We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in a great city”
Review of Hotel Navona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Navona
Ranked #133 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great location in a great city”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

This is the third time we have stayed at either this hotel or the Residenza Zanardelli which is on the other side of the piazza and owned by the same people. The location is near our favorite and best piazza in Rome and most of the popular sites are within walking distance. The staff is always helpful and the rooms are comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Leland1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    417
    99
    44
    41
See reviews for
210
459
40
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This hotel is best located in the heart of old Rome. It is between Pantheon and Piazza Navona. If Vatican, Coliseum, and Spanish Stair form a triangle, and the hotel Novana is right at the center of this triangle. Regardless where you go to visit, it is always within 20 minutes walking distance. The daytime of Rome in summer maybe too hot to bear, but in the evening after the sunset, all of sudden Rome was alive. The alleys were lined up with dining tables and people were enjoying the food. Fortunately this hotel is near those alleys that made our evening in Rome were full of playful memory. The entrance of this hotel needs some repairing.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lifetraveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Location-wise, it’s fantastic. Aside from being very close to Piazza Navona as its name suggests, it’s also just a hop and a skip away from the Pantheon and easy/pleasant walking distance from the Trevi Fountain, the King’s Monument, the Spanish Steps, Villa Borghese, the Colosseum, the Roman Forum, the Mouth of Truth, Trastevere… you get the idea. The staff are wonderful as well, really friendly and helpful (particularly Michele) and really just give off that warm “please feel like this is your home” feeling.

However, we were a little disappointed that our room looked nothing like the ones we thought we’d booked. They’ve got some more modern-looking rooms, which were the ones we thought we'd chosen, and some more old-fashioned ones, which is what we got. We later discovered that the modern-style ones we wanted did exist (they’re on the same floor as the reception, FYI). While it wasn’t a huge deal for us since we spent most of our time out exploring Rome anyway, it’s a bit frustrating knowing that the room you get looks nothing like the image you saw upon booking. Not pure false advertising since those rooms did exist, but it was in the sense that we didn’t get the ones that looked like that. Our AC was also extremely weak while our companions in another room had an extremely powerful one, so I guess it varies per room. When our AC felt like it stopped working one day (and as it was summer, it was roasting), the staff were extremely accommodating in helping us check on it and get it fixed and assuring us of a room switch if it was un-fixeable – much appreciated.

Wi-Fi is only available in the lobby, which is a bit inconvenient but better than none. There’s no lift but the highest floor, where our room was, wasn’t that high so tromping up each night wasn’t a huge pain. There were 3 keys/doors to get through to reach our room though – one hallway, another hallway, then the room itself – which added character I suppose but is a bit of a palaver when you’re tired and just want to get in. Didn’t bother with breakfast in the hotel since there was the fantastic Caffè Sant'Eustachio down the road.

Despite the aesthetic disappointment, the rooms were comfortable and clean, decently sized and good value. Good service, location and cleanliness are some of the most important factors when you’re on the kind of trip where you won’t spend ages in the hotel and they definitely delivered on those counts... so we’d consider staying here again but now we know which specific rooms to clearly ask for next time upon reservation and check-in!

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank partypiglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
1 review
Reviewed September 7, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Navona's sister hotel; Residenza Zanardelli.

The location is a few minutes walk from Piazza Navona, a brilliant location with lots going on at night. The hotel is clean and has good air conditioning but there is nothing else good we can say about this place.

The staff were very unfriendly and in fact acted liked we were bothering them on each occasion we passed them. We had amended our reservation since the time of booking and the hotel had no record of this. Despite saying we could pay on check on we were asked to pay midway through our stay. The shower was also a dribble of hot water. The breakfast is at one table with all the hotel guests sitting around it.

We had booked a double room but the double bed was in fact two single beds pushed together.
For the communial breakfast alone, we would not recommend this hotel.
We will definitiely go back to Rome but will give this hotel a miss.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 230MichelleM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Preface: As business traveler have stayed in all categories of hotels, in US as well as in Europe, same for pleasure travel.
I first saw Hotel Navona when a friend stayed here in 2002 and was so impressed with the cordiality of the owners, from that moment on, it's a top Rome choice for this budget category (and even beyond). I stay in other hotels in Rome, too, but love the Roman-ness of Navona and the owner family, very present. The owners have a broad knowledge of the city and are well traveled themselves, but above all it's their charm and humanity that always brings me back.
Touches I love: antiques in guest room, good reading light, comfortable room temperature (even in sudden seasonal weather changes), great water pressure in the showers, a desk (or antique table) where I can work, comfortable beds. Room size matters less to me than location. I am in my room very little, and want to get out and about as much as on foot as possible, also to be in a safe, historic, and vibrant neighborhood. TV is of less interest, but they have plasma, with CNN. I prefer my news sitting with a newspaper at a Rome cafe, or when I need something more timely, do a quick internet check on my computer in the hotel. As for entertainment, nothing I see on TV beats the streets of Rome.
Luggage: From the US a carry-on is all I need. (If you don't want to travel light to Rome, wait 'til you visit Venice!) Reception is up a flight of stairs on the first floor (our second floor) and some rooms are above that. No elevator, but very historic. (Travelers with disabilities would prefer their Zanardelli location, elevator plus more spacious rooms.) Where else at breakfast will I see patches of walls from the Baths of Agrippa? That's 1st century AD, and that's part of why I am in Rome!
Communication: cell phone signals can be difficult in these Renaissance palazzos, so I leave my phone near the window. Wi-fi is available in various spots in the hotel. Plus a loaner laptop for brief e-mail checks.
Noise: Wherever I am, I love a window view of the street, to see and hear the local movement, and yes, that includes noise, which fortunately does not bother me. The noise-sensitive traveler might prefer a courtyard room.
Breakfast: Uh, being on the Continent, the classic European breakfast is, well, continental! The variation that I enjoy here is the fresh rosetta roll that says "you're back in Rome." The banquet arrangement of tables is intimate (ie no secrets here). Servers always are cordial and efficient. Then I skip coffee here so I can dash out to Sant'Eustachio or some other great bar, see what the Romans are up to, and have my cappuccino there. Late morning in another bar, I get a fresh-squeezed juice (spremuta). To me, in Rome, that' s breakfast. Missed fruit or ham at breakfast? Go to Campo de' Fiori, stroll the morning market, buy fruit, and get a slice of pizza-- that will be memorable.
Sights I walk to from here: Pantheon, Roman Forum, Coliseum, Piazza di Spagna/Spanish Steps, Capitoline, Vatican Museums, St. Peter's, Castel Sant'Angelo, etc.
Amenities: Sure, I like those designers soaps, shampoos, buffet breakfasts with exotic fruits and Champagne, fluffy bathrobes, and all of those amenities that spoil us silly (hey, I even miss Leona Helmsley!). The reality check is that this is a budget hotel! And I am staying exactly in the part of the city that I want to be.
Staff: Michele aka Mike is a wizard! He got me out of a big jam with my computer, which he sent off and was returned, all data intact. On another trip, when I had checked out and into another hotel, guests at Navona wanted to have dinner. Mike phoned, advised me, we hooked up and all had a splendid evening. They intuitively see what guests have interests in common, and make introductions (though never intrusive of privacy). I've met wonderful people, from an Australian UN relief worker on a break from disasters in Asia, to Delta Airlines staff, to artists on quirky projects, students, art professors, Brazilian architects.
My biggest complaint, I don't cook like Sgra. Natale!
Fortunately, this neighborhood has everything, from Rome's best pizzeria, good wine bars, to some of it's top better-take-out-a-loan restaurants. As I exit, I admire the Piranesi prints of Rome, then a block away am in front of the Pantheon. It knocks my socks off every time!

Room Tip: Book early. Light sleepers might prefer an internal room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GrandestTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brackley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Thank you Hotel Navona for a great stay. My sons and I had a great time and will return. Please read the reviews below and keep an open mind. I thoroughly agree with the review from Cladiusl. My son was 21 while we were in Rome and family and friends sent cards to the Hotel but unfortunately when it came time to leave they are not arrived. We left a forwarding address and when we finally arrived back in the UK after an epic trip to Crete the cards had been sent back to us by the Hotel - thank you!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Most awful place i have ever stepped foot into, the staff are nothing but rude, arrogant and have a large chip on their shoulders. I f you want you luggage to be tampered with and you want random staff to enter you room unacordingly this is the place to go. If Hotel Navona was the last place on earth i would not re-enter. Rats ran around rubbish tipped all over the place, bathroom locks broken, dirty sheets, broken window lock, unflushable toilet and leaky shower. Disgraceful this is not a hotel its more like hell on earth.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abipomeroy-dash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#33 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Navona Colors Hotel
Navona Colors Hotel
#72 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Abruzzi
Hotel Abruzzi
#57 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residenza Argentina
Residenza Argentina
#25 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara
Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara
#125 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Navona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Navona

Property: Hotel Navona
Address: Via dei Sediari 8, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Rome
#92 Family Hotel in Rome
#199 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Navona 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the historic centre, Hotel Navona Roma enjoys a privileged position only a few steps from Piazza Navona, the Pantheon, Campo de’ Fiori and the other main tourist attractions in the Eternal City, all within walking distance. Stay at Hotel Navona and immerse yourself in history. This historic 15th century building stands on the site of the Baths of Agrippa,, the first bath complex in the city, which was built by Marcus Vipsanius Agrippa and opened in 12 BC. The hotel has been completely refurbished, while retaining aspects that reflect the glorious past of the Eternal City. Several rooms feature frescoed ceilings, and ancient Roman bricks are still visible in the communal areas. The hotel provides different types of room with Economy, Standard, Superior and Family Rooms. Each elegantly decorated room features a private bathroom, air conditioning, free Wi-Fi (excluding groups ), mini-bar and satellite TV. For those who prefer a stay in total freedom, we offer comfortable, functional apartments with kitchens in Rome’s historic centre, just a few minutes from Hotel Navona. Hotel Navona provides a full buffet breakfast served between 7.30am and 10am, for you to start your tour of the city bursting with energy. Breakfast is not included in the room rate, and is charged at 10 euros per person. Take advantage of our special ‘breakfast included’ offers for your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Navona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Navona Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing