We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home in Rome”
Review of Residenza Maritti

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Residenza Maritti
Ranked #14 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We’ve visited Rome in 9 days; parents with two daughters in their early twenties. We found Residenza Maritti on internet, it turns out to be a perfect choice!
Each room in Residenza Maritti is unique! At the end of our stay, our host Gianluca showed us his new project; another floor with rooms in the Maritti family home to receive guests. The building is a fully renovated eighteenth century palace built on Roman ruins, perfectly suitable to secure privacy for both guests and the family. For guests there soon will be three floors available. Accessible by the marble staircase and the small escalator each floor has its own entrance to a shared living-, kitchen and breakfast area to serve 4-5 rooms. The pleasant and spacey rooms furnished with comfortable beds have a separate bathroom each. Smooth Wifi and a computer is always at hand in the sitting room. For breakfast the fully equipped kitchen has tea, coffee, fresh fruit, eggs, bread and drinks. Daily the rooms are being cleaned by a friendly staff and Gianluca brings in the groceries to maintain the kitchen’s supplies. As we shared the kitchen, we’ve met other guests and were able to exchange experiences! A Belgian family explored the Via Appia Antica and the Catacombe di San Callisto by bike. Bici & Baci is a bike rental, just around the corner. Till 7 pm the bikes took us everywhere for € 11 a day each.

From the first moment on arrival we were welcomed by the ever so friendly Gianluca to his family home. He made us feel comfortable, took time to explain and give all kinds of helpful information regarding restaurants and places to visit. He showed us around and took us to the roof terrace to show the fantastic view! Located in the middle of Rome’s “Centro Storico” the Maritti Residenza overlooks the ruins of the Temple of Mars Ultor in the Forum of Augustus. The entrance is opposite the Arco dei Pantani, one of the two arches of the Forum of Augustus which gave access to the Subura. Gianluca told us before the excavations, in his grandmother’s time ca. 1929 you could just walk freely through the arch to the Roman Forum.
Not only situated so very near Fori Imperiali, Forum Romanum, the Trajan Markets, Colloseo and the Capitoline Hill the Residenza also lies against the cool Monti district. This “Rione Monti” has narrow streets, often winding uphill between palaces from different era’s with buzzing workshops and outlet stores and shops, entertainment clubs, old taverns and art galleries. It is the ancient Roman Subura, now called Suburra (old area under the city); an up-and-coming neighbourhood loved by a loyal local crowd.
Recommended by Gianluca’s this turned out to become our favourite restaurant: La Vacca M’ Briaca . “The drunken Cow” lies a short walk away in Monti’s Via Urbana. Our family became their often welcomed guest, we even enjoying their cooking during our last lunch in Rome. Furthermore more interesting palazzo and churches like San Pietro in Vincoli and two metro stations are on walking distance. A new “must see” Gianluca Maritti recommended is the Domus Romane inside the Palazzo Valentini, for a look inside an antique Roman home, a stone’s throw away.
The sight is breathtaking. Each time you look out of the window or leave the front door: you’re standing in the middle of the ancient city.
Because of it’s central location it was also very relaxing to be able to return to Via Tor de’ Conti 17, take a break and freshen up in the afternoon, between visits to the city’s many points of interest.
Whenever you plan a visit, stay in Rome as a Roman, visit the website and book! We highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: We recommend the two rooms on first floor at the front of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Djuanita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianluca M, Proprietario at Residenza Maritti, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2016

Your feedback is better than Lonely Planet Guide!
Thank you very much.
Guests like you are a great satisfaction for own Residenza!
I hope to see you again.
Gianluca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (387)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

154 - 160 of 387 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

We were a bit hesitant about this place to stay because it was so different from the hotels we picked for our honeymoon. However, we definitely recommend this place to others!

The location is perfect (which was the main reason we picked this place), Gianluca was very friendly and helpful, and the room was nice. The breakfast selection was more "functional" than amazing, but it was tasty and convenient. Gianluca warned us that the room was small, but that wasn't a problem for us. Air conditioning worked well.

The one downside was that there wasn't much of a sound barrier between our room and the rest of the floor (e.g. people coming in and out). This wasn't too much of a problem for us because we brought ear plugs. Also, it was hard to get pitch-blackness in the room at night. There was no safe in the room. That said, the room was affordable, which made it worth it.

Over all, we liked it, and would recommend it to any friends wanting to see Rome!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianluca M, Proprietario at Residenza Maritti, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2016

Thank you to recommend our Residenza.
Your feedback is an elaborate and detailed review very helful for us.
Thank you for the excellent opinion!
Gianluca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed here for 5 nights during our trip through Italy this summer and we had an amazing stay. The residenza is essentially a series of large shared appartments each with a fully functioning kitchen and private locking rooms each with their own ensuite bathroom. Gianluca runs the show and is around whenever you need him for something, but otherwise it is like you are staying in your own little apartment. Gianluca is friendly and genuinely helpful. He sat with us for over an hour one evening on the rooftop terrace to give us the lay of the land in Rome and help us plan our five days in the city. He was also extremely helpful in suggesting places for great italian food that are not tourist traps and arranged a private guide for the vatican city which ended up being one of the highlights of our entire trip.
For a relaxing personalized stay in an ideal location in Rome, I would highly recommend staying at this great little place!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank summer2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianluca M, Proprietario at Residenza Maritti, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2016

Our work is to improve day by day our hospitality formula, always looking for the best mixture between beauty and comfort, ancient and modern, professionalism and sense of familiarity.
Thank you for your excellent feedback!
Gianluca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

After finishing our pilgrimage from Assisi to Rome we stayed 4 days in this hotel. Gianluca welcomed us very friendly. Straight from the first minute we felt like being home. The hotel is situated in the centre of Rome near the Forum Romanum and the Colosseum. Standing on the roof terras you get a wonderfull view over the city, something we will never forget. The room was comfortable and clean. And Gianluca gave us good tips how to discover Rome. We are very glad that we could be his guests,
If we ever go back to Rome we surely will try to stay again in Residenza Maritti!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jack v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianluca M, Proprietario at Residenza Maritti, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2016

We are happy you have appreciated our hospitality!
Thank you for your excellent feedback!!
We hope to see you again.
Gianluca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I stayed with my husband last year for few nights (4 I think) and everything was perfect.
The room Papiro is a bit too small with view to interior patio but is comfortable and very well equiped.
I enjoyed the possibility of preparing your own breakfast with the available food and you get to know other guests in the kitchen and dining room.
The house has a lot of charm and the location is fantastic.
Gianluca Maritti, the manager, is very nice and available for anything you might need.

Room Tip: Better to get a room with view to the Forum.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nini I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianluca M, Proprietario at Residenza Maritti, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2016

Thank you for your feedback.
Papiro is a little, private and special room. We are glad that you have appreciated its atmosphere and that of our house.
See you soon
Gianluca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I have never felt the need to write a review until now. This place is wonderful! If you're looking for a well-priced, clean, comfortable, welcoming place in a perfect location this is it!
I stayed for 5 nights, by myself on my first trip to Europe. Gianluca (the manager) was extremely helpful and made me feel at home from the moment I walked in the door.
The rooms are full of history and beautiful furniture. I had a fantastic, quiet, undisturbed sleep every night. The kitchen was fully equip for breakfast or a snack after a siesta.
The location was perfect. Close to two metro stations, the Colosseum and Roman Forum. It's an easy walk to the Trevi fountain, Spanish steps, Vittoriano and much more!
One more note, the rooftop is amazing! Some of the best views on Rome. Do yourself a favour, grab some antipasto, wine and head up there for sunset. Magnificent!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ali_bub1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianluca M, Proprietario at Residenza Maritti, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2016

Thank you to recommend our Residenza.
The satisfaction of our guests, foreign and italian, is the proof that our hospitality formula is able to meet the differing demands.
Quality of human relations and professionalism run in tandem.
We hope to see you again!
Gianluca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

"Location, hospitality, security, comfort, value and welcoming" are some words to describe our experience at Residenza Maritti. All the reviews we read before choosing Maritti (and their website pictures) proved accurate and then some. The residence is well located in proximity to many of Rome's historical wonders and the transport infrastructure (bus, metro @ Colosseum or Rome's central train station, Termini) is within skipping distance. The property has been within the family for 250 years and they're wonderful custodians of this history. Our airconditioned room, Zia Olga was spacious with separate ensuite, fronted Via de Conti and ruins of the Roman Forum. Superb. The roof top terrace views are magnificent. We had 2 special twilight sundowners with wine, local produce and good company. The communal kitchen is well stocked for DIY b'fast otherwise a supermarket 7 mins walk away will provide the ingredients to prepare a little or a lot. The area in general around the residence is full of bars, restaurants and the odd non-descript church that once inside you marvel at the fresco and majesty of local place of worship. Gianluca and his father Luigi are exceptional hosts. Gianluca was available for advice, help and conversation. Well worth your patronage.

Room Tip: Accommodation is on 2 levels. Our room, Zia Olga was on level 1 and fronted Via de Conti...we loved...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianluca M, Proprietario at Residenza Maritti, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2016

Thank you!
Your review defines in few and beautiful words what we are trying to do in our Residenza: a suitable mixture between beauty and comfort, ancient and modern, professionalism and sense of familiarity.
You have exactly summarised our core business, our philosphy and our sense of hospitality.
Gianluca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Nerva Boutique Hotel
Nerva Boutique Hotel
#13 of 1,271 in Rome
649 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
6,927 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
Suite Oriani
Suite Oriani
#10 of 1,271 in Rome
424 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#12 of 1,271 in Rome
2,992 reviews
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#21 of 1,271 in Rome
1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Maritti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Maritti

Address: Via Tor de' Conti, 17, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $91 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residenza Maritti is a B&B and guesthouse located in a eighteenth century palace built on Roman ruins, fully renovated in 1999, overlooking the ruins of the Temple of Mars Ultor in the Forum of Augustus. Here you will feel at home even if your stay is very short: our friendly welcome and hospitality will make you enjoy your stay. We offer our guests highly comfortable accommodation. In Residenza Maritti, you can stay in the environments intended for common use, free to use the kitchen and eat your meal in comfortable and spacious room. You can also, in the spaces, use internet and check your e-mail. Everyday from 08:00 to 10:00, you can access the buffet breakfast at our space dedicated to Art and Culture, "Lupigiada". You can choose this place for your parties, dinners, cocktails, aperitifs and events or theme nights. On request, for a minimum number of 12 persons it is possible to organize food and wine tastings with the highest quality products guided by expert sommeliers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Residenza Maritti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing