We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dreaming Rome Hostel
Ranked #53 of 1,131 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The staff are really friendly and welcome you when you arrive. I stayed in the private room and was met with a bottle of red wine. They offered some freshly made pasta & basil pesto one evening when getting back late, which was very nice of them.

The only negative I have is that when I arrived I needed to pay in cash, and this didn't include the 2 Euro per night tourist tax. I wasn't aware of until I arrived, so had to find a local ATM. After looking I can see this is mentioned on 1 of the hostel booking sites but not the other, but only in the small description area. Whilst this was sorted out quickly, I think this should be made more apparent before booking.

Despite this, I think the hostel is fantastic and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 91Anon_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
There are newer reviews for Dreaming Rome Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

120 - 126 of 205 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2013

What a warm welcome my friend and I received on a hot day in August. Fabio is an awesome guy who can make anyone feel at home! Pizza nights in the hostel was a great way of meeting everyone and did I mention.. free! I would only come back to Dreaming Rome hostel as it was the most I felt at home anywhere in Europe. 5 stars!

Room Tip: Private or dorm room are excellent. Dorm room better for meeting new people!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ZachD93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Very nice hostel, the staff (Fabio and Domenico) will do anything to make sure that you are having a good time in Rome! Also, every person I met in the hostel are very friendly and will give you hints for your next destination!

Room Tip: The mixed room has a/c!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuliaSawaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This a unique place. The rooms and the facilities are great (including free internet and breakfast) but what makes this hostel really special is its host Fabio.

Fabio will go out of his way to ensure that you have a good time. Every night we were there he cooked free pasta for everyone. This was not only a tasty and cheap way to start the evening but it brought everyone in the hostel together so by the third night I felt like I was coming home not back to a hostel. One night Fabio took us all out to the local cafe where we drank and mingled with the locals.

If was a millionaire and came back to Rome I would stay here without a second though. This is the best hostel I have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wpalmer81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I came to the Dreaming Rome hostel by myself before I met up with friends in Florence. I was feeling a little lonely, but Fabio and Domenico both made me feel so welcome, they are very warm and kind people.

The rooms are comfortable and clean, and brightly decorated. The complimentary breakfast is a nice tough! The decor is a sight to see. They gave me a great map of Rome, and guided me in finding the best ways to explore the Eternal City. They told me where to book in advance etc - always so helpful to have hostel staff with local knowledge! I spent my days mostly at the Forum, and slept like a baby in their very comfortable beds.

I would definitely return, had a fantastic stay. Thanks!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Hi,
The hostel is located about 30min walk from the colloseum and abt 5-10min from the Metro station witha convenient bus connection to the part of Rome that metro doesnt get to.
Fabio and Domenico are warm, friendly and very helpful when it comes to anything from booking ur vatican ticket in Italian to choosing a llace to go for a drink.
The hostel is clean and friendly, supplied in all little bits and bobbs that u may have forgotten from home eg towels, shampoos or btl of peroni ;)
You get free wifi and even computer and printer to open use. It is safe area to walk aroundeven at night and a fantastic pizza in the restaurant just round the corner. I just couldnt have been luckier.
Plenty of laughs, met many lovely travellers. I was travelling on my own and stayed there for 10nights. Couldnt have chosen better!!!
Thanks a lot guys, you are doing a great job! I will certainly see you next time I come to Roma!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank porteges100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I think that the best part about this hostel was the decorations, there were lights, boas, posters, random decorations everywhere. It was awesome because there was free breakfast each morning (you can even cook eggs for yourself). It felt like a home and the bathrooms were clean. Overall the room and kitchen were somewhat clean but I have seen cleaner. When we first arrived our bed was messy, but it was because one of the guests decided to randomly slept in it, and then Fabio changed the sheets again. Fabio was very friendly and helpful! The location was okay, but it was a good deal and I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
New Generation Hostel Santa Maria Maggiore
Esquilino
Mosaic Hostel
Mosaic Hostel
#64 of 1,131 in Rome
266 reviews
Esquilino
Generator Hostel Rome
Generator Hostel Rome
#10 of 1,131 in Rome
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
La Controra Hostel Rome
La Controra Hostel Rome
#36 of 1,131 in Rome
227 reviews
Esquilino
Nika Hostel
Nika Hostel
#173 of 1,131 in Rome
62 reviews
Esquilino
The Yellow
The Yellow
#16 of 1,131 in Rome
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreaming Rome Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreaming Rome Hostel

Address: Via Cuma no 2, 00183 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 1,131 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range: $33 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing