the option for a room upgrade for 20Euros per night which we decided not to take as we do not often spend long enough in the hotel on city breaks!

The bedroom we were allocated was perfect. Great size room, bed and bathroom complete with bath tub. The only addition which some people may like is tea and coffee making facilities, this did not bother us though as we were happy to go down to the bar and order drinks there.

The staff at the hotel were very helpful and friendly and greeted us every time with a warm smile and hello.

Breakfast at the hotel was brilliant and always well stocked. Pastries, ham, cheese, bread, rolls, yoghurts, cereal, herbal tea, coffee, juice, eggs, bacon etc were all available and fresh.

We had dinner at the hotel on 2 occasions, the food was excellent and very cheap compared to the centre of Rome.

The shuttle bus leaves at 3 different times in the morning (8:30am, 9:30am and 10:30am). The reception staff take the bookings the day before or last minute depending on if there is space. The bus stops at the Vatican Museum or the Metro so handy to get around on a day out! There is 1 shuttle back in the evening which collects on the outskirts of the Vatican at 7:30pm. There are also numerous buses (ask at reception) which travel up and down the hill, the bus stop is a 2 minute walk from the hotel which we caught a few times.

All in all our stay at the hotel was brilliant and I would recommend to anyone on a budget who doesn’t mind staying slightly out of the centre, wants a comfortable room with all the amenities and staff with a smile!

We will definitely stay again on our next visit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vbostridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brannetti, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Park Hotel dei Massimi, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear Guest,
we are very pleased that you have noticed staff availability. Breakfast is Park Hotel dei Massimi " flagship " , we always try to meet the needs of our customers. About your dinner, the first quality beef makes the difference ! Try the “Nizzarda Sirloin “ next time please with a 10% discount!
Sorry that you haven't found the good weather usually characterizing Rome and makes it a unique city !
Hoping to see you again without rain!
Best regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We had a wonderfull stay in this hotel, the staff were great. We asked for a kettle and cups and they were in our room in 5 minutes. . The breakfast was very good the eggs and bacon my husband enjoyed while i enjoyed all the other choices.The used the shuttle bus every day which was a great help.We would definitely stay there again. We visited so many of the lovely places Rome has to offer and met some very nice people.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pam b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brannetti, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Park Hotel dei Massimi, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear Pam B,
Thank you very much for your positive comments and to have tried the room service and the shuttle bus.
We would like to remember our customers that the shuttle bus service needs booking the day before.
We’ll be glad to have you again as our guests.
Best regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We found that the hotel was welcoming, the rooms clean and large enough for the two of us staying. Bed was comfortable, the main thing we would ask for is for some tea and coffee making facilities in the room.
The reception staff were very helpful in recommending places to visit and how to get there. The shuttle bus was very handy to take us to either the Vatican or nearest Metro station (both about 2 miles away). It always left on time at 9.30AM, except on one occasion, when it left over 5 minutes late which meant that we really had to rush to catch a coach to Sienna for the day.
The breakfasts were good, plenty to chose from, although we were never tempted by the hot food. Cereals, fruit, bread and bread rolls, cold meats, cheese etc etc.
We had one dinner there and the chateaubriand steak for two was excellent - however we were disappointed that the vegetables were sparse and that the only potato choice was chips (fries for the US visitors).
Our stay in Rome in January had mixed weather - a lovely day when we had a guided tour of the Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peters Basilica. But then a wet, cold day for our walk around the Colleseum, Palatine Hill and Forum. The architecture, ancient and not so modern, was breathtaking, the churches magnificent - it was our first trip to Rome and we loved it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BarnOwls29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brannetti, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Park Hotel dei Massimi, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear friend,
We’re very glad that you’ve found our room nice for you !
We always try to improve our services , so breakfast buffet must be at the top as our staff must be polite and friendly.
Thank for appreciating our shuttle bus service and pointed out times and bus stop.
We’ll wait for you as our welcome guest.
Best regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Lovely staff (and resident cat) who were very helpful and cheery. Our room was clean, warm and loads of hot water at all times. The hotel is located in a lovely neighborhood with interesting local shops and a great restaurant about ten minutes walk away, the Ristorante il Ciodo Fisso. Our room at the back had a balcony overlooking the gardens and was very peaceful. We used the shuttle bus to get into Rome in the mornings, but used the local buses to get back (10-15 mins) depending on time of day. We tended to come back at about 6pm and then get the bus back in at about 8 pm for dinner. The buses run until about midnight, so plenty of time for dinner in the center of Rome. We stayed for three nights and we would definitely stay again as the whole experience of the hotel really enhanced our visit to this beautiful city.

Room Tip: Rooms at front are sunnier, but room214 at teh back was very well appointed and tranquil
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kjb59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Went for 3 nights earlier this month with a friend and it was incredible!!
The staff were so nice and so helpful.
There's a shuttle bus to the Vatican to either go there or get the metro.
Best few days away ever!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catherinealicex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brannetti, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Park Hotel dei Massimi, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear CatherineAlicex,
thank you very much for your positive comments . We’re always glad when our staff was appreciated ! It’s very important for us that the staff is nice and helpful.
Hoping to see you again, best regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

My husband researched quite a few hotels before we chose this one, we stayed there in March 2012, when we got there 12 pm they said our room was ready, this was a nice room and very clean we booked the free shuttle service into Rome which the hotel provides. The staff are very helpfull with anything we requested and the breakfast had plenty of choice. We liked it so much we are going again in March to the same hotel this year as Italy is my favorite place in the world and can't wait to go back to Rome. I would highly recommend this hotel see you in March!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jbaker40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brannetti, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Park Hotel dei Massimi, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear Kjb 59,
thank you very much to have enjoyed our hotel and services. We are happy that you have pointed out the cleaning of the room and staff availability. Thank you from our cat, she lives here from 2005 ! She’s a lovely cat ! But she enjoys free room and board as opposed to our customers !
We look forward to have you as our guest
Best regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Zone
Hotel Zone
#541 of 1,271 in Rome
668 reviews
8 mi away
Hotel Artis
Hotel Artis
#470 of 1,271 in Rome
675 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Clodio
Hotel Clodio
#504 of 1,271 in Rome
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
IH Hotels Roma Z3
IH Hotels Roma Z3
#315 of 1,271 in Rome
484 reviews
0.6 mi away
Excel Hotel Roma Montemario
2 mi away
Casa La Salle - Casa per Ferie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel dei Massimi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel dei Massimi

Address: Largo Vincenzo Ambrosio 9, 00136 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#90 Family Hotel in Rome
#210 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#229 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $52 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel dei Massimi 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Hotel dei Massimi is a four star family - owned hotel in Rome located near the Vatican City and Sistine Chapel. The hotel is ideal for tourists, travelers and businessmen that need a peaceful noiseless hotel steps from the center Rome and a neighborhood very friendly and safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Hotel dei Massimi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing