We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small rooms, very friendly staff.”
Review of Hotel Appia 442

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Appia 442
Ranked #573 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Fairbanks, AK
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Small rooms, very friendly staff.”
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Place is right next to subway. Really enjoyed the staff, great restaurant suggestions and helped with a really early checkout. Room size was little but comfortable. We had issues with our AC but we believe it was user error.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AK_Tarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAppia442, Proprietario at Hotel Appia 442, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
We are really pleased when a guest writes that he appreciated the services received.
Hoping to have you again our guests we greet you cordially. Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    25
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
27
26
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

I normally read TripAdvisor's reviews with the understanding that people have different perspectives and travel experiences and there are always the extreme two ends that either loves or hates everything about a hotel.

But about Hotel Appia 442, really! Are you people kidding me ?

We just returned after staying at the hotel for three days after our med cruise. The hotel location is indeed right by a metro stop, but the convenience stops right there. First you have to climb two flights of stairs to get to the street level, then once you get buzzed into the apartment building where Appia 442 is located, you have to climb another flight of stairs to get to the elevator. If you are a senior and have a few luggages, that's a lot of stair climbing. The elevator is the old-fashioned one and tiny like a closet. So if you are traveling with a family or have more than one piece of luggage, you are out of luck ---- you have to div up the elevator ride up into several trips.

The hotel is converted from an apartment on the 2nd floor. There is no lobby to speak with. Only a small reception desk at the entrance and a narrow short corridor leading into the individual rooms. There are two chairs in the narrow short corridor ---- which consists of all the public space you have.

The room is small. This is not unexpected when traveling in a major city. There is one lone chair in the room and if you want to sit down comfortably, the bed is pretty much your only choice (if you can calling sitting down on a bed comfortable).

The room is clean though which is the only saving grace of our hotel stay. Even this was taken away during our last day which I will come to shortly.

The bathroom is tiny. Again we did not expect anything other than that since it is Rome and space comes at a premium. What I fail to understand is how all the effusive reviewers manage the shower space. I am a small person and I literally can not bend down in the shower to pick up the soap slipped through my hand to the ground. I had to bend sideways. And every time I turned, I either hit my elbow on the shower wall, or the shower knob.

There is no amenities other than the tiny piece of soap and a little packet of shampoo. The size of soap you get is normally the one you would get from a motel in the US. It is so small and it constantly slips through my hand. You cannot find anything else such as a box of tissue.

On the ceiling of the room above the beds, there is some sort of detector (smoke) and it flashed red light throughout the night and day. During the day you may not notice and it does not matter anyway. During the night when you turn off all the lights and then you start noticing it. I asked the owner about it and she said it is standard safety feature and there is nothing they could do about it.

Hence if you are a light sleeper or do not sleep well outside your own house, you need to bring an eye shade. I ended up covering my eyes with my hands at some point and it drove me nuts!

Coming to the breakfast part, I consider it extremely misleading for this hotel to claim breakfast is included, unless if one can consider bit-size snacks breakfast. The so-called "breakfast" contains some slices bread (not full-size even at that) that you can toast yourself in a toaster, some tiny boxes of cereal, some pre-packaged bite-size snacks (like twinkies) which looks like they have been staying there forever as no one seems to pick any of those up. There is a small fridge in the breakfast area in which you can find thin packets of salami, tiny wedges of cheese ---- all pre-packaged which again look like they have been there for eons. Bear with my lack of culture, but maybe this is the European-styled breakfast ? We ended up getting our breakfast outside from some pastry shops nearby where at least you can fresh baked goods instead of pre-packaged, preserve-laden junk.

The last day of our stay, we returned to the hotel exhausted after a whole day of sight-seeing to find our room not made. The towels in the bathroom not changed, and the trash bin (tiny size again) not emptied, the toilet paper in the bathroom not replenished. I inquired with the person on duty that night and he apologized about their cleaning person "forgot" to clean our room. Hotel Appia certainly made a record through all my travels ---- this is the first time I ever encountered that a hotel has forgotten to clean the room. After The person on duty called the owner, we were offered the adjacent room. At that point we were tired through, and didn't feel like packing up our stuff to move to another room only to check out the next morning, we declined. We never heard a thing from anybody at the hotel since..... Really "nice" customer experience!

Overall, Hotel Appia 442 reminds me of a place that initially there seems to be nothing you can really complain on the surface: sure the room is clean (that is if they remember to clean it), and it is located right by the metro station. But all the little inconveniences and lack of amenities add up and at some point you come to this realization that the hotel is simply not comfortable.

Even the location is somewhat regrettable. It is by a metro station but far away from all the Roman sights. If you want to stroll around at night, there is really nowhere to go around the hotel. I inquired about the flea market that's on the hotel sales literature, and when directed there, all I found were several street vendor stalls.

We will not return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ranchun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAppia442, Proprietario at Hotel Appia 442, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Sir, thank you for the positive comments about the cleanliness of the hotel . We apologize , once again, for having forgotten to clean your room the day before departure. We have no excuses , we realize how you felt and it is a pity that you have not accepted the adjoining room, offered in addition to the first one and of which you could at least use the bathroom. We regret not being able to remedy in any other way.
And now I’d like to take a little bit of time in order to clarify some things of your “story“. Rome is a very old city and if you want to stay downtown and live in a “building of 1916“ (read the information on www.hotelappia442.it) for sure you cannot find rooms as large as in a modern hotels ( more comfort maybe, but less charm! )
Worldwide if you use the subway, then you have to rise to < street level > but at the Furio Camillo's stop there is an elevator - beautiful, modern and available.
The Hotel, as written by all, is on the second floor of the building , to enter you have to climb 5 steps and then take the elevator, suitable for carrying 3 people. The question is: < why you did not ask for an help> we are always available to our guests without any payment.
Because we are an < all inclusive Hotel> in fact we did not put any extra-charge for the room-service asked twice a day; for internet wi-fi and the free use of the mini-bar,
Hotel Appia 442 is a small hotel, however in the lobby we have 4 seats and 3 other near the cafeteria where there are tables and chairs that, together with the table of the balcony, are available to guests throughout the day
The room is equipped with one chair and one armchair so you could use both, instead of sitting on the bed
If in the bathroom there was not enough soap, shower and shampoo gel, toothbrush, body lotion and (in the drawer) shoes -sponge , needle and thread, you could ask as you did for the adapter of your Iphone that we gave you.
It is true, at breakfast we only use disposable packaging single-dose, because we think they are more hygienic but the choose is between: salami, cheese, fruit salad, fresh fruit, yogurt in 3 flavors, butter, honey chocolate, 5 kinds of jam, 3 kinds of croissants, biscuits, rolls, sliced bread, cereal (4 different) orange juice and hot drink. The classic continental breakfast as mentioned on ‘Booking.com’
I can confirm that the microscopic flicker positioned in the ceiling of your room is the fire-alarm system that cannot be turned off, so much so that when you tried to switch it off, the whole hotel has tripped.
If you decide to return to the eternal city , please contact us and we will be happy to suggest structures more suitable to your needs, even with the use of the kitchen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Hills, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

We had just one night it spend in Rome before leaving on a cruise and were happy to spend it at the charming hotel Appia 442. We were welcomed by the proprietress, Sandra, who was very helpful with directions and transportation arrangements. There is easy access to the Metro and we were able to get out and see many of the major sights even though our time was limited. Our twin room was small but nicely appointed and we appreciated the elevator getting our luggage up to the hotel on the 3rd floor. Breakfast was included which was nice. It was an expensive taxi ride to the port, so I might choose something closer if I were to be in Rome again for a cruise, but otherwise I would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAppia442, Proprietario at Hotel Appia 442, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
We appreciate your kind words and we hope we can still be useful in the future. And by the way, Civitavecchia harbor can be reached also by train with a very modest cost. Arrivederci a Roma !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. The hotel rooms are small but the space is well optimized and functional. There are places to sit, room for luggage and hanging clothes. The room is contemporary, modern fixtures, small shower (typical for Rome), has air conditioning. The lobby area is small but offers other places to sit. Breakfast was very basic but enough for a start to the day. The price is very reasonable for Rome.

Location is excellent. You get to experience life of the people of Rome, not tourists. There are all kinds of shops nearby and restaurants. Prices are more reasonable. The hotel is steps from the metro. It's close to the train station which means you can train to the airport or other parts of Italy. We took a taxi to the Int'l airport and it was $50 euros.

There is always someone at the desk to help with suggestions or arranging a taxi. Nice people and customer service focused.

A tip for those using this hotel ...
The hotel is on 2nd floor (starts at floor 0) in a mixed use building. The front door of the building is locked. You must press the buzzer to get access, go to the 2nd floor to find the door to the hotel. It's not intuitive but workable.

We liked this hotel best of all places in Rome we stayed in the past. You can get to all the tourist places but stay in an area with lots of locals. I would stay here again.

Tip for Rome travelers ...
Pickpockets are plentiful in Rome. They find tourists and can quickly take your wallet. I had mine lifted on metro where people push and shove to squeeze on busy trains. There is no reason to keep your credit cards, drivers license, passport or anything critical in a wallet. Simply put money in multiple pockets and leave those things at the hotel or use a travel wallet under your clothes. Bring copies with you, if you feel the need. The most critical loss was my drivers license.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAppia442, Proprietario at Hotel Appia 442, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
we appreciate the tip for other guests and the nice words about us, we really try to do our best .... . Hoping to see you in Rome again. Have a good day
Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here over the summer for a few days and what a lovely stay it was. Sandra, the owner, truly cares about all her guests. She wants you to have the best time you could possibly have during your stay. Ask her anything and she will be able to point you in the right direction. I recall wanting to ask her if she needed anything on my way out the door. That's how "at home" I felt. The rooms are clean and comfortable. There's even a little kitchenette in the one level hotel where you can have a little Italian breakfast. (Super yummy) I would stay here again in a heart beat. Just a tip to finding this great hotel: it's located on one floor of a military level building. So don't get discouraged when you start walking up the stairs or taking the little elevator up. It's up there.

-thank you Sandra for the wonderful stay

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Candita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAppia442, Proprietario at Hotel Appia 442, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for your patience. Next time we will do even better !! We hope to see you again in the future.
Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My sister and I stayed at Appia 442 last week for 4 days. We chose it because of the fair price and good reviews online. It was a great choice!
Mrs. Sandra was amazing: very friendly, caring and proactive. She would not only answer our questions but get all the information she could for us (itineraries, prices, etc) without us even asking for it!
The location is great. Literally few steps from the subway and 10min from the main terminals to go to the main attractions of Rome.
We loved our stay and will go back if we return to Rome. I would highly recommend this place and give more than 5 stars if I could!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TelmaFregeIssa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAppia442, Proprietario at Hotel Appia 442, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
To have you our guests has been a great pleasure that we would like to repeat.
God bless you
Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Hotel Appia 442 is a small, personal hotel that was a joy to stay at. Sandra is an excellent hostess who obviously loves what she does and she and her staff went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. Lots of extra little touches made a bit difference like coffee, expresso and cappuchino made fresh, great advise on restaurants, introducing us to Lemoncello liqueur and offering a nice breaksfast. She even obtained different pillows for us when asked for them. A friend who stayed in another room and who has travelled Europe extensively stated that he will always return here whenever he travels to Rome and I agree. Hotel is modern and clean with a very nice bathroom, free wi-fi (that actually worked in the room!) and quiet, working air conditioning. It is a little way outside main Rome so lower cost than staying in the downtown area and is right next to a metro line stop that allowed us to get to anywhere in Rome very quickly and easily. My friend and I offer our thanks to Sandra and staff for a great stay in Rome !!

Room Tip: Email the hotel if you have any room requirements. I did that and Sandra got back to me right away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAppia442, Proprietario at Hotel Appia 442, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
The care of our guests and try to make them feel a little at home is our goal and we are happy when we get closer. We wish you a lot of happiness!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tuscolana
Hotel Tuscolana
#239 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Cinemusic Hotel
0.1 mi away
Appia Holiday B&B
Appia Holiday B&B
#646 of 3,620 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
B&B A casa di Andrea
B&B A casa di Andrea
#1,923 of 3,620 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.2 mi away
B&B Il Maritozzo
B&B Il Maritozzo
#1,163 of 3,620 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.2 mi away
Furio Camillo
Furio Camillo
#171 of 1,070 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Appia 442? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Appia 442

Property: Hotel Appia 442
Address: Via Appia Nuova 442, 00181 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #573 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Appia 442 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened after a careful restructuring, this small hotel is located on the 2nd floor of a 1916 building in Appia Nuova Avenue: without doubt one of the most commercial area of Rome, in IX district, next to the Underground (Metropolitana) - line A (Furio Camillo stop) and close to San Giovanni Square, where the most ancient church of the world rises: la Basilica di San Giovanni on one side and Campino airport, Capannelle Racecourse and the ring-road (exit 23) on the other. In HOTEL APPIA 442, we like to offer to our guests the same comfort of their own home. The comfort of rooms and furnishings, the comfortable beds, the "no curfew", a polite and reliable service, privacy and safety that all together with a lot of other little attentions, will make your stay at Rome's HOTEL APPIA 442, a real experience of hospitality. In few words: "Pure Hospitality".The rooms are a small world of attentions. Each guestroom, studied to guarantee the highest level of comfort with ceramic hypoallergenic wooden floors, and equipped with: TV, air conditioning, fridge-mini bar, safety deposit box, direct-dial phone (to receive phone calls directly in your room)and WI-FI internet. Direct booking and reservations for conventional aesthetic services and massages with beauty center Mana, possibility of parking space, fax and photocopy, registrations for personal messages, information for theaters, opera and special events in the city. For our guests security and privacy, all rooms have entry doors with internal gridlock, an electronic safety lock, an anti-intrusion controlling system and internal security cameras. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Appia 442 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing