We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A grand old hotel in the perfect spot for touring Rome.”
Review of Hotel Lancelot

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Lancelot
Ranked #35 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A grand old hotel in the perfect spot for touring Rome.”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

A great hotel. Old Italian style with panache. Very well located hotel just up the road from the Colosseum. The staff were wonderful, very helpful and extremely pleasant to deal with. The hotel is in very good condition and the room was large, clean and airy.
The breakfast was plentiful and full of variety. This is one of those hotels where you feel very comfortable and just like being at home.It has a large restaurant, great lounge area and bar area.
I can only think of positives for this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher levels street facing have a view over the Colosseum, which is spectacular at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,255
    448
    81
    12
    5
See reviews for
513
672
79
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Very recommendable place to stay. Many international travelers. Close to Colosseum and Food and Terme di Caracalla - the latter is particularly relevant for professionals visiting the Agriculture Organization of the United Nations ;-)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Karlheinz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

All the staff we exceptionally friendly,presumably the most outstanding feature of this hotel.
Very close to the Colosseum ,still quiet.The owner was very pleasant,assistance provided in any way.unfortunately no dinner provided due to small number of guests.
We certainly recommend this outstanding place.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alex2013998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We just stayed at Hotel Lancelot for 5 days over New Year's. We had read wonderful reviews and we had high expectations before arrival. We were not disappointed! Hotel Lancelot is lovely. The rooms were nice, but it was the ambience that made it so special. The wonderful breakfasts offered an opportunity to meet fellow guests as well as the hotel owners. We also took advantage to the evening meals, which were not only delicious but festive and fun. I felt as though I was in a hotel that still had the personal touch and warm atmosphere that was described in "A Room with a View". A look forward to returning to Hotel Lancelot.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank ylime2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moneta, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We love small, personal places to stay and wanted to be within walking distance of the Colosseum. Hotel Lancelot was perfect. Warm & welcoming staff who were very helpful with directions. They offer a "round table" dinner that was great fun and it provided an opportunity to meet other fellow travelers in a "family style" setting. Hotel room was small but very clean & comfortable. Short walking distance to Colosseum area, etc. Breakfast was great. Perfect stay for us.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandbec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

With just two nights and one full day to spend in Rome, we wanted a small, reasonably priced hotel in a neighborhood loaded with restaurants and attractions so we could walk from site to site without having to take cabs, buses or trains. The Lancelot fit the bill perfectly. We checked out its website and it featured a walking tour that included the Coliseum, many churches including San Pietro in Vincoli (with Michelangelo’s Moses) and the tiny St. Clements church. (We highlight this do-not-miss, archeological wonder because when you visit you travel through time: its 12th century edifice is built on a 4th-5th century church which is on built prehistoric foundations.)

Now, getting back to the Lancelot: it's good news and bad news. The good: The neighborhood with its historical sites and abundance of restaurants and bars, the very friendly and knowledgeable staff, a comfortable old world ambience, a decent breakfast buffet with plenty of choices, but no hot foods. Another plus is the round table dinner where you sit with other travelers from all over the world. The 3-course dinner was surprisingly good. The bad news is that we found the negatives stated by other reviewers to be unfortunately true. With a dated decor, our room and bathroom were really small. You expect that in Europe, but a large person would have a difficult time in the shower. Some have suggested getting a room with a small balcony. It helps for size but if you keep the door open, you may smell cigarette smoke or food smells as the staff prepares breakfast and dinner. Another peeve about tiny: there wasn't room to hang the towels except draped over the shower door and that didn't guarantee dry.

Many of us use TripAdvisor to find hotels to meet our specific needs. Glancing through the various reviews and traveler photographs, we discover the pros and cons of each property and know approximately what to expect. With the Lancelot, there were no surprises. Our expectations were spot on and we enjoyed our 2-night stay because it satisfied our most basic requirements.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Winger2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Lancelot, Manager at Hotel Lancelot, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor. We understand that you research your hotels meticulously and that with the Lancelot your expectations were met and that you enjoyed your two night stay with us. Thank you for pointing out your impressions about the room decor: in this quieter season we are going through all the rooms to ensure that they have a fresher look where needed .Some of our bathrooms may be on the small size due to structural reasons, although they do meet European standards and are compact but functional. We are sorry you did not find a place to hang your towels, had you pointed this out to us while you were here we would have atteneded to the matter. Many people really enjoy their little balconies and getting a glimpse on the life that goes on in an Italian city with it's colours and also the smell of fresh croisants or home cooking .Smoking is not permitted inside the Hotel building, but we cannot prohibit smoking outdoors. We are sorry that you found the breakfast to be simply decent, many other guests tell us that for a three star Hotel they find the breakfast buffet to be generous and varied. On a positive note, we are glad that you found our Staff helpful and knowledgable and the ambience to be comfortable and warm in a charming and historically rich neighbourhood.

Kind Regards,

Lubna Khan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This is a nice european hotel. I love the location near the Colosseum because of the neighbourhood. It is close to everything with buses and metro stops in the vicinity.

The hotel rooms are on the small size as were the twin beds, but this is not surprising for Europe.

Overall average.

The breakfast was very good with a generous assortment of food.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drsjadfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Lancelot, Owner at Hotel Lancelot, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor. We are sorry to hear that you found our rooms small and that you rated your stay as average. Our rooms can vary in size, however they all comply to Italian standards of safety and size for a three star Hotel. Many other guests are very happy with our accommodations and find the comfortable and pleasing, we are sorry to hear that this was not so for you .We are glad to hear that you found our Hotel nice and breakfast generous and satisfactoryas well as the neighbourhood charming and convenient to visit the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
White Hotel
White Hotel
#149 of 1,257 in Rome
984 reviews
Monti
Nerva Boutique Hotel
Nerva Boutique Hotel
#15 of 1,257 in Rome
593 reviews
Monti
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Capo d'Africa Hotel
#68 of 1,257 in Rome
2,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Princeps Boutique Hotel
Princeps Boutique Hotel
#22 of 1,257 in Rome
372 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#80 of 1,257 in Rome
2,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lancelot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lancelot

Property: Hotel Lancelot
Address: Via Capo d'Africa 47 | Colosseum - Celio, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Rome
#39 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#44 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lancelot 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lancelot is a peaceful haven at a short stroll from the Colosseum and the Roman Forum. The friendly english speaking staff are always willing to help you with suggestions and tips on discovering Rome's treasure's. A distinctive feature of the Hotel are the " round tables" at which people from every corner of the earth meet and converse over breakfast or the generous evening meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Lancelot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancelot Hotel Rome
Hotel Lancelot Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing