We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“under visited gem”

Basilica di San Clemente al Laterano
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$78.61*
and up
Small-Group Tour Crypts the Bone Chapel and Catacombs
Ranked #23 of 1,514 things to do in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Constructed between 1110 and 1130, this church of San Clemente is not one, but three churches built one above the other, with ruins dating from the earliest Christian times.
Ashland, Virginia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“under visited gem”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

recommended by an art history professor friend. The three levels are astounding, especially the lowest one. A wonderful way to see the levels of Rome over the centuries.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anne30247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,781 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,806
    817
    128
    20
    10
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful old Church, excavation underneath”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

I am so glad we stopped in this Church. It was beautiful with very old mosaics and paintings. Includes excavated ruins underneath the church which were closed by the time we got there. We were blessed to attend Mass at this Church.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
159 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

This is an amazing little church, tucked down a side street in an untouristy part of Rome. The basilica itself is beautiful enough, but go through a door, pay five Euros, go down the steps and you're in a fourth century version and then keep going down and you're in a Roman Street. It's all a bit bizarre. My daughter (regular readers of my reviews will notice she's a bit of a wuss) was terrified, started screaming and ended up burying her head in my shoulder as I carted her round (she's 8 so it wasn't easy). But don't let her put you off. It's a fascinating place.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank rosiefromlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

The oldest part of this church dates back to the 2nd Century BC. Do go down to the deepest excavated level covering a susprisingly vast area to see 1st Century AD buildings. Beautiful 12th Century Apse mosaic showing the tree of life in the church.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Florence350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Md, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Get a tour from a religious person”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

One of the nuns where we stayed at il Rosario gave us a tour of this church and it was the best tour we did while in the city. She knew many inside stories from her own experiences.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michelle Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Basilica di San Clemente al Laterano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing