We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When in Rome stay with Fabio” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dreaming Rome Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dreaming Rome Hostel
Ranked #64 of 1,066 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“When in Rome stay with Fabio”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

On arrival Fabio greeted us with a really welcoming manner. He advised us on all the best things to see in Rome and even helped by giving us a map with the information on. The rooms were nice and it felt like staying with friends rather than in a hostel. The guys are always there and work really hard to meet all your needs. I was surprised to see they don't even take a day off! they really do take fantastic care of all the people staying there and even provide lockers etc to ensure your belongings are safe. Very impressed with the service.
Jennie and Jade
London

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennie717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    31
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
7
30
89
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

"It is hard to explain just how good this place is. Its like being accepted into home, the brothers are both amazingly friendly."

I took the line above from an earlier reviewer. I would say that it's spot-on accurate but add that sometimes you don't want to be "accepted into a home" and that that atmosphere can even be a bit undesirable.

As an example, when I was going to check-out I had to wake up one of the brothers who run this place to do it (he wasn't upset about it but I still felt intruding) and by the end of my stay was really missing the "commercial-feel" of a well-ran larger hostel. You actually feel guilty coming in really late to a place like this.

Regardless, the guys that run this place really are first rate with miles of patience and since everything I've read about Rome hostels is so horrible I'd be inclined to stay here again. Just keep in mind that it's more like a Bed & Breakfast than your standard hostel and that the location was a train or taxi ride away from anything worth doing or seeing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fairandbalanced1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
İstanbul
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

The best hostel in Rome . Rooms and all places are clean . Hostel owners are great people and they are really helpful. Metro station is close to hostel and you can walk where you want . totally awasome =)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Başar O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

The managers of the hostel really are what make it such a great place to stay. Small 3 room hostel that is kept clean and tidy. Even surprised to find a basic breakfast provided each morning of our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

This hostel was unlike any other hostel I had been in! It was a cosy apartment, with 4 bedrooms, some sleeping up to 8 people, others just a double, 2 bathrooms and a kitchen, we truly felt as if we were living at home here - and it was perfect!!

Our arrival into Rome was via train - so we caught the train and metro to San Giovanni station and walked to the apartment building. On entry, we were greeted with the biggest smile and welcome by the amazing Fabio! He truly loves all his guests and really makes you welcome into his home! (He lives there with his Mother!). The reception area/hallway/walking space is decked out all in pink and fur and crazy little bits and pieces, its so unusual, but really makes the place what it is!

The best thing is the hospitiality by Fabio and his mother. They are always willing to help and be there when you need them! His mother helps out in the small kitchen if you want (and she even takes over! yum true Italian cooking!) The rooms are quite small, however as i said, makes it very homey! The 6 bed female dorm is really nice, all with bunk beds and lockers. The bathrooms are spacious and well equipped. You have to be lucky to get one thought, when sharing with potentially 15 other people.

There is a large fridge for guests food etc.., wireless internet and 2 computers for use. There is breakfast included which is lovely, however you can cook your own hot breakfast if you please. I got rediculously bitten by mosquitos one night, as in, 100 total bites on my body, but that I think was because we left the window open and i had the fan blowing them toward me. Dont fret, none of the others got bitten. The kitchen is small so make sure you leave enough time to cook your meal otherwise, eat out!

The location is great, in terms of walking to a metro line, but isnt really close to many main Roman tourist sites. There are great restaurants in walking distance from the Hostel! Shops and Gelato too! The rates are fine for what you get - we really enjoyed our stay and wished we could have stayed longer! I really do reccomend this place! Its a home away from home, and while not the typical boozy hostel experience, its a nice getaway!

Say Hi to Fabio! He is one of the best Staff members of a hostel you will ever meet!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wardsc10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

It is hard to explain just how good this place is. Its like being accepted into home, the brothers are both amazingly friendly. In stayed only 3nights in Rome but they were made better by the Hostel. On my first night i arrived 9hours later than expected but was greeted with a friendly smile and then pointed towards a lovely cheap pizza restaurant just 20m from the Hostels front door. It is in easy walking distance of a metro stop and then only 3stops from the central.

The breakfast selection is better than any that I have experienced at previous hostels, and they have a fridge stocked with beers to buy, which is perfect for the times when you want to relax with a beer and pizza on their balcony. The rooms are clean and tidy and the staff will point you in the direction of the best Gelato and Tirramisu in Rome,

Perfectisimo

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HJBooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

This hostel has tone one of the best I've stayed in so far.

It was clean and safe and close to transportation (Although there was a strike the last day I was there). Also breakfast goes till 1 which is nice and it is a good breakfast by the hostel standards I've experienced so far.
Fabio and his mother were absolutely lovely and helpful and showed everyone where to go.
The hostel used to be an apartment, so it has the feeling like you're staying in someones home.

I would definitely stay there again and recommend it to anyone.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Cailie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Alessandro Downtown Hostel
Monti
New Generation Hostel Santa Maria Maggiore
Esquilino
Melting Pot Rome
Melting Pot Rome
#60 of 1,066 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Four Seasons Hostel Rome
Four Seasons Hostel Rome
#43 of 1,066 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Esquilino
The Yellow
The Yellow
#20 of 1,066 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
Esquilino
Nika Hostel
Nika Hostel
#162 of 1,066 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreaming Rome Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreaming Rome Hostel

Property: Dreaming Rome Hostel
Address: Via Cuma no 2, 00183 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 1,066 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Dreaming Rome Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing