We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lancelot is first rate”
Review of Hotel Lancelot

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Lancelot
Ranked #34 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lancelot is first rate”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Wonderful and friendly reception staff. Excellent breakfast expecially the Caffe yogurt. Convenient to Colosseum and metro stop. Best pizzeria in town is around the corner, Li Trioni, and on the opposite corner great gelato!

Room Tip: Not aware of fitness room or pool, but when you can walk and see the wonderful sights of Rome, you d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank chickendoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,219
    437
    81
    11
    5
See reviews for
498
647
78
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lynbrook, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

I loved everything about this hotel. I booked a single room and this is the first time in my many trips to Rome that The room was not a closet with a twin bed. I had a little terrace and plenty of room inside. Simple but very comfortable and homey. I was very grateful after the marathon to be so close to the finish line.
The staff could not not be more helpful and friendly and their knowledge of Rome both current and historical was endless. Even the other guests were friendly. This is the theme of this hotel as you are encouraged to gather in the bar and dining room to mingle. I met other runners so there was plenty to discuss. I am also grateful to the young woman at the desk who took the time to help me out with my airline troubles.
Breakfast was excellent. They even had smoked salmon and cream cheese which I have never encountered before. You also had the option to have dinner at the hotel.
I cannot think of any reason not to stay here. I am a woman and travelled alone and this hotel was perfect

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Patti417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Everyone was extremely helpful - made trip to Rome a great experience . Breakfast was amazing . Staff was wonderful - especially Lorena - who babysat my 7 year old- and even took him to the park. Recommend highly .

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manochamark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minsk, Belarus
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Great pint-sized hotel appropriate for everyone. I was given a beautiful room supervising the main beach. The hotel is opposed Lotus Ecologico, a place where you can have a really nice massage (ask for Rosa) and everyday Yoga classes with Silvia. I've been to 4 and 5 star hotels before, but apart from perhaps having healthier facilities such as a nice orchard, a well armed gym or a larger swimming pool, some of them are not that much better than Lancelot. Overall, a great place to vacation.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0eNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish, Washington, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

The Hotel is about 500m from Colloseum. You can walk to all the major Roman locations (Colloseum, Roman Forum, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps etc). Vatican is just a bus away or metro train away. The highlight of the hotel is the staff. They accommodated many of our special requests, were always helpful with suggestions on where to go and when to go. Breakfast is very good. The room was an okay size with separate beds for my kids. But we were all (2 adults and 3 kids) were put up in just 1 room and that's why i gave 4 stars. Else this can easily qualify for 5 stars.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karthik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Great location on a quiet street. Beautiful terrace views and delicious breakfast. Recommend this for couples or friends. Comfortable sized rooms for 2 people. They forgot to give our wakeup call so, set an alarm.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eeboz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

I would definitely recommend this hotel for visitors to Rome. With a view of the Colosseum from the 6th floor terrace, it's a wonderful access point for the Eternal City. The staff were really friendly and accommodating, and the room was very comfortable. I had dinner at the hotel on my second night and had great fun meeting other guests as well as (I think) the owner, who was charming as he joined our table for dinner. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Nerva Boutique Hotel
Nerva Boutique Hotel
#15 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Monti
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Capo d'Africa Hotel
#68 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,009 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#31 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#20 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lancelot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lancelot

Property: Hotel Lancelot
Address: Via Capo d'Africa 47 | Colosseum - Celio, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Rome
#39 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#44 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lancelot 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lancelot is a peaceful haven at a short stroll from the Colosseum and the Roman Forum. The friendly english speaking staff are always willing to help you with suggestions and tips on discovering Rome's treasure's. A distinctive feature of the Hotel are the " round tables" at which people from every corner of the earth meet and converse over breakfast or the generous evening meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Lancelot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancelot Hotel Rome
Hotel Lancelot Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing