We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD VALUE”
Review of Hotel Lancelot

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Lancelot
Ranked #36 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Granite Bay, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“GOOD VALUE”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

This property is near the Coliseum and the Roman Forum. Had a nice clean room with a good size bathroom. It appeared that the bathroom was being renovated, and not yet completed. The fan/air conditioning unit wasn't operating. To be fair though, we didn't say anything to the hotel as we liked the window opened when we were in the room. The continental breakfast was in a large dining room, with a nice variety of foods and beverages. The hotel, overall, seemed well-maintained, and the staff members were all very helpful and nice.

Room Tip: Our room was on the top floor (6th), which provided some private terraces and a terrace for all gues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,242
    443
    81
    12
    5
See reviews for
505
667
78
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orange Beach, Alabama
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

My husband and I spent three nights at Hotel Lancelot in September, 2013. The hotel was kind enough to arrange transportation for us from the airport and we were so grateful as we were tired after flying overnight. To our surprise our room was ready and we were allowed to check in before noon. We spent a little more and reserved the Suite on the 6th floor with a corner terrace and a small living room area and I am so happy we did - the suite was very special. Our view of ancient Rome was spectacular! Our terrace was private (the neighboring room was seperated by large plants) and we enjoyed coffee in the morning and wine in the evening at our table.
The first evening at Hotel Lancelot we arranged to dine with other guests. We gathered in the quaint bar area and when dinner was announced we were escorted to a beautiful open courtyard with linens, candles, beautiful lighting and stars above us - hard to believe we were outside. We sat with fellow guests and shared our adventures of the day (this was wonderful as we saw these people from England throughout our visit and felt we were sharing our adventures with new friends). The food was excellent and a good value.
The staff is knowledgeable and arranged many items for us. Thanks to their advice we saved time in long lines, found great local restaurants and were advised to visit local sights.
When we return to Rome (we will - we made a wish and threw coins in the fountain) we will return to Hotel Lancelot once again.

Room Tip: Spend a bit extra and book the Honeymoon Suite. We were on the 6th floor and other guests were envi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 986Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Family owned and it felt that way. A nice combination of antiques, charm, intimacy, and comfort. We had a quad room which was very spacious (2 of us) with balcony overlooking the Colosseum.
Great location and quiet.
We celebrated my mother's birthday and the chef/owner made a delicious cheesecake with fresh raspberries in her honor for dessert at dinner. The dinner was delicious, we wish we had eaten there again!
Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The hotel is located just outside of the "tourist area" but within 10 minutes of the Coliseum and the subway. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good - nothing great --

Our room was on the fifth floor with a nice balcony with a view of the city. Again, nothing spectacular about the room but no complaints either. We had a family room with a double and two twin beds.

The room was expensive for what we got relative to other cities in Italy, but then again it was Rome.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pearl, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel over the past few years and the reasons we liked the hotel then are still there today.
It is very close to the Colosseum and is within 10-15 minute walks to the subway and bus stop.
We booked a room with a balcony again for its view but it cost us more money and it wasn't worth it the second time around. Other than that,the room was very clean and comfortable but not cheap at $300/night Canadian.
The staff are great and the continental breakfast is very good.
If we go to Rome again we will be staying at the Lancelot.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phantom052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Furry Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We heard about the Lancelot from friends, repeat visitors to Rome, who recommended the property to us for a short stay in the city (two nights) before grabbing a car and heading to Tuscany for this trips’ ‘main event’.

We arrived in Rome dazed and confused after a 16-hour flight that included a nine-hour time change.

First impressions were very positive and these first impressions were reinforced and added to during the stay. The building is of unknown vintage and has been re-purposed as a hotel. The only real compromise we noted was the tiny lift but this was more than complemented by a beautiful and finely detailed staircase that we took advantage of except for moving in and moving out.

We only ate two breakfasts and one supper in the Lancelot’s dining room and came away both satisfied and impressed. At supper we met the owner/manager, a real charmer who in turn introduced us to Giovanni for a spectacular tour of Rome by car.

As a side note take the time to find the hotel’s small and intimate courtyard, a wonderful spot to end the day with a cocktail or whatever.

As to location, the Lancelot is on a very quiet Roman street, about three blocks from the Coliseum. There are also quite a number of restaurants nearby for those that want to venture out.

‘When in Rome’ would we stay at the Lancelot again – you bet we would!

Mike and Lorna

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Rarely do you find so much in one place. The Lancelot is a place you could spend a month in and find nothing at all to complain about. We stayed here for a Rick Steves city tour of Rome, arriving a day early. It is located nearly equidistant from two of the Metro lines and a short walk to bus transportation. You can see the Coliseum from here, and it is a short walk to the Forum and other ancient sites. There is a magnificent circular marble staircase, which made walking up to our 5th floor room enjoyable [there is a lift, also]. There is an entranceway courtyard with tables, and another interior courtyard steps from the bar with a vine-covered roof. The bar and library are big enough for cozy meetings with friends. Our room faced private apartments, but the street noise could get intrusive during the early mornings - Rome's garbage collectors, no fault of the hotel staff. There is a terrace on the sixth floor available to all, and it is a splendid place to drink a bottle of wine and see the Coliseum lit for the night. The staff here is very attentive and friendly. Although we did not dine at the restaurant, others did and reported that it was very good. The included breakfast was excellent, among the best we've had in Europe. There were many very good nearby restaurants and cafes for lunch and dinner. I thought this was an ideal spot, like so many carefully selected by Rick Steves. We would stay again during our next visit to Rome.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joseph T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
White Hotel
White Hotel
#148 of 1,256 in Rome
974 reviews
Monti
Nerva Boutique Hotel
Nerva Boutique Hotel
#15 of 1,256 in Rome
583 reviews
Monti
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Capo d'Africa Hotel
#67 of 1,256 in Rome
2,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Monti
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#84 of 1,256 in Rome
2,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lancelot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lancelot

Property: Hotel Lancelot
Address: Via Capo d'Africa 47 | Colosseum - Celio, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Rome
#39 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#44 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lancelot 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lancelot is a peaceful haven at a short stroll from the Colosseum and the Roman Forum. The friendly english speaking staff are always willing to help you with suggestions and tips on discovering Rome's treasure's. A distinctive feature of the Hotel are the " round tables" at which people from every corner of the earth meet and converse over breakfast or the generous evening meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Lancelot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancelot Hotel Rome
Hotel Lancelot Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing