We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An amazing place to finish our honeymoon!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Lancelot

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Lancelot
Ranked #32 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
“An amazing place to finish our honeymoon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We checked in late on a Thursday to finish off our 3 week honeymoon. Everyone was SO welcoming and accomodating it was as if we had returned home to family. We felt as though we were the only guest in the whole place with all of the attention we got. We made friends at the lovely family style dinners and never had to wait for action on a request. Everyone was extremely attentive. We wouldn't have wanted to spend the last few days of our honeymoon anywhere else, it was absolutely perfect!

A MUST DO: EVERYONE MUST TAKE FARRIS'S NIGHT TOUR. We went out with Farris on our last night in Rome and the things that you see on this "magical and mystical" night tour are things you would never see as a tourist. The views and attractions he shows you are stunning. A DEFINITE MUST FOR ALL GUESTS. Ask about the tour at the front desk.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room on the front of the building with a balcony, we could see the corner of the colo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Korley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,199
    428
    79
    11
    5
See reviews for
491
632
76
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

The hotel was in a great location right near the Colliseum and the metro that is nearby there so it was easy to get everywhere you needed to.
They first gave us a small room when we checked in and we asked for a larger room, and we got it the next day for the same price, so that was very nice of them to accomodate us. The staff was friendly, and I loved the fact that there was parking in their courtyard so we didn't have to find an expensive parking lot to stow our car for 4 days.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cinike16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Our September 2012 visit was our second and "part II" was even better than our first stay. The hotel is located within an easy walk of the Coliseum and Forum and has good local food choices. It is quiet, well-appointed and -maintained. Fast wi-fi is free. The included breakfast is outstanding. The room rate competitive. Off-street, secured parking is available. Best of all, however, are the staff. We received (and observed others receiving) great recommendations for dinner. But the crowning accolade was earned when we had a family health emergency; my three-year-old granddaughter became ill during our tour of the Forum, vomiting on her and my daughter's clothes and then having a bout of diarrhea as we hurried her back to the hotel. We had already checked-out and the maid was in the midst of making up the room for the next guest. The hotel, however, recognizing an uncomfortable situation, extended the great courtesy of allowing my daughter to use the room, allowing her to bathe her two children and herself and change into clean clothes for our trip. A lifesaver. This kind of service merits loyal patronage.

Room Tip: Our room this time was on the street; it was spacious and quiet and attractively appointed. We did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
187 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

First the good news- the hotel is located very close to the Forum and Coliseum. The rooms are clean but older and very small. There is a very nice wine bar located just two blocks away called Bibendi- a must try. You are close to the Metro and the taxi fee from the Termini is 10-15 euros depending on traffic wait time.

Not the not so good: did I say rooms are small - yes indeed. And old (no outlet in the bathroom, no closet space, and you will not want to stay in the room for anything but sleeping). The restaurants around the Coliseum are not great and there is some traffic noise.

Bottom line- choose it for the location and don't stay a bunch of nights.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank costaricagregg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We chose this hotel, based on Tripadvisor reviews and recommendation of Rick Steves. The hotel was within a few minutes walk of the Colosseum and the Forum, and yet the immediate neighborhood was quiet and charming. During our three day stay, we walked everywhere, although the hotel sells Roma passes which includes use of public transportation. We'd informed them that we would arrive early (from a flight), and when we arrived at 10:30 a.m. our room was ready for us! In addition, we were invited to the breakfast room for breakfast (an extensive buffet), even though that was officially the end of the breakfast service. We had a standard double room, but were--since one was available--given a small balcony at the same rate. The air conditioning worked beautifully, and it was much needed during the Sept. heatwave when we were there. They have barrels of umbrellas and parasols for use of guests, lots of public space, including outdoor veranda area. This is not a "cookie cutter" hotel; it is very special and unique. The front desk staff speak English, and are extremely friendly and helpful. Daily they offer a dinner-for a reasonable price, where guests eat and socialize together at a "round table". Unfortunately we didn't participate, due to our uncertain sightseeing schedule. Hopefully we will be returning to Rome, and we will definitely again be staying at the Lancelot.

Room Tip: Ask for Rick Steves rate, and you may get 5% off. Also, when requesting the room, ask for a balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

This small, friendly hotel is in a great location for exploring this wonderful city - with a view of the Colosseum from your window. The staff are very helpful and the place is very well run.
We stayed in a standard double which could perhaps do with a bit of updating and there were small things such as the 'floppy' shower-head that need attention. So the price seemed a bit high for the room, but I think it is probably because prices in Rome are high generally and you are paying for the location.
The bar and dining room are comfortable and friendly. Breakfast is at round tables, which is a mixed blessing - some people might enjoy the sociability this offers while others might just want to quietly eat their breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suva
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Spent 5 days in this beautiful small hotel. So homely, with a lively atmosphere of warmth and friendliness of the staff. Centrally located. Close walking distance to the train station and buses. Line of restaurants down the streets, close to the colloseum, and other ancient Rome Sites. Love the buffet breakfast that they serve. I tell you the room is nice and cozy.

Room Tip: choose the balcony rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Akini Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Nerva Boutique Hotel
Nerva Boutique Hotel
#15 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Monti
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Capo d'Africa Hotel
#65 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#27 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#20 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel
Dharma Hotel
#60 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lancelot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lancelot

Property: Hotel Lancelot
Address: Via Capo d'Africa 47 | Colosseum - Celio, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Rome
#39 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#44 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lancelot 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lancelot is a peaceful haven at a short stroll from the Colosseum and the Roman Forum. The friendly english speaking staff are always willing to help you with suggestions and tips on discovering Rome's treasure's. A distinctive feature of the Hotel are the " round tables" at which people from every corner of the earth meet and converse over breakfast or the generous evening meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Lancelot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancelot Hotel Rome
Hotel Lancelot Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing