We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Room for Family of 5”
Review of Hotel Lancelot

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Lancelot
Ranked #29 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We have just stayed 6 nights at Hotel Lancelot. It's the beginning of a 4 week European trip for our family of 5 - 2 adults and 3 children (16, 14 & 10).
In researching where we should stay, one of the main factors was a room that could accommodate us all comfortably. Hotel Lancelot came recommended from a website that focuses on accommodation for families of 5. Not an easy task in Europe.
Hotel Lancelot was great. The room on the 5th floor comfortably accommodated a queen sized bed for us and 3 single beds for our children. We had a lovely balcony with a view of roof tops and the top of the Colosseum at the end of the street. We did not have any problem with noise.
The hotel organised transport for us from the airport - 65€. We were met by Giovanni - waiting for us with a sign - which was great after a long flight from Australia. We arrived at Hotel Lancelot early in the morning and understandably our room was not ready. The staff were warm and welcoming and ushered us through to the buffet breakfast. We then went for a walk to the Colosseum and down the river to some local markets and by the time we came back they had moved our cases into our room.
The buffet breakfast every morning was superb. We have two teenage boys and booking hotels that have breakfast included is a must. They eat a lot! Hotel Lancelot has set a high standard for our trip!
The staff were very helpful. We knew what we were doing each day but they happily printed tickets we booked online and assisted with a restaurant booking.
There is a nice bar downstairs where we enjoyed a Prosecco each night after a long day of sight-seeing. We did not have dinner at the hotel because we tended to eat a large late lunch but the menus (which change daily and are advertised in the lift) sounded delicious.
I would stay at Hotel Lancelot again. We enjoyed our stay immensely.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank C E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,834)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Lancelot
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

817 - 823 of 1,834 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2013

My family (two seniors, family of 4 with two young children) stayed here three times over the course of one month as we traveled throughout Italy in July 2013. Each time we had superior service by all the staff, the location was central to all key sites, the food was excellent, and the rooms clean and quiet. All the staff are enrolled in making your experience in Rome a pleasant one - offering help with vatican tickets, restaurant choices, and offering us the hotel's GPS which was a lifesaver navigating Tuscany! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone as you will find it a pleasant respite from the bustle of the city with a nice personal touch.

Room Tip: The main hotel tower has nicer rooms with balconies versus the adjacent middle building. Wifi can...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brenda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Two blocks from the Colosseum, very secure with an iron gated courtyard, clean rooms, terrific staff, great views from rooftop veranda. Stayed here Oct 28th through 30th, 2013, this was the 3rd stay for my wife as she loves this hotel. They have a terrific continental breakfast. They offer a home cooked dinner in the evenings at a very reasonable price which was terrific! We had the pleasure of dining with the owner, Mrs. Kahn on two of the three nights. She is a wonderful lady and host! We learned that she does all of the daily flower arrangements seen in the common areas. Mrs. Kahn has been here for 41 years and told us about the history and evolution of her hotel over the years. We learned a lot about the 4 block area where this hotel is situated. There are two local markets within a block or two where you can make purchases for incidentals. We were told that this little enclave is like a small town within the city, everyone knows everyone else and they all look out for each other as well as folks that frequent the area. We met some really nice guests while there who offered advise on things to do and see while in Rome.
Will be staying there again when we return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed here in the beginning of November, booked in advance directly with the hotel. On the web site was an offer during autumn - 5 nights for 650 euros. We liked it very much. Nice friendly service, all of the staff are always ready to answer your questions in english. Great location, 5 minutes walk from Colosseum. Average room size, clean and comfortable with good beds/pillows. Bathroom on the small side but has all you need. Some rooms with balcony. Ask for a room with a balcony and a view to the Colosseum (this view from 5th floor I think). Small public terrace on the 6th floor. No coffee/tea facilities in room but there is a bar. Elevator, although small. Cosy public areas. Breakfast - yoghourt, cereals, fruit, juice, coffee/tea, boiled eggs, ham, cheese, bread, cornetto (sweet pastries).
Residential peaceful neighborhood. You enter the hotel through gates from the street, there is no big hotel sign so the first time you arrive you have to look for the entrance.
We used the pick-up-service which the hotel offered. Giovanni drove us efficiently from the airport directly to the hotel, in a large and comfortabel Mercedes, approx. 40 minutes, 50 euros for two. On the way back we shared this service with two other guest, this time the cost for four 65 euros. Very comfortable - will use this service the next time as well. Many restaurants in the neighborhood, there are also several nice restaurants just a short walk away in the Monti area. We can really recommend this hotel, Lancelot will be are choice the next time too!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony and a view to the Colosseum (this view from 5th floor I think). Small...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andromeda50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We had been referred to this hotel. It is owned by Mrs. Kahn, a Canadian. We are so pleased that we stayed there. They served a lovely continental breakfast every morning and the most delicious meals for dinner. If you stay 3 nights or more the dinner is only E 25 pp instead of E35. We stayed 4 nights before catching our cruise ship. We highly recommend this hotel and it is only 2 blocks from the coliseum. A safe area for wandering.

Room Tip: Mrs. Kahn lives in the hotel and speaks fluent English and Italian, She eats her dinner in the dini...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed here recently based on several friends' recommendations, and we're very happy we did! We booked directly with the hotel, who thoughtfully arranged a driver to meet us at the airport and take my wife and I directly to the hotel, for 50 Euros including luggage. This saved enough hassle and time that we felt we had gained most of an extra day for sight-seeing rather than hassling with taxi or train(s).

We loved the hotel! Quite small, almost a B&B, with a courtyard in front and cute little garden in the back. They include a great breakfast and offer an excellent dinner for 25 Euros each, including wines; -a nice wind down for us after flying all the previous night. We had dinner with the owner, Mrs. Khan, and that was a nice treat! Our room overlooked the street with a small balcony, perfect for a late afternoon glass of wine looking at the Colosseum, about 3 blocks away.

The staff are very friendly, speak English, and are very helpful. For example, they helped us plan a day on the Appian Way with taxi service and advice on the "best" catacombs open on that particular day. They also guided us to several excellent restaurants within walking distance; when we mentioned that we were referred by Hotel Lancelot, we received complementary glasses of wine. Nice! Later they helped us find the best (cheapest and simplest) transportation to Civitavecchia to board a cruise ship. We doubled up with another couple and were charged (only) 52 Euros, with luggage.

We will certainly stay at Hotel Lancelot again!

Room Tip: You could ask for a room not facing the street, but we weren't bothered by street lights or soun...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cafcode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

When our taxi from the cruise ship dropped us off at the hotel we discovered, to our great dismay, one of our big suitcases was missing. That's when the Hotel Lancelot staff came to our rescue.
Francesca made several phone calls on our behalf and the next day Michael drove to the Princess travel agency, 60 miles away in Civiteveccia and returned with our luggage.

Other hotels in Rome may boast of their location, cleanliness, service and fine restaurant but I can't imagine you'll find a warmer, friendlier staff than at The Lancelot.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
White Hotel
White Hotel
#139 of 1,267 in Rome
1,004 reviews
Monti
Nerva Boutique Hotel
Nerva Boutique Hotel
#14 of 1,267 in Rome
618 reviews
Monti
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Capo d'Africa Hotel
#71 of 1,267 in Rome
2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Residenza Maritti
Residenza Maritti
#13 of 1,267 in Rome
380 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Monti
Princeps Boutique Hotel
Princeps Boutique Hotel
#20 of 1,267 in Rome
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lancelot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lancelot

Address: Via Capo d'Africa 47 | Colosseum - Celio, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Rome
#39 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#44 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $127 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lancelot 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lancelot is a peaceful haven at a short stroll from the Colosseum and the Roman Forum. The friendly english speaking staff are always willing to help you with suggestions and tips on discovering Rome's treasure's. A distinctive feature of the Hotel are the " round tables" at which people from every corner of the earth meet and converse over breakfast or the generous evening meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Lancelot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancelot Hotel Rome
Hotel Lancelot Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing