We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good budget accomodation!”
Review of 55 Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
55 Inn
Ranked #1,721 of 3,669 Rome B&B and Inns
Almost Prague, Czech Republic
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A good budget accomodation!”
Reviewed July 8, 2011

I think I luckily caught some kind of discount on our room, but it is definitely a good accomodation if you're looking for something cheap, nice and clean with friendly staff, this is the way to go ;)

The owner, Andrea, is a very nice and friendly man. It is written on the website of the hotel that you should send the details about your flight before you come - that's what I did and he was ready to welcome us when we came ;) He also gave us good maps of Rome and marked the interesting points for us ;)

Only two things - or advice:
1) I think it's better if you pay when you see Andrea for the first time OR at least have your phone ready to call him / text him when you want to meet him (Andrea's phone number is a cell phone number, so you can send messages, too) ...we didn't really run into him after he accomodated us... but, to his defense, we also stayed only a few days. But he's very flexible, so you'll definitely be able to agree on a time to meet ;)

2) The accomodation is on a quite noisy street... (buses + cars + people passing by) ...I think it's a whole lot better if you close the window, but for some people the Rome weather is too hot and they want it open... We could sleep okay also in the noise, also because being a tourist in Rome can be quite exhausting and we were really tired :D But it is unfortunately not for light sleepers...

Oh and the breakfast is served in a café near the Metro station in case you'll be looking for it ;)

In the end I want to say it IS a GOOD accomodation all in all ;)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kellycrazie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    51
    15
    3
    5
See reviews for
22
60
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2011

The rooms are upstairs in a shared building that from the outside can look a bit sketchy--especially if you are arriving after dark. We arrived midday and rang the buzzer but no one answered--luckily someone else was exiting the building and we were able to enter. Once we found the place, it was locked, but thankfully another couple staying there let us in, and graciously let us use their cell phone to call the owner, who showed up within minutes, apologizing for the disorganization. Our room wasn't ready yet, but we were able to leave our luggage. The owner was very nice, gave us maps and recommendations on restaurants. The room itself was very spacious, modern, comfortable, and in mid May, quite cool with the window open. Breakfast was included (coffee + pastry), and was in a small coffee shop a couple of doors down. Very close to the metro stop and the main train station (Termini)--easily walkable with luggage.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nalasada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester, UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

Lovely clean room, very good value some 10 minutes walk from the colosseum and 2/3 minutes from Termini. No aircon but all fittings seemed new and apartment was secure. Would certainly stay there again

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank tedzinho69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2011

Whilst I agree with many of the positive comments about the accommodation there are one or two points worth noting.
Andrea, the owner/manager does not live on site so make sure you have a mobile phone that works in Italy or a phone card/change to use a public phone to alert him to your arrival, especially if you arrive earlier or later than estimated when making the booking. We were let into the building by some fellow guests and into the accommodation itself by an Australian couple who also gave us a bottle of Chianti , which we were just gratefully tucking into when the housekeeper arrived at midnight to check us in, two hours after we arrived. Andrea was very apologetic the next morning and offered financial compensation for the inconvenience and the £10 of call charges incurred ringing Late Rooms in the UK to try and sort out the problems on arrival.
The location of the apartment is on the first floor under rather than above the roof of the arcade, which amplifies the noise of the trams, buses, scooters and noisy passers by. It is reasonably quite between 0100 and 0700 but I would recommend earphones/earplugs for a good night’s sleep.
Overall it’s a comfortable, clean and convenient place to stay but as the saying goes, "There’s no such thing as a free lunch".

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Squigilouigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
55romeinn, Proprietario at 55 Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Dear Mr Guest

Thanks for your agree with positive comments, aniway i would like to clarify that the housekeer arrived in time (saturnay night at midnight) as requested by the reservation, and you didn't inform us about the change(arrival 2 hours before ).

no apology, no financial compensation, no noise (double glazing windows)
As the saying goes "half truth is a full lie "
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2011

I was traveling the Lazio region of Italy, and at rome had been in this inn,
and it was in a convenience place, really near with the main station Termini.
and had a nice bath, also I liked the small balcony that I can see the park in front of.
the owner of the inn was soooo kind and nice.
If I have an another chance to go Rome, I'll come back here :)

Room Tip: nice to who wants to be near with the station!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay1234567890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2011

The hotel is completely tucked away, but what a find!
A very very reasonable rate for a large double room with all mod cons - it really felt like a home away from home. Clean and tidy and beautifully furnished, right on the Metro line and just round the corner from the central train and bus station.
However, the selling point of this hotel is not the price, the decoration or the location, although they are all fantastic, it's the staff that were really the high point.
Friendly, outgoing, welcoming, full of local knowledge, they were proud of thier city and eager to show us round it and make sure we experienced everything Rome had to offer. We will be going back to see them soon and we would urge anyone who wants to see Rome from a Roman's point of view to go and experience it. It really felt like staying with a family, we were even brought English tea to our room in the mornings.
Andrea and Dianira - we hope to see you soon - love Kirsty and Andy.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirstyandrews11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnyrigg
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2011

Convenient location if arriving by plane and taking bus to Statzione Termini. Convenient for Metro to all parts of the city. This was not an hotel but more like a rented room, we had the best room in the house which was very modern and clean. Breakfast was taken at a nearby cafe and consisted of Tea/coffee and one croissant only, an additional croissant cost
70 cents. If you are planning to travel across the city quite a bit the 7 day ticket covering all inter-city transports is well worth the 16 euros. Owner couldn't take credit card as he did not have machine, we had to pay in cash.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kittyginnelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Antico Palazzo Rospigliosi
Antico Palazzo Rospigliosi
#687 of 1,258 in Rome
434 reviews
Monti
Signor Suite Colosseo
Signor Suite Colosseo
#3,019 of 3,669 in Rome
75 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#371 of 1,258 in Rome
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#2,144 of 3,669 in Rome
90 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,258 in Rome
6,680 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#95 of 1,258 in Rome
1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 55 Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 55 Inn

Property: 55 Inn
Address: Piazza Vittorio Emanuele II 54/a, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,721 of 3,669 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the centre of Rome, close to Colosseum and Termini central station,we are in an old building 1886, facing one of the most beautiful park of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your 55 Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing