We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Lancelot
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,905)
Filter reviews
1,905 results
Traveler rating
1,338
467
83
12
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,338
467
83
12
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskhan familysan clementeother guestsfloor terracequiet streetfamily run hotelrick steveswonderful hotelpalatine hillancient romethe hotel staffsmall balconyeach eveningyogurttrip to rometwo blocksfriendly hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,228 - 1,233 of 1,905 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2011

From the time Giovanni picked us up at the airport, to the nice dinner on our arrival, to the razor sharp directions to all of the sites, to the outstanding restaurant recommendations, to the bottle of Prosecco on our wedding anniversary AND ESPECIALLY for the great help and care you showed in planning our wedding vow renewal at the Irish College - through all that, we had the persistent feeling that we have FRIENDS in Rome. That's especially comforting anywhere, but especially for inexperienced travelers going outside the US for the first time.

The location is incredibly convenient, and beautiful, the room is nice and the breakfasts were perfect as well. The attention to detail and the understated class that everyone displayed was truly a wonderful thing to experience.

We will return to Rome - we threw coins in the Trevi Fountains just to make sure - and when we do, we will again stay at this fantastic hotel that we will also recommend to all of our friends.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Like many we booked and stayed here because the vast majority of the reviews have it as an outstanding Hotel in Rome. Whilst it wasn't a bad place to stay it certainly fell well short of of being outstanding. I agree that it has a good location with only a 10 min walk to the Colosseum and that the staff are very friendly and knowledgeable. There are quite a few reasonably priced restaurants very close to the hotel. The hotel decor although starting to look it's age is always clean and well decorated. The room size was quite adequate with room to move around and the bathroom although small was quite functional but that's all the pro's we could find.

The room has very little hanging and storage space - especially when you stay for 7 nights as we did and there is no room to put your bags under the bed. The room had no clock. In every 3 star hotel we stayed in during our European Adventure there was a clock or clock radio.

Although liking or disliking breakfast is very subjective we found that for a hotel that caters almost exclusively to overseas visitors it had absolutely nothing hot on the menu for breakfast - not even a piece of toast and the the pastries tasted like they were made yesterday. The dinner appears great value at 25 Euros per person but there are no choices and that can make a meal you've booked before arriving a bit hit or miss.

For around 200 Euros a night we found the hotel didn't represent value for money to us and if we ever save enough to visit Rome again we'd look for another Hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OzJohnno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

As mentioned by others, the location is great for the Colosseum and other historical sites. Although our room was very plain, it was one of the two handicapped first floor rooms, although that was not in our request. The lobby, bar and dining area are very attractively decorated and it is my understanding that some of the other rooms are as well.
I was very impressed by the quality of service and helpfulness of every staff member I had contact with.
I also thought the complementary breakfast was excellent with a wide variety of food offerings.
I would certainly consider staying there again.
The location while convenient is a little difficult to find.
I thought the room prices were a little on the high side, but this is Rome.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ProfessorBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We stayed in this hotel whilst on a study tour of Rome. It involved a lot of studying and a lot of touring which meant that the group were so tired at the end of the day we would probably all have slept very comfortably on a pavement, so the finer details of the hotel's comfort etc were perhaps wasted on us. However, the brief time we did spend in the hotel revealed it to be clean, well-appointed and very welcoming. The bedroom was spacious enough for one and would have been fine for two. It was adequately furnished with a good-sized wardrobe and a comfy bed. The bathroom was clean, a fair size and the towels were generous too. The tiled floor would be very cooling in summer and came in very handy during our trip as it rained so much that any carpet would have become sodden right through from raincoats, shoes and umbrellas dripping.
The breakfast was a very generous buffet of pastries, breads, cheese, ham, cereals and fruit. The coffee was excellent! The bar was very welcoming (and also very tolerant of a load of frazzled mature students in need of a pick-me-up). The location is superb: very close to the colisseum and some super restaurants and yet on a quiet, residential street - still accessible to taxis and mini-buses though, which is not always the case in Rome.
As a little tip - a pocketful of the sweets they have in a bowl in Reception can come in very handy when dashing round all the sights in the rain, especially if the group leader does not share the group's feelings on how frequent the coffee-stops should be!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SallyEnglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Wonderful location. Tucked away a couple of streets from the Colosseum, with all the bustle of Ancient Rome, yet this quaint little hotel manages to provide everything you need in a warm and welcoming environment, with the added benefit of peace and quiet where you need it most.

Even before our arrival, Mrs Khan, her daughter and the team were very helpful with arrangements. Upon arrival the welcome is warm and friendly, respectful of privacy yet offering the feeling that nothing is any trouble.

Rooms are simple, well appointed, nicely styled and clean. Very comfortable large bed and good pillows, all help rest those aching limbs after a full day of Rome's cobbled streets. Ours was on the 6th floor, with views of the Colloseum and St Peter's in the distance - albeit a slightly cluttered view over adjacent roof tops. Still, nicer than seeing nothing of any significance.

Breakfast is a decent continental affair. Missing a little variety and the odd boiled egg, but generally it's a good start to the day. The round tables are a nice way to interact, something we Brits aren't always accustomed to but it certainly adds a little flavour to the proceedings.

We were provided with complimentary drinks to help celebrate my partner's birthday. A very nice and welcome gesture.

All in all, I would say the fantastic location, warm welcome, good rooms and relatively affordable pricing (for Rome) - make this hotel a definite shortlister. If you prefer a hotel to provide the simple things simply, and leave you to enjoy the vast array of delights that the city offers for the most part, then you would do well to find a better offer.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DM7UTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews