We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lancelot

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Lancelot
Ranked #27 of 1,287 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

My sister & I stayed in this charming hotel in 2012. My son & girlfriend spending few nights there this coming September. It is a wonderful small hotel in a quiet but convenient location just steps from the Colosseum & the lovely San Clemente Church. The rooms all have private showers, everything spotless. We had a small balcony which I would highly recommend, or a room with a terrace. The hotel serves the best continental breakfast I've ever encountered & you can also have dinner there if you wish I can't say enough about this wonderful find.Also has elevator, small lounge, & outside seating. The owner, Mrs Khan (& her family ) are wonderful people & do an amazing job to make your stay unforgettable. Hoping to return this year or next.

Room Tip: rooms with a balcony or terrace I think are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee2445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,138
    410
    76
    11
    4
See reviews for
481
583
69
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cody, Wyoming
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

I cannot say enough how much I enjoyed our stay here!! It was wonderful!! From a great breakfast in the morning with options for both kids and adults, to the service at the bar allowing us to enjoy our drinks on the terrace at night. We were given the"Camera Room". It was on the 6th floor, right on the corner with unobstructed views of the Colloseum, perfect for pictures!! The room had a bed and a fold out couch. My husband and I and my in laws all fit comfortably. The bathroom was nice and big too!! I think my favorite part was that they let us leave our bags in the hotel the day of check out because our flight didn't leave till later that afternoon. We were able to go out a little more and more have to worry about our luggage!!! Thank you so much for a wonderful stay!!!

Helpful?
Thank Victoria D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Canberra
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Hotel Lancelot for 3 nights in April and it was fantastic. The room was a very good size for Europe and was clean and comfortable. It had lovely doors that opened up and created lots of light and fresh air. The bed was very comfortable and while the bathroom was very small, it was all I needed. I ate dinner at the hotel one night and it was excellent and proved to be great value for money. The breakfast that the hotel provides is lovely and there is plenty of variety.

The location of the hotel is great and is a 2 minute walk to the Colusseum and a 5 minute walk to the Metro. I walked to the Vatican and it took about 45 minutes, with the Pantheon and Trevi Fountain both about a 30 minute walk. The area is a bit noisy but to be expected for the location and there are lots of restaurants and gelato places very close by.

Would definitely recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Our family of four (2 adults, 2 teens) recently spent a wonderful week in Rome and stayed at the Hotel Lancelot. The hotel is beautiful, conveniently located (2 minutes from the Coliseum, and 5 minutes from a Metro stop) and our room was perfect for the four of us. The staff speaks English (which was important to us, as we speak no Italian) and were exceedingly helpful and pleasant. (My birthday occurred while we were there and the staff noticed the date from my passport and provided champagne!)

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank LA C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The hotel is very comfortable with a great location. The coffee and food are great! The people in management and staff are the best asset because of their personal nature of service and because of their friendliness. We have stayed there numerous times and it is always consistently good in every area.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The Hotel was located conventiently to many of the attractions that most tourists would want to see in Rome. It was beautifully appointed with fresh flowers every morning and marble everywhere. Our group needed a conference room and there was a very nice one available as well as a piano for our group singing. The breakfasts and dinners were outstanding. You will not want to eat anywhere else once you taste the food there. All of these things you may find at other hotels. You will not, however, find the caring and compassionate staff that we found at Lancelot. My husband was sick one night and they could not do enough for us. Another time I was asking for directions to a store that sold double A batteries. The kind lady at the desk gave me two AA batteries. We plan to return to visit Rome and we can assure you that we will stay at Hotel Lancelot.

Room Tip: Ask for a queen sized bed. Ours was a double and we are both Queen sized!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I had the oppertunity to stay at Hotel Lancelot while on trip with New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary. I can not truely express in words how wonderful my stay was at the hotel. The staff at Hotel Lancelot are professional, but even more so they are friendly. I felt like they treated everyone like being a part of their family. Each night I actually needed a small bag of ice for swelling in my knee and they were so helpful in getting my that. The meal times were one of my favorite times at the hotel. I can honestly say that the meals they have are the most incredible meals I have ever had at any hotel. While eating each night It felt like we were having dinner in a five star resturant. The food was incredible and the servers were very friendly.
One thing I found to be great is how all the people that were staying at the hotel talked throughout the week, it was kind of like a huge family getting together for a reunion.
The rooms were very cozy felt like home. I loved being able to walk out on the balcony and look omut over the street. The location of the hotel is great because its only a few blocks from the coliseum, but it's in a nice and quiet area.
I had such a great time at Hotel Lancelot that I can not wait until I am able to take my husband with me to Rome and stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ymcrystalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Nerva Boutique Hotel
Nerva Boutique Hotel
#18 of 1,287 in Rome
5.0 of 5 stars 467 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#39 of 1,287 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 2,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#14 of 1,287 in Rome
5.0 of 5 stars 1,001 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Manfredi Suite in Rome
Monti
Princeps Boutique Hotel
Princeps Boutique Hotel
#17 of 1,287 in Rome
5.0 of 5 stars 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lancelot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lancelot

Property: Hotel Lancelot
Address: Via Capo d'Africa 47 | Colosseum - Celio, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Rome
#39 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#44 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lancelot 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lancelot is a peaceful haven at a short stroll from the Colosseum and the Roman Forum. The friendly english speaking staff are always willing to help you with suggestions and tips on discovering Rome's treasure's. A distinctive feature of the Hotel are the " round tables" at which people from every corner of the earth meet and converse over breakfast or the generous evening meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Lancelot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancelot Hotel Rome
Hotel Lancelot Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing