We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, warm and attentive staff”
Review of Hotel Cisterna

Hotel Cisterna
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Cisterna
Ranked #3,197 of 3,734 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The hotel is in the Trastevere, a charming, safe neighborhood with multiple restaurants, shops, night life.
The room was VERY clean, beds really comfortable. Shower with great water pressure, mini fridge, small patio, temp well controlled, quiet.
The staff was very attentive and there is an English speaking person on most shifts. They took care of our departure to the airport via a cab service they employed. Cost was cheaper than if we'd handled it ourselves, driver arrived promptly.
Breakfast was simple and delicious. We were given multiple excellent cappuccinos each AM, along with yogurt, pastries, cereal.
Map of Rome and assistance with making reservations for Borghese Gallery were provided. Wifi was available in the lobby, as well as a second room with a comfy couch and the breakfast room.
No fitness center--you can maintain your level of fitness by walking all over beautiful Roma.
I would stay there again. Hghly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 59 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2013

This hotel is perfectly located in Trastevere, our favourite part of Rome. The place has a lot of charm, far from the franchise hotels that are spreading like a flu over the globe. The triple room was clean and nice, the beds were comfortable and the bathroom had all we needed. There was even a fridge in the room.
The service was another story. At breakfast, an old man shouted to two older women who didn't seem to know what they were doing. It was New Years eve, so maybe they were extras with no prior experience. It was all quite entertaining and in the end we managed to eat a decent breakfast. The siesta was worse. The two women had now taken on maid services and first one of them opened our door without knocking. Then they went on with their duties, constantly chatting loudly in the corridor, totally ruining every chance to sleep.
So why a four? Because we saw the humour in it and found the hotel very good in all other aspects. I am sure we will stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Not cheap, but I guess it was central. I appreciated the free wifi internet in the lobby, though it did not reach my bedroom. The room was ok, the shower very good. My room was a little noisy due to some kind of ventilator outside, but the bed was good. The breakfast was good but basic. Its strong point is the location (I loved this neighborhood!).

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cupoftea88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

The room in the hotel was simple and reasonably clean for my one-night stay. The breakfast was substantial with excellent coffee. The staff was very helpful with guidance for public transportation. The decor in the lobby and garden was lovely.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loli074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Hotel Cisterna is a clean, quiet haven in the midst of the historic Trastevere section of Rome. Although not much English is spoken by the staff, they are accommodating and good natured, and will do whatever it takes to meet your needs. Not exactly modern, The room we had was clean and spacious, and it opened up onto a lovely patio garden where you are welcome to breakfast or lounge. The breakfast is ample and served with a wonderful cappuccino. I would return to this hotel in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Ask to see more than one room if they are available. We were shown three, and had the luxury of cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAR214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

This hotel is ok, clean and well located in Trastavere. However for the price, our room was small, the breakfeast was simple. The service is acceptable.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick155033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

The couple who runs the hotel is quite nice. The accommodations are simple, without luxury but do not need anything beyond what was offered. Being in Trastevere is great!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank micmelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#462 of 1,271 in Rome
297 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
6,918 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#352 of 1,271 in Rome
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Domidea Hotel
#219 of 1,271 in Rome
661 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#111 of 1,271 in Rome
1,228 reviews
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#1,886 of 3,734 in Rome
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cisterna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cisterna

Address: Via della Cisterna 7-9, 00153 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3,197 of 3,734 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $101 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cisterna 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Cisterna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing