We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous location, caring service”
Review of Residenza Maritti

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Residenza Maritti
Ranked #12 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous location, caring service”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

The location of this sweet Residenza is superb, especially if you have a Roman history buff in the family! Outside the front door are ruins, see plenty more from the rooftop, including the Colosseum almost around the corner.
We shared a four bed room with our two teens on the third floor. My husband and I slept on the sofa bed which was very comfortable (they usually aren't!). Not much spare space, but really more than adequate for the night time hours we were there.
Breakfast ingredients are provided on a make-your-own basis, which worked well for us. I had notified the host, Gianluca, in advance about gluten-free requirements, and he had sourced a range of products, which was very much appreciated.
Gianluca was very warm and caring, and keen to assist with eating out and tourist information, as well as taxi. He also organized an airport shuttle, which worked well. (Suggest you arrive by taxi first time, as it's a little hard to find.)
Overall, whilst basic, it is clean and tidy, staff were helpful, wifi was good, lift in building, breakfast included, room airconditioned - would highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianluca M, Proprietario at Residenza Maritti, responded to this review, October 3, 2016
Thank you to recommend our Residenza.
We are proud of your satisfaction.
Gianluca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    66
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
122
118
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Okay, this is a great joint run by a nice man. Prices are very reasonable, location is excellent, and the rooms are charming. Three small warnings, though. First, don't go there without a map. (In fact, don't go anywhere in Rome without a map, because they have very few tourist street signs.) It's unfortunate that Gianluca doesn't automatically provide his visitors with directions. Second, there are no amenities like soap or shampoo. Third, I don't like his "shuttles" to the airport. I asked him to get me a "taxi," which is limited by law to cost 30 euros. He got me a "shuttle," which cost 40 and took longer than the airport bus I'd taken when I arrived.

Okay, now that you're warned, book the place anyway. It's pretty great and you'll have a terrific time.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank RomanHans1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianluca M, Proprietario at Residenza Maritti, responded to this review, October 3, 2016
Thank you for your feedback.
Residenza Maritti has improved its services in the last three years, now we have custom maps and a shuttle service very competitive.
Residenza Maritti in not an hotel, we don't have amenities like soap or shampoo, but if necessary we have an extra for emergencies.
Thank you to recommend us!
Gianluca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denison, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

My mother in law and I stayed here for 3 nights, and had a great experience. Our flight arrived pretty early, and our room was not yet cleaned when we arrived. Our room I believe it was the Olga, however was vacant and we were allowed to drop our luggage in the room, given the key and then join Gianluca on the roof top terrace where there were exceptional views, and he gave us advise and directions to all the local sights, after which we went down and changed for our sight seeing adventures, by the time we got back the room was cleaned and freshly made. There were only 2 slight negatives as others have noted the beds are extremely firm and we did hear noise from the street but I liked looking out and seeing the ruins so it was fine with us, ear plugs took care of noise. We liked being able to fix our own quick breakfast on our own time and meeting with the other people staying at this property. Having an elevator however small was a plus. I would not hesitate to stay at this property again if in Rome.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NEWLKAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianluca M, Proprietario at Residenza Maritti, responded to this review, October 3, 2016
Thank you to recommend Residenza Maritti.
We have improved our services in the last years.
Also the noise has been reduced now, Municipality of Rome closed via dei Fori Imperiali to private cars.
Thanks
Gianluca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
93 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

For those of you who expect hotel-like services, amenities (small shampoos, conditioners, soaps) and fully-served breakfast buffets I would recommend you look elsewhere. This is a do-it-yourself place with simple, adequate furnishings and (the room we had was) typically small. The bed was not very comfortable, very hard without a box spring and covered in simple linens and a not-thick-enough blanket. When we asked for some conditioner/shampoo though, Gianluca showed up a bit later with a full-sized bottle...I think he got it from his own bathroom.

Ok, that's all the complaints. Here's what I have to say overall though: You will struggle to find a better host. I know you won't match the location. You certainly will not match the price. The place is very clean and well taken care of. Like other reviews, you share a common area and kitchen with a few other rooms. It's as if you have your own kitchen but you don't have to stock it. All the food he had available was fresh and good.

I have read that others found it noisy. Our room was whisper quiet, save for one barking dog just as we were trying to go to sleep, but he quieted eventually.

When we arrived (from an early flight), our host, Gianluca, lead us up to the roof terrace where he took the time to answer our questions and make us feel welcome. After such a long flight, we needed some rest. He checked us in early so we could. Unfortunately, he had some renovation/expansion work going on, tons of hammering and scraping. With weary eyes, I asked him if there would be any way for the workers to take a break for a while. Gianluca, said it would be difficult to change the work but said he would see what he could do. The pounding stopped. I am sure our request was difficult to meet, but he did it for us. Wonderful customer service.

Gianluca went out of his way before we arrived to hep us with tour arrangements and itinerary suggestions. His efforts saved us (literally) hundreds of dollars. If you need a private, guided tour of anywhere, just ask Gianluca for help. Incredible.

I would recommend this place for adult travelers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T204raveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianluca M, Proprietario at Residenza Maritti, responded to this review, October 3, 2016
Thank you for your detailed review.
It has been very helpful for us.
In these years we have changed some things:
now you can find breakfast buffet, prepared on the roof garden or in our wine cellar, it depends on the weather,
we changed our bed linen,
we finished works on the fourth floor, now we have three renewed rooms.
Hospitality and attention for our guests are the same, maybe improved.
We hope to see you once more.
Gianluca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Couldn't have found a better location - close to pretty much everything you might want to visit in Central Rome and on the doorstep of the Colosseum, the Roman Forum and Palatine Hill. 10 minutes walk from Trevi Fountain and 15 mins to Spanish Steps and The Vatican is half an hour walk or a 10 Euro cab ride. One consequence of the central location is that it remains pretty noisy until late into the night and then gets noisy again from early in the morning. Additionally, as the building is all marble and tiled floors etc it is an effective echo chamber. This didn't bother us at all as we weren't in Rome to sleep the hours away and we had rather expected it to be this way. The owner Gianluca was helpful and arranged transport from and to the airport. We were invited to head up to the roof garden where you get a great view over the central area of Ancient Rome - just great. All in all highly recommended, providing comfortable accommodation in a very central location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike4ope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianluca M, Proprietario at Residenza Maritti, responded to this review, October 3, 2016
Thank you to recommend our Residenza.
Your satisfaction is our core business.
I hope to see you once again.
Gianluca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is a great place with four major advantages. 1. It's located on a quiet side street directly opposite the Forum and 2 blocks away from the Colosseum. 2. The accommodations and atmosphere feel very normal and comfortable, as though you're staying at a friend's apartment. 3. The host, Gianluca, is very kind and intelligent, and he speaks English beautifully. (Our conversations with Gianluca were one of the best parts of our trip.) 4.You have full access to the kitchen, which means you can grab a midnight snack or make breakfast at 6:00 AM if you want to get a jump on the day, making this the perfect B&B for independent travelers who don't want to be tied to anyone else's schedule.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LoLoWatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianluca M, Proprietario at Residenza Maritti, responded to this review, October 3, 2016
Thank you for your feedback!
We are very glad you have appreciated our Residenza.
Sorry for the late reponse.
See you soon.
Gianluca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wuustwezel, Antwerpen, Belgium
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We’ve visited Rome in 9 days; parents with two daughters in their early twenties. We found Residenza Maritti on internet, it turns out to be a perfect choice!
Each room in Residenza Maritti is unique! At the end of our stay, our host Gianluca showed us his new project; another floor with rooms in the Maritti family home to receive guests. The building is a fully renovated eighteenth century palace built on Roman ruins, perfectly suitable to secure privacy for both guests and the family. For guests there soon will be three floors available. Accessible by the marble staircase and the small escalator each floor has its own entrance to a shared living-, kitchen and breakfast area to serve 4-5 rooms. The pleasant and spacey rooms furnished with comfortable beds have a separate bathroom each. Smooth Wifi and a computer is always at hand in the sitting room. For breakfast the fully equipped kitchen has tea, coffee, fresh fruit, eggs, bread and drinks. Daily the rooms are being cleaned by a friendly staff and Gianluca brings in the groceries to maintain the kitchen’s supplies. As we shared the kitchen, we’ve met other guests and were able to exchange experiences! A Belgian family explored the Via Appia Antica and the Catacombe di San Callisto by bike. Bici & Baci is a bike rental, just around the corner. Till 7 pm the bikes took us everywhere for € 11 a day each.

From the first moment on arrival we were welcomed by the ever so friendly Gianluca to his family home. He made us feel comfortable, took time to explain and give all kinds of helpful information regarding restaurants and places to visit. He showed us around and took us to the roof terrace to show the fantastic view! Located in the middle of Rome’s “Centro Storico” the Maritti Residenza overlooks the ruins of the Temple of Mars Ultor in the Forum of Augustus. The entrance is opposite the Arco dei Pantani, one of the two arches of the Forum of Augustus which gave access to the Subura. Gianluca told us before the excavations, in his grandmother’s time ca. 1929 you could just walk freely through the arch to the Roman Forum.
Not only situated so very near Fori Imperiali, Forum Romanum, the Trajan Markets, Colloseo and the Capitoline Hill the Residenza also lies against the cool Monti district. This “Rione Monti” has narrow streets, often winding uphill between palaces from different era’s with buzzing workshops and outlet stores and shops, entertainment clubs, old taverns and art galleries. It is the ancient Roman Subura, now called Suburra (old area under the city); an up-and-coming neighbourhood loved by a loyal local crowd.
Recommended by Gianluca’s this turned out to become our favourite restaurant: La Vacca M’ Briaca . “The drunken Cow” lies a short walk away in Monti’s Via Urbana. Our family became their often welcomed guest, we even enjoying their cooking during our last lunch in Rome. Furthermore more interesting palazzo and churches like San Pietro in Vincoli and two metro stations are on walking distance. A new “must see” Gianluca Maritti recommended is the Domus Romane inside the Palazzo Valentini, for a look inside an antique Roman home, a stone’s throw away.
The sight is breathtaking. Each time you look out of the window or leave the front door: you’re standing in the middle of the ancient city.
Because of it’s central location it was also very relaxing to be able to return to Via Tor de’ Conti 17, take a break and freshen up in the afternoon, between visits to the city’s many points of interest.
Whenever you plan a visit, stay in Rome as a Roman, visit the website and book! We highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: We recommend the two rooms on first floor at the front of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Djuanita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianluca M, Proprietario at Residenza Maritti, responded to this review, September 26, 2016
Your feedback is better than Lonely Planet Guide!
Thank you very much.
Guests like you are a great satisfaction for own Residenza!
I hope to see you again.
Gianluca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,546 reviews
Monti
Nerva Boutique Hotel
Nerva Boutique Hotel
#15 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#10 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Maritti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Maritti

Property: Residenza Maritti
Address: Via Tor de' Conti, 17, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residenza Maritti is located in a eighteenth century palace built on Roman ruins,fully renovated in 1999, overlooking the ruins of the Temple of Mars Ultor in the Forum of Augustus.Here you will feel at home even if your stay is very short: our friendly welcome and hospitality will make you enjoy your stay.We offer our guests highly comfortable accommodation. The “Residenza Maritti” is in via Tor dei Conti 17, opposite the Arco dei Pantani, one of the two arches of the Forum of Augustus which gave access to the Subura.In Residenza Maritti, you can stay in the environments intended for common use, free to use the kitchen and eat your meal in comfortable and spacious room. You can also, in the spaces, use internet and check your e-mail. All the mornings from 08:00 to 10:00, you can access the buffet breakfast at our space dedicated to 'art and culture. The "Lupigiada" is a project that embraces the idea of ​​creating a space to realize our passion for music and art together with the pleasure for food and good drinks. Atmosphere soft and reserved, vaults and walls with exposed brick and unique items that complement the decor. Old and new blend together to envelop you in a world out of time. All around LUPIGIADA is also an exhibition space for anyone who wants to choose us as a "frame" their own works of art. You can choose the Lupigiada as a place for your parties, dinners, cocktails, aperitifs and events or theme nights. A grand piano and the only and exclusive atmosphere will characterize your evenings. On request, for a minimum number of 12 persons it is possible to organize food and wine tastings with the highest quality products guided by expert sommeliers. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing