We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Rotella nel Sacco
Ranked #906 of 3,762 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Our lovely stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

We had a lovely stay at this hotel. We thought the hostess Margherita was very nice. Within minutes of arriving she provided us with a map and advice on the local area which was a helpful personal touch (a service that you were unlikely to get from a chain hotel).

The room was spacious, clean and we were provided with a wide selection of breakfast snacks. The hotel is well located being a 10 minute walk away from termini (the central station). It is roughly a 20 minute walk to the main attractions in Rome notably the Colosseum. Only drawback was the road noise (standard for Rome) which was largely mitigated by closing the shutters.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone who is visiting Rome on a tight budget. They provide a service that was worthy of a much higher price. We also suggest visiting Rome in November as there were very few queues to get into a lot of the main attractions such the Vatican and the Colosseum.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    36
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
25
43
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

My daughter and i arrived and were shown to our room, within 10 minutes we had a map, book of details and events for October, the information with regards to buses and other info such as areas not advisable to venture, a truly wonderful host, excellent rooms, clean and tidy. The location is a little noisy but the shutters and windows help. (Rome is amazingly noisy everywhere!)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madosani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

My Mother and I stayed at La Rotella Nel Sacco Hotel at the end of September for 3 Nights.

This is a wonderful Hotel. The owners are a Mother a Daughter. The Daughter (Margherita) was so , so helpful. When we arrived she sat us down and gave us loads of useful information like which Buses, Trams and Metro to catch to get to certain places, which was so helpful. She gave us a map with notes on and circled the hot spot tourist sites. Margherita also advised us good places to eat that were just around the corner.

The room was very clean when we arrived and then were cleaned every day.

The Hotel was ideally located with Tram and bus stops just literally around the corner and not too far from Termini- I would advise getting a Taxi from Termini to the Hotel when you first arrive (less stressful) and only costs about 10 Euros

There was a fantastic little place to eat just around the corner called ‘RED Ristorante Pizzeria’ , we sat outside as it was still really warm in the evening. The food and wine was great and so reasonably priced and the staff are fabulous so welcoming, we like it so much that we went there 2 nights in a row.

We flew into Fiumicino Airport and there are a few ways to get into Rome you can take a taxi (approx. 50 euros) The Train (14 euros each way per person) or the Shuttle bus called Terravision which is 8 Euros return per person, this is what we did it took about an hour, but the bus is a coach and is fully air conditioned- and the drive is a nice scenic drive. The Terravision drops you at Termini Station.

We did lots and lots of sightseeing and the one thing I would really recommend is getting a tour guide when you get to the Vatican City, there are tour guide touts outside, Yes it is more expensive it’s around 40 euros each (although you can barter with them as we got if for roughly half price) vs 15 euros each to get in!! but the tour guide also means you skip the well over an hour queuing to get in and plus we learnt so much for the tour guide things we would never have known if we went on our own. Oh and another piece of really important advice is that for the Vatican city and the Sistine chapel you must have your knees and shoulders covered if you have a summer dress on above your knees they will not let you in!!

We also got a tour guide at the Colosseum , this was only an extra 5 euros per person and meant we learnt more and again did not have to queue- hooray

I would definitely recommend going to Rome and I would definitely recommend La Rotella Nel Sacco Hotel.

I hope my review has been helpful

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank StacyJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We (2 adults & 1 child) stayed in Margerieta's room only accomodation September 2012. Our 1st visit to Rome & our 4days where a fantastic. Margerieta was a wonderful host & supplied valuable information on our arrival. The accomodation was immaculate and what I would descride as boutique without fancy price tags. 5 minutes from Termini train station/bus/metro links. Outside La rotella nel sacco you can get buses & trams to anywhere in Rome.
Our room only was excellent value for money. In addition Margeriet left enough cakes/pastries/tea/coffee etc for our entire stay at no extra cost. Beds were comfortable with quality linen and bathroom modern & supplied with nice soaps etc. Hairdryer in room along with trouser stand. remote controlled air conditioning.Recomended to friends & family.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soozii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ploiesti, Romania
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

We spent 3 days in June, we had room at first floor. Room and bathroom are very well equipped, clean and well maintained, everything you need is there and it was enough room for 3 persons. Beds were comfortable, aircon working properly, has a mini fridge, the room was cleaned every day etc. But the most important "asset" is the way Margherita, our lovely host, explained to us everything we need to know as 3 days tourists in Roma: buses, trams, night buses, metro, 3 days ticket, Roma pass, where is the supermarket, where to go to eat, Vatican, Trastevere etc. She prepared a set of info for us (which we took with us every day) and this proved to be of great help.
It is the first time when we met such a dedicated host and I use this opportunity to thank her again.
We could park the car for free just on the other side of the road and it was fine, so another big plus.
The only downside worthwhile mentioning is the location: near a busy and noisy plazza, with trams, buses and heavy traffic since 5:30 am until evening. We could see many immigrants in the area, however we felt safe all the time, even in the late evening.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dnicules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

Myself and my partner enjoyed three fabulous days in Rome, to begin with we were warmly welcomed by the extremely friendly and helpful Margherita who upon our arrival took the time to point out local attractions and the best modes of transport to get to each part.
Our room was spacious enough, the bed extremely comfortable, the decor very tasteful, the shower room with toilet was modern and very clean. The shower itself was powerful.
Although there was no breakfast in this hotel, Margherita directed us towards a local supermarket (5 mins away) we were able to fill our fridge with short stay essentials or wander to local cafe's.
The hotel itself was in a perfect location for transport, 20 min walk from Termini or 5 minute tram/bus ride, from the Porta Maggiore you can pretty much get to anywhere in Rome direct or via Termini.
All modes of transport where right on our doorstep, if we had to compalin about anything it would be that our room was on the main street and traffic could be heard at most hours of the day - but Rome is a bustling noisy city and we accepted it, it did not detract from our stay at all.
La Rotella nel Sacco suited us down to the ground - on a relative budget, we wanted to spend our well earned cash on experiencing Rome, and were prepared to stay in not so fabulous places. We were delighted however with the high standard of cleanliness, location and quality accomodation that this hotel offered. We will definately rerturn to Rome and wouldn't think twice about staying here again.

Room Tip: If possible, request a room that backs away from the main road - very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BeccaB81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

We had the second floor apartment and there was five of us. The property was of a high standard & spotless. bathrooms were compact and had a powerful shower, and washing machine. It included towels, linen, dishwasher, aircon, It is about 30min walk to the rail & bus station Termini, and you can get anywhere from there, including Valmontone, where the Fashion District is & the new Magic Rainbowland theme park. Margherita was our wonderful host and she was very helpful. I would highly recommend this apartment as it made our holiday!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bizzy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Gaia's Room B&B
Gaia's Room B&B
#782 of 3,762 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Pascia Room & Breakfast
#296 of 3,762 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Esquilino
In The Center You Too
In The Center You Too
#196 of 3,762 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Suite Maggiore
Suite Maggiore
#858 of 3,762 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Esquilino
Adelina Guesthouse
Adelina Guesthouse
#276 of 3,762 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Esquilino
Gina B&B
Gina B&B
#1,252 of 3,762 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Rotella nel Sacco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Rotella nel Sacco

Property: La Rotella nel Sacco
Address: Via Giovanni Giolitti n. 461, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #906 of 3,762 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Rotella nel Sacco 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Rotella nel Sacco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing