We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A happy surprise”

Osteria delle Commari
Ranked #711 of 12,362 Restaurants in Rome
Price range: $20 - $27
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Osteria delle Commari is a quiet meeting place just a few steps from the Vatican, where you can enjoy traditional cuisine in a comfortable and friendly atmosphere. Winery with local wine.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
77 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A happy surprise”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We chose this restaurant when my first choice for last night was fully booked. I had some trepidation because in the shadow of the Vatican the restaurants are not known for their excellence, either in service nor in quality of food. Che bella sorpresa!

The menu is limited but creative. The owners, Stefano and Christina, take time to explain the menu and the options for the evening. We enjoyed the cod with red onions, raisins and pine nuts very much. Apparently they always have this entree while others change. For our pasta we shared an excellent ravioli stuffed with potatoes in a sublime sauce involving anchovies. One of the more inventive antipasti was a tramazzini made of polenta, stuffed with chicory, mozzarella and anchovies. Limited wine list, but all local. A pleasant locale, with pretty, subdued dining rooms. Don't be put off by the apparent size of the place when you enter. There are adjacent dining rooms and Osteria delle Commari can handle larger groups as well. Don't miss dessert! We enjoyed a torte con cioccolato fondante on a shortbread crust with raspberry jam. Two antipasti, one pasta, two entrees, cicoria ripassata, dessert, bottle of wine, bread and coffee = €89.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VinoDonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2Commari, Proprietario at Osteria delle Commari, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear guest, thank you very much for your nice review.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    567
    359
    117
    54
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Double Delights”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

On the recommendation of our B&B, we ate at this restaurant on both our evenings in Rome. We were particularly impressed by the welcome and care of the hosts, especially since I was incapacitated by being in a wheelchair at the time.
We chose, on both occasions to eat choices from the daily specials and these were explained to us by Christine(?) who, with all the other staff were delightfully friendly.
Everythiing that we ate was delicious and very obviously freshly cooked with a lot of attention to flavour and presentation. The veal was particularly sumptuous, as was the cod and the unusual (for us) choices of vegetables , including artichokes and chicory.
Each meal, for 2, with 3 courses and a bottle of wine, and complimentary Prosecco and Limoncello, cost 100 Euro which we thought very good value for what was a real taste of Italy with superb service. We shall definitely go there next time we are in Rome.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 270650zola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2Commari, Proprietario at Osteria delle Commari, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you very much....we hope to see you again....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
240 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“A relaxed atmosphere”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Three rooms, a cozy place with soft colors, paintings on the walls, books on the shelves (being difficult to reach they are not expected to be read), small tables. The menu is not wide but has the right choice of dishes and then there are some daily dishes. We had a starter of fried artichokes and cod. Then we had veal (good but not more than this) and a nouvelle cuisine dish: cod with raisin and pine seeds on a bed of cooked red onions. The cod was good to try but too sweet to choose again during a second visit to the restaurant. The meal ended with a very good chocolate mousse. The place was full but the staff attentive and the service quick. The atmosphere relaxed. Overall a good experience. A place to try (provided you choose something different than the sweet cod).

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ItalyMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2Commari, Proprietario at Osteria delle Commari, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you dear guest, for your nice review. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed our restaurant. We hope to welcome you back. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Superb find!!!!”
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We went to this restaurant following the recommendation from our bnb hosts and what a great recommendation that was. Went there early than normal dinner time, the lady greeted us warmly and showed us to our table, even-though it was well before their normal opening hours. Soon after, the waiter asked if we would like to have a glass of prosecco as a welcome drink...nice touch. After providing us with the menu, the lady came back promptly and took the time to explain the special of the day outside of the menu in addition to the regular stuff on the menu. We decided to try the specials, and those were really specials! My wife tried the seafood soup which was simply superb, I tried the cod fish tart which was excellent as well. The pasta ordered by my kids and wife were great, my main dish of cod fillet with lemon sauce was just fantastic. The house wine was good and to top it off, the deserts of chocolate tart and pantalone were perfect. The entire experience of the service, the food and the price was simply putting a nice icing on our family vacation in rome... Just too bad they don't open for lunch as we wanted to go there one ore time before heading to the airport the next day...but well....we will definitely recommend this little restaurant nd would love to come back again.

Helpful?
Thank H S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2Commari, Proprietario at Osteria delle Commari, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear guest, thank you very much for your beautiful review; it is nice to know that you enjoyed the food, service and more. I look forward to welcome you back. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A memorable first meal in Rome”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We ate here twice as we were staying in a B&B nearby. The service was fantastic with the owners very happy to explain details of all the day's specials and translate the menu into English. We had two very nice complimentary glasses of prosecco and some limoncello. The food itself was great - especially the roast lamb with rosemary and roast potatoes. Definitely go here if you are near the Vatican and would like a special meal in romantic surroundings.

Thank you Christina et al!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vickatrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Osteria delle Commari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing